Archive through May 02, 2010

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E COMPUTER PROJECTS: F&E with Vassal: Archive through May 02, 2010
By Bill Carroll (Peewee) on Friday, July 03, 2009 - 10:36 pm: Edit

Thank you everyone for your input. Lots of good ideas. We have started just putting our battles on one mat and concentrating on our own forces. Not sure secret setup would even change our setups, we have our plans pretty worked out ahead of time. I put my name on on of the other threads for spreadsheet ideas. We are using one Paul made but just wondering if guys have any better ideas. Couple of questions on the vassel module, what is the function of the racial summary, unit summary and compots tab on the toolbar? When I hit it the system sits and thinks for a time and then brings up a long string of pieces followed by a series of acronyms and numbers, just wondering what the game use is. Sorry about the basic questions but I'm a beginner trying to get a handle on this game.

By James Lowry (Rindis) on Tuesday, July 07, 2009 - 01:34 pm: Edit

The racial [empire] and unit summaries are supposed to bring up summaries of all the units currently in the game. I haven't been looking at it much as performance is currently too horrible to bother with much. I did look at it recently, and noticed some real problems. I need to document them and send it off to the Vassal people to see what's going on, as well as remind one of the lead guys that he wanted to figure out what was wrong with the performance.

It'll always be a bit overgrown for easy browsing (nature of the beast), but hopefully someday you can do things like double-check the current number of limited production ships, and find just where all your tugs (or whatever) have wandered off to.

The string of numbers should be just about the same as the tag that appears above the mouse-over stack viewer. Hex : SE : AF-DF (fighters) [replacement fighters] EW Troops