By Michael Cox (Triopticon) on Wednesday, March 10, 2010 - 01:55 pm: Edit |
Played for the second time the other day in a 5 player game. Very hectic...
Anyway, one question was:
Can you use Fighters (planetary or otherwise) and the Flotilla card to combine with regular weapons fire? We assumed you could but just wanted to make sure. I believe each fighter squadron/card attacks separately?
Thanks.
By Nick G. Blank (Nickgb) on Wednesday, March 10, 2010 - 04:22 pm: Edit |
I believe that the Planetary Fighter cards and the PF card ARE your attack if you play them, you can't combine them with other weapons fire.
The 2 Planetary Fighter cards however CAN be combined if you happen to hold both of them.
By Dan (Droberts441) on Sunday, March 21, 2010 - 03:23 pm: Edit |
Reserve Squadron Question in Formations:
I have a question from page 17 of the rulebook:
"If a player has (during Step 3) no ships in his Screen or Main body, he must move one ship from his Reserve Squadron to the Screen."
My question is on the "OR" in the "Screen or Main body"
Shouldn't that be an "AND?"
On page 16, just before that rule in the Main Body rules it says if the Main Body is empty nothing in particular happens, and mentions ships can be in the Screen or Reserve.
But with the "OR" on Page 17, it makes it sound like if there isn't a ship in the Main Body, you must move one from Reserve to the Screen.
That would mean even if you have three (3) ships in the screen, but none in the Main Body, you would still have to move one from Reserve to the Screen, and of course you still wouldn't have one in the Main Body, so your next turn you would have to do the same thing (unless in Step 4, you moved the one you just moved to the Screen to the Main Body instead of attacking).
Is that the intention, or is it intended to say "AND," and you only do that if you have no ships in your screen and your main body. My impression from page 16, is it should be an "AND."
Obviously, you couldn't have a situation where the "OR" would apply with none in the Screen, and some in the Main Body, since once your Screen is empty, your whole Main Body is moved up to the Screen immediately. So this also makes me think that should have been an "AND" instead of an "OR"
Thanks in advance.
By Jon Berry (Laz_Longsmith) on Sunday, March 21, 2010 - 10:42 pm: Edit |
Dan, the grammer of the sentence tells me that if there is no ships in EITHER the Main body OR the Screen, then one ship MUST move from the reserve to the Screen.
In your example, because there are three ships in the screen, then the Either/Or logic gate is satisfied, and no further ships need to be pulled from the Reserve.
Think of it like this:
(Reserve) -> Main -> Screen --> Enemy
With this in mind, the rule was written so that there is always 'something' closer to the enemy than everything else, to 'screen' them from the Enemy, preventing the potential abuse of just fielding reserve fleets.
I can also inform you that on this BBS, we do require full names for all participants. It helps to keep things civil.
By Dan Roberts (Droberts441) on Monday, March 22, 2010 - 02:57 am: Edit |
Thanks for the response Jon. Like I put in my post, I had interpreted (and had been playing) as you said, but I wanted to make sure I was doing it correctly.
"I can also inform you that on this BBS, we do require full names for all participants."
Sorry about that...I registered about 10 months ago, but hadn't posted...I am usually in the Federation Commander Forum section, and I guess I hadn't quite picked up on the differences.
By david chow (Sithlord) on Friday, March 26, 2010 - 01:03 am: Edit |
Question regarding the use of the Prime team card or tractor beam card. Can I use either card on my own ship to negate a wild weasel so that I may fire weapons from the affected ship?
Could I use the Prime team to decloak one of my ships so that I may use the ship to fire weapons?
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, March 26, 2010 - 06:12 pm: Edit |
David Chow:
I have gone to the designer and this is the answer:
"No, you cannot do it to your own ship."
So you cannot use the Prime Team Card to cancel your own cloaking device or wild weasel.
By david chow (Sithlord) on Friday, March 26, 2010 - 07:30 pm: Edit |
Thank you for the quick response. We had another one that came up in our 3 player game. Person A fires at person C, and person C counters with a wild weasel. Person A's turn is over and we moved to person B's turn. Can person B use a tractor beam to take away person C's wild weasel and then fire on that ship without the effects of the wild weasel?
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Saturday, March 27, 2010 - 03:43 pm: Edit |
David Chow:
From the rulebook, page #21, Wild Weasel: ". . . can be cancelled by a tractor beam (at the instant the WW is played) . . ."
By definition the "instant" in which the wild weasel was played was during person A's turn, and not during person B's turn, so person B does not have the option of using a tractor on person C's existing wild weasel.
By Glenn Hoepfner (Ikabar) on Monday, April 19, 2010 - 11:51 am: Edit |
CL 30, page 83, Regarding ESG rules,
"Defensively, reduce drone or hellbore attacks by 200% ..."
I suspect this is a typo in the pdf. What is the actual reduction? 50%?
By John Swift (Sirbroadsword) on Friday, January 21, 2011 - 05:23 am: Edit |
Can planet-based fighters be used to attack an in-coming PF flotilla? The rules say that each player can fire one weapon card at them, not including overloads, envelopers or PLANET BASED FIGHTERS (emphasis mine), which seems to suggest that they can be. (note that the rules specifically say one weapon CARD, so I'm assuming that ship-based fighters can't attack PFs).
By Terry O'Carroll (Terryoc) on Friday, January 21, 2011 - 07:20 am: Edit |
Quote:fire one weapon card at them...not including planet based fighters
By John Swift (Sirbroadsword) on Friday, January 21, 2011 - 08:44 am: Edit |
Oh... I misunderstood... I thought "not including" meant that overloads, envelopers and PBFs were not included in the "one allowed weapon" card, meaning that you could play an overload, enveloper or PBF alongside your one weapon.
"No cards that modify weapon cards or cards that are used instead of weapon cards"
Does that mean, then, that you can't use scatterpacks against PFs either, even though, for some odd reason, the rules don't single them out the way they do with overloads and evelopers?
By Terry O'Carroll (Terryoc) on Friday, January 21, 2011 - 11:10 am: Edit |
That's my understanding of the rule. Actually, now I think about it, maybe I'm wrong.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Saturday, January 22, 2011 - 02:54 pm: Edit |
John Swift:
You cannot use planet based fighters against PFs. They are not a "weapon card" but a special card. There is no "interaction" defined for their use against the PF card.
Consider, both cards require their strength to be resolved AFTER they have been damaged by defensive fires. There is no means to determine how many PFs remain after the fighters fire, or how many fighters remain after the PFs fire.
Further, neither card (the PF flotilla card or the planet based fighter card) has a symbol (PF to be used against PFs, or F to be used against fighters) for it to be used against the other.
Overloads cannot be used against PFs or fighters (overload cards have an "R" for short range, but not a PF, F, or D for use against PFs, Fighters, or drone defense for that matter).
Hope that helps.
By John Swift (Sirbroadsword) on Friday, January 28, 2011 - 08:41 am: Edit |
Well, I've played SFBF (mostly with myself) for some time now, and I've only just discovered that I have 91 out of 90 action cards. I've counted them and recounted them and there's no mistake... I have 36 ship cards, 6 turn order cards... and 91 action cards. I, therefore, now need the official card list so that I know which action card to take out of the deck, but I can't seem to find it. You guys couldn't point me in the right direction, could you?
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Friday, January 28, 2011 - 11:57 am: Edit |
I am going to bet that your 91st card is one of the samples we stuck into an FC game.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Friday, January 28, 2011 - 11:57 am: Edit |
STAR FLEET BATTLE FORCE: LIST OF CARDS
==============================================
Ship cards
Fed DN, CA, NCL, CV, FF, DW
Klingon C8, D7, D6, D5, D7V, F5
Romulan Dreadnought (Condor), Heavy Cruiser (Firehawk), Light Cruiser (Sparrowhawk),
Destroyer (Skyhawk), Carrier (Sparrowhawk-V), Old Cruiser (King Eagle)
Kzinti DN, BC, CM, DW, FF, CVS
Gorn DN, CV, BC, HDD, BDD, DD
Orion BR, CR, LR
Tholian DD, DN, CW
==============================================
Player Order Cards (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6)
==============================================
Action Cards:
1xPhaser-1(4), 5xPhaser-1(3), 1xPhaser-1(2)
1xPhaser-2(3), 6xPhaser-2(2)
3xPhaser-3(2), 4xPhaser-3(1)
2xPhoton(6), 4xPhoton(5)
2xDisruptor(5), 4xDisruptor(4), 2xDisruptor(3)
1xPlasma-R(9), 1xPlasma-R(7)
2xPlasma-S(6), 3xPlasma-S(5)
3xPlasma-F(3), 1xPlasma-F(2)
1xDrone(5), 4xDrone(4), 1xDrone(3)
2xScatterpack, 4xOverload, 2xEnveloper
2xTractor Beam, 4xReinforce Shields (3), 2xErratic Maneuvers(4)
2xReinforcements (extra ships), 1xPF Flotilla, 2x Planet Based Fighters
1xDamage Control(4), 1xDamage Control(3), 1x Damage Control(2)
Klingon Mutiny, Prime Team, Disengage, 2xWild Weasel
2xECM(4), 2xECM(3), 2xECCM, Organian Ceasefire
Legendary Engineer, Legendary Gunner
==============================================
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |