By Terry O'Carroll (Terryoc) on Sunday, November 14, 2010 - 11:35 am: Edit |
War & Peace has Andromedans as (7W). Frax Pack #3 has the Frax Sub ship descriptions under (7SB). I think the Frax under (7SB) sounds right.
By Shawn Hantke (Shantke) on Sunday, November 14, 2010 - 02:32 pm: Edit |
Thanks Terry.
By Mike West (Mjwest) on Monday, November 15, 2010 - 11:47 am: Edit |
Sorry, forgot to check. The numbers posted by Terry are quite correct. I missed the guess on the Andromedans. I knew they were "one off" of the Vudar, but went in the wrong direction.
And, yes, that means there is indeed a gap before the Vudar (7V).
Note that any of the simulator empires will be of the form (7Sx), where "x" is the next free letter. (The order will depend on lots and lots of things.)
By James Hallmark (Jhallmark) on Saturday, December 25, 2010 - 08:09 pm: Edit |
Rule 5U3a1 says:
"...The announcement includes the unit operating the device, the target, and the hex the target will be displaced to (or direction it will be displaced in if a non-Andromedan ship)."
Question:
This says the direction of non-Andro displacement must be announced. However there is no rule that specifies that ability to apply a direction to a non-Andro displacement. 5U4a specifically says it is random. Am I missing something? Is this a partial carryover from SFB?
By Terry O'Carroll (Terryoc) on Saturday, December 25, 2010 - 09:34 pm: Edit |
I'm pretty sure it's a glitch from SFB, if it's a non-Andro displacement is totally random.
By Mike West (Mjwest) on Saturday, December 25, 2010 - 11:01 pm: Edit |
Terry is correct. It will be a line item sometime soon.
By James Hallmark (Jhallmark) on Monday, December 27, 2010 - 01:35 pm: Edit |
The Andro rules say that the Andro does not have to pre-announce an HET. However the HET rules seem to indicate that HETing is the first action of a movement sub-pulse. So there is effectively no announcement anyways. Am I missing something?
By Mike West (Mjwest) on Monday, December 27, 2010 - 03:08 pm: Edit |
The primary issue is that you *pay* for the HET cost when you announce, not when you use the HET. As such, an Andromedan could announce and pay for an HET every impulse, only to cancel it later. This would allow the Andromedan to burn tons of energy rather quickly. Ergo, it is not allowed.
By Shawn Hantke (Shantke) on Tuesday, February 08, 2011 - 06:48 pm: Edit |
(4K)HELLBORE CANNONS I have DK and FC:RRB it has 4K as the title then the rule jumps to 4K1A Ship Card. Should there be a 4K1? What would it be called? 4L1 is DESIGNATION, 4J1 GENERAL PLASMA TORPEDO RULES, 4B1, 4C1, 4D1, 4E1 are all "GENERAL RULE" so I would lean towards " 4K1 GENERAL RULE
By Mike West (Mjwest) on Tuesday, February 08, 2011 - 07:50 pm: Edit |
Eh, it probably should have a (4K1) header, but that is pretty cosmetic and not even a typo. And it really isn't worth stopping the printing this time. The rule is perfectly readable as is.
By Shawn Hantke (Shantke) on Friday, February 18, 2011 - 04:39 pm: Edit |
Is "(5E4) Range" somewhere other than the reference rulebook?
By Mike West (Mjwest) on Friday, February 18, 2011 - 07:34 pm: Edit |
It is in the rev5 Klingon Border rulebook. That means it is in all of the rev5 rulebooks that include the (5E) rule, and is/will be in all of the rev6 rulebooks that include the (5E) rule.
Those books are, I believe:
Klingon Border Rulebook
Romulan Border Rulebook
Reference Rulebook
By Shawn Hantke (Shantke) on Friday, February 18, 2011 - 08:35 pm: Edit |
Mike, thanks.
By Michael Tisdel (Jtisdel) on Saturday, February 19, 2011 - 09:21 am: Edit |
Is there a release number for the RRB? All I can find is the statement that "This is a SIXTH EDITION rulebook" on the inside first page?
I am looking for a way to tell if a given rulebook is the latest edition/sub-edition.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Saturday, February 19, 2011 - 10:36 am: Edit |
That's it. All of the printed copies are 6b. There were never any printed copies of 6a and only one copy of 6 ever left the building (by mail order to someone who got a replacement sent without asking).
In other news, all copies of 6b have the "star" in the sidebar and "RRB" in the bottom of the sidebar.
Humorously, all copies of 6b say on page 3 that they are 6a. (Sigh.)
By Michael Tisdel (Jtisdel) on Saturday, February 19, 2011 - 03:42 pm: Edit |
Thanks, SVC.
By Michael Bennett (Mike) on Sunday, July 22, 2012 - 10:05 pm: Edit |
I read in another thread that SPP made some kind of "ruling" that DefSats could NOT be used along with bases. How long ago was this stated? Does this include bases that are in orbit around planets? What is the rationale for this prohibition?
By Terry O'Carroll (Terryoc) on Sunday, July 22, 2012 - 11:15 pm: Edit |
Michael, Defense Satellites have never been allowed to orbit around bases in SFB either, the ruling's been in place for I don't know how long. I remember reading the SFB ruling in a really old Captain's Log. The reason is that DefSats are satellites, not mines, and must orbit an object sufficiently large to have a decent amount of gravity. That means a planet or moon. I believe that you can have a base and defsats both orbiting the same planet.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, July 23, 2012 - 10:15 am: Edit |
Michael Bennet:
This rule has been part of Defense Satellites for a long time (at least since the 1999 edition of the Advanced Mission Rulebook, which means it predates that rulebook):
"(R1.15G) Defense satellites can only be placed in standard orbit (P8.0) and only around a planet [(P2.21) and (P2.22)] or moon (P2.23). They cannot be placed in a stationary position. They cannot orbit bases, stars, or asteroids. Orbital move-ment of defense satellites will not detonate mines (P8.22)."
The rule as it appears above is pretty much unchanged from the 1999 edition except for the addition of rules cross references.
Terry O'Carroll is correct that the rule does not prevent a base from orbiting the same planet (or moon) as defense satellites, but defense satellites cannot orbit a base. Obviously they would technically be orbiting a base if it was ON the planet or moon around which the defense satellite was orbiting, but any base in deep space (i.e., not orbiting a planet or moon) cannot also be surrounded by "orbiting defense satellites," it would have to rely on Captor (and obviously other) mines for that purpose.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, July 23, 2012 - 12:02 pm: Edit |
On reading other topics, it has become plain to me that the question being asked is not very precise. So let me add:
A given planet or moon could at one time have both bases (whether ComPlat sized, base station sized, battle station sized, or starbase sized) and defense satellites orbiting it. The restriction is that defense satellites HAVE to orbit either a plant or a moon, they cannot orbit a base, even if that base is also orbiting a planet or moon. Any scenario where defense satellite appear, they MUST by (R1.15G) be in orbit around a planet or moon.
By Michael Bennett (Mike) on Monday, July 23, 2012 - 09:38 pm: Edit |
You are correct...the "question" was not very precise. I read that a ruling had been made that DefSats could not be used along with bases. That did not sound correct to me. It did not make sense that DefSats could not be in orbit around the same planet or moon that a BS, BATS, or SB orbited. That was how I interpreted what was posted. It never even occurred to me that DefSats could orbit bases.
It is clear from the most recent posts that DefSats can, indeed, orbit the same planets that bases orbit.
By Bill Steele (Bill83501) on Thursday, February 21, 2013 - 10:49 pm: Edit |
I have done several key word searchs but come up with thousands of posts. Quick yes or no, does a SDF add its EW to the battle, or just its drones?
Thanks in advance
Bill
By Terry O'Carroll (Terryoc) on Friday, February 22, 2013 - 12:16 am: Edit |
Drones don't blind sensors when launched (5S6), so a Kzinti scout drone frigate (SDF) can use its sensors and launch drones without affecting the sensors. I hope that answers your question.
By Bill Steele (Bill83501) on Monday, February 25, 2013 - 10:28 pm: Edit |
thank you Terry, I am an idiot, should have posted in F & E section, sorry
By Cody Jones (Codyjones) on Thursday, April 18, 2013 - 10:14 pm: Edit |
Greetings all, I'm a somewhat new FedCom player that's part of a small group of similar players here that have started a group here in Indianapolis. This is my first post here on the BBS and likely the first of many silly questions.
For various Start of Turn/Pre-Game pre-loading procedures such as (4C2c) and (4J2e), it lists rules where if certain pre-loading occurs, you lose some of your starting battery energy.
For ships that have more Photons or Plasma torpedoes than batteries to power them, and since the pre-loading is an all-or-nothing rule, can you even use it if you don't have the battery power to load all of the weapons, or do you get to pre-load everything and just start with empty batteries?
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |