Archive through January 27, 2009

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: SFB Galactic Conquest: Galactic Conquest Rulebook/R&D Additions/Corrections: Archive through January 27, 2009
By John D Berg (Kerg) on Tuesday, October 09, 2007 - 10:50 pm: Edit

notice--

Please note that SFB R1.R1 indicates that a SQ can carry no more than 6 extra PFs on mech links (excluding PFT and SCS of course).

Clarifying further in GC-

Any non specialized SC3/SC2 can carrry 2 mech links (but may not exceed the SFB PF limit in a SQ). SOme Empires may have special rules that allow more. Elite XSQ and 2X SQ may double the number of PFs carried.

By John D Berg (Kerg) on Sunday, January 12, 2003 - 11:00 am: Edit

Please note the claifications to the Trade Pact rules:
[note--at this point this rule applies only to U1 and U2. J. Sexton 10/16/07]

(C30.20) Small nations tend to gain more from TP but larger ones can still do well. Add up all the major systems (not minor colonies) between the TP partners. This is the maximum number of FT the TP can hold. The number of FT is then divided and placed into TP pools. Negotiations should be used to determine who builds the FT’s and how many FT each partner gets in his TP pool. A given partner may not have more FT in his pool than he has major systems. Movement of these FT from one TP pool to the next takes one complete turn, as long as it is between the TP partners. You add .5% (or 25EP) to your BEV (in the same step as MRR for %. For a flat increase add a step between ‘c’ and ‘d’ of B11.15…”add TP flat gains to BEV”.) for each FT in your TP pool. If you have 7 or less systems then each FT in your pool add 25EP, more than 7 systems and each FT adds .50%. Example->
The Feds (10 majors) establish a TP with the Gorns (5 majors). The Feds/Gorn negotiate the 15 FT to be divided up as; 10 to the Feds TP pool and 5 to the Gorns TP pool. The Feds then gain +5% (.5x10) to there BEV, the Gorns gain 125EP (25EP x 5) to their BEV. This amount can be changed by altering the ratio of FT in each other’s TP pools as long as they do not exceed maximum FT allotments. The EPs are earned every turn as long as the TP is not dissolved.

By John D Berg (Kerg) on Thursday, February 12, 2004 - 09:09 pm: Edit

Just to be clear.... you can NOT have a TP with a nation that is not pysically touching your nation (i.e. no crossing thru someones space with a TR to get to another empire.)

By John D Berg (Kerg) on Tuesday, March 29, 2005 - 03:09 pm: Edit

Annexing enemy territory.

This is a clarification for all universes:

In order to make your enemie's territory your own, and in lieu of fronts, you can annex it. The procdure is the same as surveying unsurveyed space except any ship can do it, not just special sensor equiped. Once the anexation (survey) is complete it becomes your territory.


This tactic is implied but never elaborated in the rules.

By John D Berg (Kerg) on Wednesday, June 29, 2005 - 09:37 pm: Edit

The following is a FYI on how the GMs deal with various RX situations. Note them:

RX MV Chart

You Use. Vs You Use. = Result

WS WS Only one WS functions.
WS AM WS must happen before any AM.
WS FR/FE FR/FE mods applied for WS attack.
WS BN Only the WS functions.
WS FLY In a single battle, 1st the WS, then the FLY.
WS SS May be used in conjunction with each other.
WS BM May not be used in the same segment.

You Use. Vs Your Opponent = Result

WS WS Both WS nullified.
WS AM AM may occur before WS.
WS FR/FE FR/FE mods applied for attack
WS BN BN is applied, then the WS.
WS FLY WS and FLY nullified.
WS SS No synergistic effect.
WS BM WS nullified.


You Use. Vs You Use. = Result

FLY WS In a single battle, 1st the WS, then the FLY.
FLY AM FLY must happen before any AM.
FLY FR/FE FR/FE mods applied for FLY attack.
FLY BN Only the FLY functions.
FLY FLY Only one FLY functions.
FLY SS May be used in conjunction with each other.
FLY BM May not be used in the same segment.

You Use. Vs Your Opponent = Result

FLY WS WS and FLY nullified.
FLY AM AM may occur before FLY.
FLY FR/FE FR/FE mods applied for attack
FLY BN BN is applied, then the FLY.
FLY FLY Both FLY nullified.
FLY SS No synergistic effect.
FLY BM FLY nullified.

By John D Berg (Kerg) on Thursday, June 30, 2005 - 12:37 am: Edit

In a planetary attack, or any other defensible object, the attacker may conduct offensive operations against the defended entity only for as long as he has won previous battles in the turn.

You may give various BI as long as the decsion witch to use does not depend on seeing the battle first. Example you could say Pressed if attacking the system, but Charge if attacking a convoy. You could NOT say BI of Pressed if we outnumber our enemy by 3 to1, only Evasion otherwise.

You may not give orders that are based on battle stats. For example you cannot say engage if we outnumber them in BPV by 2 to 1. There is no way (other than guess by counting hull types) to determine BPV until the battle starts.

By John D Berg (Kerg) on Thursday, June 30, 2005 - 12:46 am: Edit

Regardless of the number of RX available only one FLY or WS can be used on a single target in a single segment.

i.e. u cant WS sling a SB 5 times in one segment with 5 SQ.

By John D Berg (Kerg) on Thursday, June 30, 2005 - 12:46 am: Edit

application/octet-streamRXMV
rx_mv_chartyou_use.doc (31 k)

By John D Berg (Kerg) on Friday, September 09, 2005 - 11:02 am: Edit

(C20.100) Mega Fighters- Any FTR (except heavy FTRs or bombers) in the SFB universe capable of being converted to mega version may do so as long as the increased EPV is paid. The FTRS AF goes up 15% and its DF goes down 15%.

In the above rule (straight from the v3 rulebook), it mentions paying the increased EPV, but does not specify what the increased amount is. The SFB rule states that the BPV is increased by 50%... but surely this cannot be what John was referring to. If we increase the BPV of the fighters by 50%, then that means that the fighters will also gain a 50% increase in firepower.

So, John, what is the increase in BPV for a MegaFTR supposed to be?


The GC rule is in addition to SFBs, so the FTR has a BPV of +50%, then after u modify it for GC it gets the +15% changes.

A FTr of 10BPV gets mega refit. It now has a BPV/EPV of 15/7.5. Converting it to GC it has a 2.2/.54, then add the mods, 2.5/.46.

PLEASE NOTE THE EXAMPLE ABOVE IS NOT CORRECT.

On April 9, 2008 John Berg posted the following:


Quote:

In an old thread about megaFTRS the example is wrong.

The U3 rulebook still has the correct rule.

Here is the corrected example for the thread

"A FTr of 10BPV gets mega refit. It now has a BPV/EPV of 15/7.5. Converting it to GC it has a 2.2/1.1, then add the mods, 2.5/.94."




[Correction added 4/9/08 by J. Sexton]

By John D Berg (Kerg) on Saturday, February 04, 2006 - 05:36 pm: Edit

These rules were, for some reason, left out of the rulebook. Its odd that no one noticed but that is probably b/c everyone knows how to do it anyway.

(C13.30) Annexing. In lieu of waiting for fronts to advance naturally you can ensure the change of hex ownership by annexing.

(C13.31) To annex another player’s space you must move any ship that is assigned to the military or SD into the hex you wish to be transitioned into your territory. After 12 complete and continuous segments the hex will be transferred to your empire. As long as it is physically connected to your core space it gains all benefits of being your territory.

(C13.32) Disrupting an Annexation. If someone moves into the hex you are annexing and challenges your annexation a battle will ensue. If you win the battle you can continue your annexing and it is not disrupted. You may not be attacked by that same enemy again for the remainder of the turn as long as you are annexing. If you refuse combat then you automatically have your annexation disrupted. The SQ that is attempting to annex the hex may not avoid combat through use of RX without having the annex disrupted.

(C13.33) If your annexing is disrupted then all the work from previous segments is lost and you will have to start over again.

By Jean E. Sexton (Jsexton) on Friday, May 05, 2006 - 11:51 pm: Edit

For ease of finding the rules clarification:


Quote:

By Mike Incavo (Kavo) on Sunday, March 26, 2006 - 10:49 pm: Edit

(C17.72) If you do send a tech to someone it may never be a amount as great as you currently
have in your empire. The maximum allowed tech transfer is 50% of your own R and D efforts.
(Example: You could not send someone 200EPof FTR tech if you yourself only had 200EP of
FTR tech, you could however send them 1/2 that amount). In the case of non timed tech (Cloaks,
SFG’s, death rays....) you may not trade the tech til you have had it under production for 5 years.

(C17.52) Active observation of a tech is when the owner of that tech allows you access to his
computer core. It grants the observer a 100 EP of Scientific Method R&D for that tech. Passive
observation is when the owner of that tech does nothing to hinder your observations. It grants 75
EPs. Restricted observation is when the owner of that tech uses general ECM to prevent you
from studying a tech unhindered. It grants you 50 EPs. Finally, Jammed observation is when the
owner of the tech successfully uses TSJ (C15.0) against you (25 EP gained).


Rules Clarifications
(C17.521) C17.72 and C17.52 are not independent of each other.
The final word works like this: You can grant a free 100EP of any non unique tech that you have had for at least 5 years to an ally. Note that if you have it under development it CANNOT be given away.


By John D Berg (Kerg) on Thursday, October 05, 2006 - 06:55 pm: Edit

While it has never been a rule the effects of a HW blockade have been used often between the U's.

Here it is:

When your HW gets blockaded...

a) No GBC transactions.
b) All systems produced only their core economics + there base EP. Regardless of mobility.


If the blockade is broken in midturn it may be possible for the GBC to work but NOT the increase if system income.

By John D Berg (Kerg) on Thursday, February 08, 2007 - 06:48 pm: Edit

For all universes:

Clarification:

(B8.42) You may build any one size class 4 or smaller R1 ship type at a
SB class unit, SF (B11.75), or SP (B11.77). You may NOT build size class 3 or larger
R1 unit at a SB, SF, or SP. These include, in part- FRD, Mon, OAL, F-OL,
F-OP, HAC, HAV, HSC, AxCVA, AxPFL, AxSCS, OAS. These units may not exceed
your empire's conversion rate.

By John D Berg (Kerg) on Thursday, August 16, 2007 - 09:25 am: Edit

This is a clarification of A3.20 for all universes.

The DI is calculated for the turn, not each battle.

SO if u say 50%, that means the unit will stop fighting any/all battles within a turn when it reaches 50% losses.

By John D Berg (Kerg) on Friday, April 11, 2008 - 05:34 pm: Edit

D2.40) Bases and systems may NOT use any RX MV. They may be affected by RX (AM to help defend, WS against). Any ships without a SQ designation and which are assigned to a base or system are also unable to use any RX. An example of such ships would be civilian/national guard ships.

By John D Berg (Kerg) on Tuesday, April 29, 2008 - 11:13 pm: Edit

replace C20.20 with this rule new material in "Red".


C20.20) The only limit to the amount of PFs carried in a SQ is that SQ’s command ability number (CAN). Every 6xPFs uses up a CAN slot for a ship. True PFTs and SCS ships may carry their PFs free of a CAN slot. These ships (indicated by the P notation or ships carrying pods, skids, or ducktails that have the P notation in the SFB master index) are limited to three per SQ. Example- The CAN of a CL is 5. The following are all legal SQ compositions: a) CL, 2xDD, 2xFF, 6xPF; b) CL, 2xDD, 3xFF; c) CL, PFT(6xPF), DD, 2xFF, 6xPF; d) CL, 2xDD, FF, 12xPF; e) CL, DD, 24xPF. For case “e” and probably case “d” the PFs could not possibly be carried by the ships in that SQ, instead they must have come from a PF base/tender not directly involved in the battle.

By Howard Bampton (Bampton) on Saturday, January 03, 2009 - 02:04 am: Edit

The new V4 rulebook has had a number of people get confused by the merchant marine/military expense rules. Hopefully this verbose explanation will help clear things up. These are per turn limits, of course.

E1.22 limits you to having ONE unit that is built with both MM and MIL income. This is intended to prevent players from dodging the 30% surcharge imposed by E1.22 for units without split EPV/BPVs. This prevents you from spending 41EP of MM funds and 40EPs of Mil funds for each of 10 LQs (410EPs MM funds, 400EPs Mil funds). You may buy one unit that way, the other 9 would cost you more if bought with military funds.

E1.22 does NOT limit how many R1 units the military can build. It limits the number that can have funds from both the MM and Mil to one. The military can pay the full costs (including surcharges if applicable, and within MM conversion limits) as many times as it wants to.

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Monday, January 05, 2009 - 03:35 pm: Edit

Change text references to Strategic Defense to Supplementary Defense as it is titled in E2.0.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Monday, January 05, 2009 - 04:15 pm: Edit

John Berg: I am STILL waiting for the new page 2 of the rulebook (which had better NOT have been released before I approve page 2).

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Monday, January 05, 2009 - 04:19 pm: Edit

My comment was from the rulebook I got before you said not to distrubite.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Monday, January 05, 2009 - 07:46 pm: Edit

Yeah, the boys have got to learn that they're doing "real" products now and those do not get distributed until I say so.

By Howard Bampton (Bampton) on Monday, January 05, 2009 - 10:30 pm: Edit

Speaking for myself (and firing off random thoughts before I turn in for the night)- I did my editing based upon the current GC games and players (with allowances for new players joining the two campaigns). I didn't do edits of the GC rulebook with the wider audience of players and GMs who are not in the three universes in mind. I've fielded a half dozen rules questions from long term players where we missed loopholes (or added new ones). The rulebook is light on examples that would make it easy to pick up for players not in the current games, for example. Doing a "good" fix on this is going to take a bit of time (and if the U4/5 games have to wait too much longer for my "one more thing we missed", people are going to start throwing shoes at me or making sure that I get killed off first*).

About is of course my opinion only.

I see John is processing my stack of changes- 9 fixes and counting.

* Note to self- pick the UFP the next time I help edit the rulebook, not the circa 150 or 160 Romulans with their NTW fleet!

By Jean Sexton (Jsexton) on Tuesday, January 27, 2009 - 10:07 pm: Edit

Rule (A10.41)

The question has arisen: Is the following squadron legal: 1 DN and 5 troop ships? What if the squadron is simply moving around and not going into combat?

Answer:

A player cannot make his squadrons illegal on purpose.

When a squadron that could have 10 CAN slots only uses 5, then it has 5 CAN slots. Troop ships and/or maulers may only occupy 50% of the slots. Therefore, a squadron may not start off with a DN, five troop ships, and no other ships.

If, during a battle, ships are lost and the squadron would be illegal, then the player must make the squadron legal as soon as it is legally possible—i.e., at the end of the turn. This is normally done with a standing order for the captain in charge of the squadron to regroup in a particular fashion (for example, all crippled ships together as allowed by CAN, form the best possible SQ from the undamaged ships, or whatever criteria are specified). The GM will create a legal squadron if the player does not.

During the turn, if a squadron is damaged in such a way that it is no longer legal, the GMs will self-adjust the squadron’s capabilities and the troop ship and/or mauler so affected will not be able to use its special ability.

By Jean Sexton (Jsexton) on Tuesday, January 27, 2009 - 10:14 pm: Edit

Rule (B12.85) Feed the Workers

The question has arisen: Can I stay on Full War Mobility indefinitely if I have 10 networks?

Answer:

No, the number added is not cumulative. Unless you can add 10 agricultural networks per turn (120 ground bases), you will eventually reach zero and EE.

Example: The EE number for an empire is 10 and it has been at FW for 9 turns. It has 10 agricultural networks and FTW.

This turn EEP is at 10-9 = 1 +1 (for FTW) = 2. The empire stays at FW mobility

Next turn EEP is at 10-10 = 0 + 1 (for FTW) = 1. The empire stays at FW mobility and constructs an additional agricultural network.

The next turn EEP is at 10-11 = -1 +1.1 (for FTW) =.1 This turn, unless the empire either goes off FW mobility or constructs 10 more agricultural networks [12 bases in each network, or 120 bases at 8 EPs (960 EPs)], it will hit a negative number and be in Economic Exhaustion.

By Jean Sexton (Jsexton) on Tuesday, January 27, 2009 - 10:31 pm: Edit

Rule (Z2.10) You get, for free, the minimum number of working freighters, evenly split between F-L/2xF-S, to keep your empire running, with one exception. If you have four or more open space bases, then supporting freighters are free for the first three open space bases only. The fourth and additional bases' supporting
freighters must be paid for from your (Z2.20) funds.

Question: If you support three open bases, won't you support three majors if I can make them majors from existing minors?

Answer:

No, you get for free, the freighters to support each minor--1xF-L, 2xF-S. You don't get the freighters to hook them up and if you make them majors, you will have to build the freighters to support a major as well.

If you put 3xSAM in open space and then withdraw the freighter support and let them self-destruct, then you will have the freighter support for 3 minors to become majors. You will not have them connected, though.

The thing is, you have to have those majors supported from Turn 1. The SAMs' self-destruction would let you build a single trade route hex. If you put an MB on a minor and on Turn 1 upgraded it to a BS and built the TCB, then you could pull the SAM self-destruction freighter switcheroo.

But no, the TR hexes are what you see. You have to pay to extend them, even if you create a new major on Turn 1.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation