Archive through March 05, 2015

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battle Force: Battle Force Q&A: Archive through March 05, 2015
By Tony L Thomas (Scoutdad) on Monday, August 08, 2011 - 09:03 am: Edit

To reiterate and expound on the replies made earlier, when said staff member was tired, disracted, and generally not thinking Star Fleet:

Orion Option mounts:
Phaser-4: NO! Emphatically, no. As previously mentioned, hte Orions seldom use P-4s and even then only in defense of the home system. Based on that knowledge, I'd say they would not be able to use Phaser-4s i the option mounts.

Phaser-Gs: Awaiting the release of the SFBF expansion pack and official Phaser-G rules, all we have are the play-test items from Captain's Log. Using the info gleaned from both SFB and Fed Comm, the Orions are able to use Phaser-Gs, but only in limited amounts. I would say that the Orion wessels are able to put Phaser-G's in the option mounts, but only one per ship. Any other P-3 cards used in a single fire action must therefore; be regular Phaser-3s.

By Dal Downing Rambler (3deez) on Monday, August 08, 2011 - 11:12 am: Edit

Kenneth, just to reiderate. The rulebook states Orion's can use any "Weapons Cards" not "Weapon Button Type" or "Simulated Weapon System" just the Weapon Card except for the R exception. The reason it is plural is for Overload or Enveloping type affects.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Monday, August 08, 2011 - 11:44 am: Edit

Correct, no phaser-4s or phaser-Gs for Orions. The existing rules cover this. You're basically asking if we meant to add a rule enabling those weapon systems for Orions and we did not intend to, did not forget to, and did not do it.

By Kenneth Thomas (Ohssurvivor) on Monday, August 08, 2011 - 03:48 pm: Edit

not asking for a new rule, i was just misunderstanding the rule on Opt boxes, just asking about it so i didnt do anything wrong while demoing SFBF as a ranger, and cause a huge issue while at the game store(s), thank you for all the responses, and sorry for the miss-worded question, and SVC thank you for taking time to answer, again sorry for the wording i used

By Kenneth Thomas (Ohssurvivor) on Saturday, February 18, 2012 - 04:08 am: Edit

i have skimmed the archive looking for this numerous times, and havent seen it in there, when taking your turn, what is the rule for discarding x cards and drawing an equal amount of replacements? is it instead of anything else including Damage Control Repair cards / LE or can you repair and discard- draw?

By Kenneth Thomas (Ohssurvivor) on Sunday, June 23, 2013 - 04:29 am: Edit

when using the Lyran playtest cards CL is unclear when it refers to the ESG against a cloaked ship. Will the damage be recorded at 100% or will the cloak take it down 50% just like anything else that hits it?

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Saturday, July 13, 2013 - 01:32 pm: Edit

Kenneth Thomas asked on Saturday, February 18, 2012: I have skimmed the archive looking for this numerous times, and have not seen it in there, when taking your turn, what is the rule for discarding x cards and drawing an equal amount of replacements? Is it instead of anything else including Damage Control Repair cards / LE or can you repair and discard- draw?

ANSWER: I have gone through the rulebook (just now), and the only mention of "discard" I have found says that at the end of your turn you have the option to discard one (1) card. At the start of your turn you can draw cards to fill your hand, which is done before you do repairs. It is possible I am missing something, but the existing rules seem pretty clear on these issues.

Kenneth Thomas asked on Sunday, June 23, 2013: When using the Lyran playtest cards CL is unclear when it refers to the ESG against a cloaked ship. Will the damage be recorded at 100% or will the cloak take it down 50% just like anything else that hits it?

ANSWER: The rule on Page #65 of Captain's Log #27 is a little unclear in that it says ESGs can damage cloaked ships at the very end of the rule but does not tie this statement to the earlier text "ECM, Wild Weasel, and Erratic Maneuvers, OR OTHER CARDS, have no effect." (Capitalization of ". . . or other cards . . ." done for emphasis, not "shouting.") As Star Fleet Battle Force operates within the technological database of Star Fleet Battles, cloaking devices impose no reduction on ESG damage.

By Xander Fulton (Dderidex) on Saturday, July 13, 2013 - 08:55 pm: Edit

The 'discard as many cards as you want and replace them' is not in the rulebook, but it's on the 'sequence of play' sheet. "Step 4: Attack" lists the two things that players can do INSTEAD of an attack as:

By Kenneth Thomas (Ohssurvivor) on Saturday, November 30, 2013 - 11:46 pm: Edit

When firing on the PF Flotilla, I know the summary of actions states that you can use a Scat-Pack in addition to 1Drone card, however when firing on it, can you use X Weapon + Legendary Gunner or is there a reference in the rule book being overlooked that says you cant LG during that effect

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, December 02, 2013 - 01:45 pm: Edit

Kenneth Thomas:

Nothing I can see in the rulebook prevents you from using the Legendary Weapons Officer card on the PF flotilla. You are firing a Weapon card at the flotilla, and he modifies weapon cards that are not modified by other cards (overload, etc.). So I am unsure why you would think he would work any differently against the PF Flotilla Card as you are just massing damage points against it.

By Kenneth Thomas (Ohssurvivor) on Monday, December 02, 2013 - 04:00 pm: Edit

SPP

Thank you for your response, i was under the impression that since the Summary card says any weapon(s) including Drone + ScatPack meant that the LWO could not be used as defensive against it. It is one of those questionable things in my mind as to how it works because of the Summary sheet and the way its listed on there.

By Glenn Hoepfner (Ikabar) on Friday, March 28, 2014 - 10:21 am: Edit

SPP
I don't know if this has been asked before but in CL#41 (I think) there is an "Add a weapon" card and that card stays with the ship until the ship is destroyed. Does the card count as an additional hit for damage purposes? Or is it simply gone when the original ship has been destroyed?

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, March 28, 2014 - 12:56 pm: Edit

Glenn Hoepfner:

It only adds a weapon for purposes of being able to use weapon cards specific to the added weapon. It does not count as an additional damage point. Otherwise the card would also add an additional victory point for destroying the ship.

By Glenn Hoepfner (Ikabar) on Friday, March 28, 2014 - 01:21 pm: Edit

Sounds logical to me. Thanks SPP
Could that be a part of the errata since (naive as I am), it could be a question?
Still, logical it is.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Wednesday, October 01, 2014 - 07:40 pm: Edit

You might check the master index of the site and find the battleforce page which has a lot of new cards and rules.

By Larry Lawhon (Elkhunter358) on Wednesday, March 04, 2015 - 02:24 am: Edit

In a game recently, player A was down to only one ship remaining, a B10. Player B made an attack on this ship that was reduced by a wild weasel card being played. During player A's subsequent turn, is it allowed to replace the B10's attack with a card draw (since the B10 is under weasel restrictions) or is the attack phase skipped entirely including the substitutions (formation change & card draw) because of the weasel and the fact that the weaseled ship is his only one left?

By Glenn Hoepfner (Ikabar) on Wednesday, March 04, 2015 - 12:29 pm: Edit

Quote from captains log 26.
"ON-LINE GAMING
We are currently negotiating a deal that (if it happens) would bring Star Fleet Battle Force to the realm of on-line gaming. This particular web site charges 25¢ to play a game against several
live opponents. If this deal works and the game site proves popular, we may provide the site with many new cards that it is not practical to actually print. Those “must play” cards that don’t work in a real deck could be handled by the computer, which would keep everyone honest about them. If this deal materializes, we will have announcements on the web site and a link to the site."

Since this was 2003, I presume it didn't work out. Or is it still pending after 12 years.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation