By James Hallmark (Jhallmark) on Monday, December 28, 2009 - 01:10 pm: Edit |
A friend wants to use the E7J in a squadron battle tomorrow. We plan to print it off the website since I don't have the product it came in. I have a few questions:
1. Does it have to use a degraded crew?
2. Does the 110 BPV account for the degraded crew?
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Monday, December 28, 2009 - 01:42 pm: Edit |
Yes, it does.
Yes, it does.
By Xander Fulton (Dderidex) on Monday, December 28, 2009 - 02:16 pm: Edit |
Huh - RE: the 'BPV account for the degraded crew'...
...is that true of all penal ships? Somehow I was under the impression it didn't? Or, wait, is this a FedCom-only thing?
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Monday, December 28, 2009 - 05:33 pm: Edit |
Fedcom. I think. Maybe you better have Mike West check it while I work on PDFed with Jean.
By Mike West (Mjwest) on Saturday, January 02, 2010 - 05:46 pm: Edit |
In FC, we don't use "split" Point Values, so we only use what is the equivalent of the SFB combat value. (This is true of the tugs and LTTs published in Commander's Circle, too.)
So, for the E7J, yes, the Point Value already assumes the degraded crew. The E7J is supposed to have a degraded crew. (In the future we will probably want to note that on the card.)
As for if this is true for all penal ships in FC, the answer is "yes", as the E7J is the only penal ship in FC.
(In SFB, it works a little differently. In SFB, penal ships have a split BPV. The larger value is the value of the ship with a normal crew, and the smaller value is the value of the ship with a poor crew.)
By James Hallmark (Jhallmark) on Saturday, January 02, 2010 - 07:38 pm: Edit |
My friend chose not to use the E7J because he thought the Point Value was too high with the degraded crew.
By Terence Sean Terry O'Carroll (Terryoc) on Saturday, January 02, 2010 - 09:31 pm: Edit |
I disagree, at 110 points it's good IMO. Heavy cruiser at the price of a DW. Even with the degraded crew effects.
By Mike West (Mjwest) on Thursday, January 07, 2010 - 10:43 pm: Edit |
Note that the current post-RRB version of the CRUL has been posted to Commander's Circle.
(This was done at the beginning of December. I just forgot to post a note!)
By James Hallmark (Jhallmark) on Wednesday, March 24, 2010 - 10:46 pm: Edit |
Question on plasma:
Rule 4J4c step 2 says "Firing uses all of the energy in the tube; more can be added at the instant of firing up to a maximum of five."
Does this mean that a 5 energy shot can be fired every turn?
If it does it seems to contradict the intro paragraph of 4J4c which says "This would allow a Gorn ship to fire relatively weak shots from its plasma-F launchers every turn."
By James Hallmark (Jhallmark) on Wednesday, March 24, 2010 - 11:05 pm: Edit |
8RB1 The Destruction of Mobile Base X-Ray:
In 8RB1c the victory conditions say "Use the Point Value Victory System (8B2)but the Federation ship gains no points for damage to the Romulan ship...He can protect the base by capturing the Romulan ship (or destroying it)."
To clarify, is the following what is meant:
1) The Fed only gets points for destroying or capturing the Rom.
2) The Rom gets points for everything in 8B2b.
3) Rom does not get points for initial point value difference per 8B2a.
Or is the scenario sufficiently rigged that the Romulan is spotted 95 points due to 8B2a. If this is the case it seams that the following needs added to my above clarification:
4) The side that accomplishes its objective automatically wins.
By Mike West (Mjwest) on Thursday, March 25, 2010 - 12:15 am: Edit |
(4J4c): Yes. You can fire five points every turn. And it is weak relative to a full Pl-F torpedo warhead.
(8RB1): Have to look at that later ...
By James Hallmark (Jhallmark) on Thursday, March 25, 2010 - 07:57 pm: Edit |
On 4J4c thanks.
As far as 8RB1 goes it seams that using 8B2b is needed in order to establish a degree of victory. I am just not sure how to apply it.
By Mike Barlow (Wpol) on Sunday, April 25, 2010 - 09:31 am: Edit |
Hi there,
There's a comment in almost every weapon's or system's rules that says a hit on the DAC on X will disable a box of its system.
Is there a complete list compiled of all the substitute DAC locations?
Can a CWarp hit, for example, be taken on RWarp or LWarp, like it does in SFB?
By Mike West (Mjwest) on Sunday, April 25, 2010 - 12:06 pm: Edit |
No, there is no comprehensive list. That would be a good idea for the next consolidated rules update.
No. If the substitution isn't listed somewhere, you can't do it, regardless of what is done in SFB.
By Mike Barlow (Wpol) on Sunday, April 25, 2010 - 09:32 pm: Edit |
I want to play Scenario 8B114, Rescue of the Cherenkov, but I need to clarify the tractoring rules:
When one ship tractors another, only the ship which spent more energy on movement actually moves, albeit at a lower Baseline Speed... (from 5D6b)
So, during Energy Allocation on the following turn, would I pay for a Baseline Speed of, say, 16, which would be reduced to Baseline 8 because of the tow?
Does the combined cost of my ship's movement and the towed ship movement only affect acceleration and deceleration costs? It does not affect paying for Baseline Speed?
By Michael Bennett (Mike) on Sunday, April 25, 2010 - 09:37 pm: Edit |
You pay for your baseline speed for what it is. No more, no less.
By Mike Barlow (Wpol) on Monday, April 26, 2010 - 09:16 am: Edit |
Great. That answers the second part of my question, but the first, again, is
To quote the rules, it says...
Only the ship which put more energy into movement actually moves (reduce its Baseline Speed by one level)".
So, during During Energy Allocation on the following turn, would I pay for a Baseline Speed (of 16, for example), but because of the tow it is reduced by one level?
By Terry "Full Stop" O'Carroll (Terryoc) on Monday, April 26, 2010 - 11:35 am: Edit |
Yes. You would pay for your baseline speed (for example, 16 points for base speed 16 in a move cost 1 ship). When it came to the movement segment of the impulse, your base speed would be considered 8. You'd stay at that baseline as long as you were towing. If something broke the tractor link for some reason, your baseline speed would then jump back up to what you paid for (16).
By Mike West (Mjwest) on Monday, April 26, 2010 - 03:10 pm: Edit |
The above all looks correct.
By Mike Barlow (Wpol) on Monday, May 03, 2010 - 12:14 am: Edit |
What happens when a hellbore is shot at the downed shield of a ship?
Does the first number's damage penetrate the ship's downed shield (being the weakest) to score internal damage and the second number's damage spread among the other 5 shields OR does is all the damage scored internally as if the ship was totally unshielded?
By Terry O'Carroll (Terryoc) on Monday, May 03, 2010 - 06:27 am: Edit |
Hellbores always wrap around no matter what direction they are fired from. It's one of the limitations of the weapon.
By Mike West (Mjwest) on Tuesday, May 04, 2010 - 10:30 pm: Edit |
The first option.
If a hellbore is fired at a ship whose facing shield is down, the first number is applied to that shield (thus being scored as internals) and the rest is divided among the other five shields. Of course, if the down shield was not facing, then the exact same procedure would be used, and the down shield still gets the first number, with the second number divided amount the other five shields. Thus is the wonder of the hellbore.
(This all tacitly assumes there is a single down shield. If there are two down shields, the target ship gets to choose which shield is penetrated, though it doesn't make much practical difference.)
By Mike Barlow (Wpol) on Friday, May 21, 2010 - 11:04 am: Edit |
In the Reference Rulebook, in Asterioids, Rule 6B2d states that drones and shuttles receive half the stated damage points (in Squadron Scale).
Then a starred entry, next paragraph, says damage is halved in fleet scale. That only refers to ships, right? Not to shuttles, fighters, or drones?
By Mike West (Mjwest) on Friday, May 21, 2010 - 12:28 pm: Edit |
Correct. Shuttles, fighters, and drones already get half damage as it is. Besides, there are no "fleet scale" shuttles, fighters, and drones. The only things that are fleet scale are the ships (and bases).
By Greg Ernest (Grege) on Monday, September 13, 2010 - 05:37 pm: Edit |
Am I correct that there is no loss of effect to Tholian phasers firing through web in FC? Or am I just missing that rule?
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |