SO Reports already processed

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E WARBOOK: Warbook Update – Strategic Operations (SO) : SO Reports already processed
  Subtopic Posts   Updated
Archive through June 10, 2022  44   08/02 04:44pm

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Friday, June 10, 2022 - 10:11 pm: Edit

Then they function as CPCs. Somebody put a note in the SIT file for R7.

By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Saturday, June 11, 2022 - 03:46 pm: Edit

FROM CAPLOG#43:
Q: Did the ability of theater transports (TTs) change in F&E 2010 in so far as how they carry PDUs? Rule (539.72) of Strategic Operations states that a single theater transport can carry and deploy one PDU.
A: Changes were made! In F&E 2010 many previous rules were consolidated, updated, and even changed. Under (509.1-K1) groups of three theater transports can deliver a PDU (509.22). A re-study of the engineering showed that no single theater transport could manage the delivery and installation of a PDU.


Change (539.72) last sentence to: Two theater transport (with a “U”) can carry (and deploy) one PDU/PGB/IDU. One theater transport (with a “U”) can carry (and deploy) one base module.

Justification. Two TT matche the ability of an LTT to carry and deploy a PDU.

(539.72) CARRYING PODs: Most Theater Transports (TT) (those with a “U” in the special functions spot on the counter) can carry a single pod or pallet, but none of them can use it (not even to transport EPs or supplies). This could be done to move (for example) a battle pod out of an isolated supply grid and into the main supply grid without using a tug or LTT. A theater transport carrying a heavy pod is considered “overloaded” (517.44).
The Federation DWT and all HDWTs cannot carry a pod, pallet, module, PDU/PGB/IDU, or MB, and as such do not have a “U” on the counter; these units can still perform any other TT mission as permitted under (509.1). The Tholian FCR and CPC are theater transports (and the 3CPC counter functions as a tug).
Three theater transports (with a “U”), working together, can move a mobile base; installing it defers to (509.23) and would take three TTs one turn or one TT three turns. A theater transport (with a “U”) can carry (and deploy) one PDU/PGB/IDU or one base module.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Saturday, June 11, 2022 - 10:50 pm: Edit

We just changed it from 2TT to 3TT when the ten best F&E minds on the planet decided 3 was the right number. No further changes.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Friday, June 17, 2022 - 04:50 am: Edit

(542.12) Typo: Rom KER should be KRE. FEDS - 17 JUN 22

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Tuesday, August 02, 2022 - 04:44 pm: Edit

JUST TO BE CLEAR, anything in this topic is done or isn't going to get done. If I still need to do something, post it in the regular place.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Thursday, July 28, 2022 - 01:08 pm: Edit

FEDS RECOMMENDS Re-numbering and titling these ADDITIONAL missions [to match the formatting of of ENG FUNCTIONS of 541.33) above] as follows:

(541.341) to read: "(541.34A) SIDS Repair:"
(541.342) to read: "(541.34B) Planetary Recovery:"
(541.343) to read: "(541.34C) Planet Capture/Annexation:"
(541.344) to read: "(541.34D) SAF Surrogate:"
(541.345) to read: "(541.34E) Ground Assault Support:"

DONE. TOOK OVER THREE HOURS TO SEARCH EVERY F&E RULEBOOK FOR REFERENCES TO THAT RULE TO MAKE SURE CHANGING IT WASN'T GOING TO BE A PROBLEM. THAT IS ALL I GOT DONE FOR THE LAST SEVERAL DAYS.

By Alex Chobot (Alendrel) on Thursday, June 16, 2022 - 03:42 pm: Edit

DONE

(541.34) Mission A - Regarding the timing of SIDS repairs performed by an engineer regiment: The rule says the repairs are done "by spending one entire turn in the hex of a base", but there is not a general "end of turn actions" nor a specific entry in the SOP to define exactly when this repair occurs.


======

FEDS: Add text: ENG SIDS repair actions are initiated and concluded in PHASE 2A: REPAIR ACTIONS; see SoP (105.0).

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Tuesday, July 26, 2022 - 03:28 pm: Edit

DONE

(675.B21) CHANGE to text:
FROM: "Neutral Zone hexes 2101-1903"
TO: "Neutral Zone hexes 2101-2002"

===========

(675.C2) CORRECT title typos; should be sector "C" not "D".

============

(675.C4) CORRECT title typos; should be sector "C" not "D".

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Tuesday, August 02, 2022 - 05:20 pm: Edit

Revised Text


(453.2) MOVEMENT

(453.21) SELF-MOVEMENT: The primary difference between an operational base (OPB) and a mobile base (MB) is that the ops base can move itself at a speed of three hexes per turn. If moved in this way, an OPB is always “set up” and ready for action. It has a command rating of six. An OPB cannot enter a hex containing enemy units. If enemy units react into its hex, it is considered “set up” for combat purposes. It cannot “pin” passing enemy units. OPBs cannot use operational movement and then move or be moved strategically during the same player turn.

(453.22) MOVED BY TUG: Tugs (not LTTs) can be assigned to move; this mission assignment is similar to assigning a tug to move an FRD (mission F). When carried by a tug or moved in strategic movement, an operational base is always “set up” when in combat. An OPB cannot use self-movement, and/or strategic movement, and/or movement by a tug on the same player-turn.

(453.23) STRATEGIC MOVEMENT: An OPB uses strategic movement as a convoy (i.e., it is limited to 12 hexes per turn). If a tug is assigned to move the OPB, then the combination uses strategic movement like a ship.

(453.24) RETREAT: An OPB can retreat as a slow unit even if towed by a tug. It cannot “withdraw” unless towed by a tug.

(453.25) OPERATIONAL MOVEMENT: An OPB can move operationally three hexes by self-movement or 6 hexes via an assigned tug but not both.

(453.26) REACTION MOVEMENT: An OPB cannot use reaction movement even if assigned to a tug.

(453.27) RETROGRADE MOVEMENT: OPBs can retrograde three hexes as a slow unit or six hexes if a tug is assigned to it.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Tuesday, July 26, 2022 - 08:46 pm: Edit

(453.21) FEDS RECOMMENDS MODIFYING the rule as follows (modifications in RED):

(453.21) GENERAL: The primary difference between an OPB and a Mobile Base is that the OPB can move itself at a speed of three hexes per turn. If moved in this way, an OPB is always “set up” and ready for action. It has a command rating of six. It cannot enter a hex containing enemy units. If enemy units react into its hex, it is considered “set up”. It cannot “pin.” OPBs cannot use operational movement and then move or be moved strategically during the same player turn.

(453.22) MOVED BY TUG: Tugs (not LTTs) can be assigned to move; this mission assignment is similar to assigning a tug to move an FRD (mission F).

(453.23) STRATEGIC MOVEMENT: An OPB uses Strategic Movement as a convoy (i.e., it is limited to 12 hexes per turn) if self-moved. If a tug is assigned to move the OPB, then the combination move strategically like a ship.

(453.24) RETREAT: An Operational Base can retreat as a slow unit even if towed by a tug. It cannot “withdraw” unless towed by a tug.

(453.25) OPERATIONAL MOVEMENT: An OPB can move operationally three hexes by self-movement or 6 hexes via an assigned tug but not both.

(453.26) REACTION MOVEMENT: An OPB cannot use reaction movement even if assigned to a tug.

(453.27) RETROGRADE MOVEMENT: OPBs can retrograde three hexes as a slow unit or six hexes if a tug is assigned to it.


ORIGINAL TEXT FOR REFERENCE:

Quote:

(453.21) SELF-MOVEMENT: The primary difference between an Ops Base and a Mobile Base is that the Ops Base can move itself at a speed of three hexes per turn. If moved in this way, an Ops Base is always “set up” and ready for action. It has a command rating of six. It cannot enter a hex containing enemy units. If enemy units react into its hex, it is considered “set up”. It cannot “pin.” OPBs cannot use operational movement and then move or be moved strategically during the same player turn.

(453.22) MOVED BY TUG: When carried by a tug, or moved in Strategic Movement, an operational base is always “set up” when in combat. An ops base cannot use both self-movement, strategic movement, and movement by a tug on the same player-turn.

(453.23) STRATEGIC MOVEMENT: An Ops Base uses Strategic Movement as a convoy (i.e., it is limited to 12 hexes per turn).

(453.24) RETREAT: An Operational Base can retreat as a slow unit. It cannot “withdraw” unless towed by a tug.





================

FEDS RECOMMENDS adding this text:
(453.34) A tug is not required to be included in a battle force with its towed OPB; the base is considered to “set up” already.

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Wednesday, July 27, 2022 - 01:12 am: Edit

PER STRATCON 2022 DISCUSSION for ON MAP SURVEY (542.34)

It was discussed and recommended to reformat the following rule to have subrules and subtitles...here is the suggestion:


(542.34) ON-MAP SURVEY: Survey ships can conduct survey missions on the map itself instead of only in the off map region, but this is by an entirely different method than off map survey. This can be in the territory of the owning empire, captured territory, or (with permission of an ally) allied territory. [In which case, the EPs do not go to the treasury unless the survey ship is connected to the main grid. They would have to be transported from the nearest allied base.]

(542.341) Procedure: To conduct an on-map survey, the survey ship must move (by Operational Movement only) to a hex which does not contain a planet, base, or colony. It must take no other function for one entire game turn, at the end of which (in the Economic Phase of the next player turn) the player receives one EP (subject to a percentage reduction by Economic Exhaustion). If the survey ship (or its fighters/PFs) participates in combat (even against a raider or pirate) no EPs are gained from the survey.

(542.342) Restrictions: No more than one survey ship may survey a given hex in a given turn. No hex may be surveyed more often than once every five turns. The Romulans cannot conduct on-map surveying of “the new provinces” (603.15) until they have been explored.

===============================

NOTES: There is no actual proposed changes to this rule only difference besides the numbering and titles is the one line about combat is related to the survey procedure and was moved to that subrule.

===============================

ORIGINAL TEXT FOR REFERENCE:

(542.34) ON-MAP SURVEY: Survey ships can conduct survey missions on the map itself instead of only in the off map region, but this is by an entirely different method than off map survey. This can be in the territory of the owning empire, captured territory, or (with permission of an ally) allied territory. [In which case, the EPs do not go to the treasury unless the survey ship is connected to the main grid. They would have to be transported from the nearest allied base.] To conduct an on-map survey, the survey ship must move (by Operational Movement only) to a hex which does not contain a planet, base, or colony. It must take no other function for one entire game turn, at the end of which (in the Economic Phase of the next player turn) the player receives one EP (subject to a percentage reduction by Economic Exhaustion). No more than one survey ship may survey a given hex in a given turn. If the survey ship (or its fighters/PFs) participates in combat (even against a raider or pirate) no EPs are gained from the survey. No hex may be surveyed more often than once every five turns. The Romulans cannot conduct on-map surveying of “the new provinces” (603.15) until they have been explored.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Thursday, July 28, 2022 - 01:42 pm: Edit

Renumbering rules is a BAD idea. You litterally have to run a manual search for the old rule number in all 60 chapters of all 10 rulebooks.

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Wednesday, July 27, 2022 - 01:42 am: Edit

PER STRATCON 2022 DISCUSSION: PROPOSAL FOR ADDITIONAL HOPSITAL SHIP MISSION (451.3) - This is a new rule and ability but concept is based on existing rules and abilities.

PROPOSAL:

(451.33) NON-COMBAT SUPPORT: As an extension to (522.5) a hospital ship may during the repair phase of the SOP (2A) attempt to “heal” wounded Prime Teams. When wounded Prime Team is in the same hex as the hospital ship a player may pay 1.0 EP to roll one die, with 1-2 indicating that the unit remains wounded and 3-6 meaning that the unit is restored to duty. Each hospital ship may make one such attempt per turn (in addition to either of the above missions). Failure to heal the unit means the player can, during Operational or Strategic movement, send the unit to the Capital hex per (522.5) or leave the unit with the Hospital ship and spend the EPs to try again next turn.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++

NOTES: The discussion centered around the ability to heal PT units using these ships 'outside' the capital hex. The cost is the same for healing but the discussion was to introduce a level of risk (thus the die roll). To eliminate this risk the PT can still be sent to the Capital. This adds additional use to the Hospital ship and provided a similar value as the combat mission.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++

Relative Rule from CO:
(522.5) WOUNDED PRIME TEAMS
These must be transported to the owning player’s capital, where they are restored to full status at a cost of one EP. They can use strategic movement for this trip (522.2) but must stop in the capital to be restored and cannot leave the capital again on that turn. If they cannot move to the capital, they cannot be restored to operational status. Note that the capital is not required to have a shipyard, so even a new temporary capital can restore prime teams. Wounded prime teams are restored during the repair phase of the SOP (2A) of the next owning player turn.

=============


FEDS CONCURS.


Game's Overwrought Designer does NOT concur. You are confused by the term "wounded" and are trying to use it as it would apply to one person. When the TEAM is "wounded" someone is dead, someone is permanently disabled, and others have serious injurie which prevent them EVER returning to duty. The concept of "going back to the capital to heal" means they are integrating new team member and training to work as a team.

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Wednesday, July 27, 2022 - 02:08 am: Edit

PER STRATCON 2022 DISCUSSION: PROPOSAL FOR CLARIFICATION AND REVISION INCLUDING SUBTITLES AND SUBRULES TO DIPLOMACY MISSION (540.24 RELEASE OF INTERNED SHIPS)

SUGGESTED REPLACEMENT:

(540.24) NEGOTIATE RELEASE: A diplomatic team in a neutral empire’s territory could attempt to negotiate the release of one interned ship each turn.

(540.241) Procedure: Roll a die during the Economic Phase of the player owning the team. A die roll of “1” or “2” indicates the ship is released. A die roll of 3-5 indicates that negotiations are dragging on, while a “6” indicates that the ship is instead given to an enemy of the original owner. If used to negotiate the release of an enemy's ship, add one to the die roll.

(540.242) Release Point: If successful, the released ship is placed at the border edge (at any neutral zone border hex between them and the neutral empire) of the recipient's choosing. The first hex of movement for this released ship must be into the recipient's territory.

(540.243) Restrictions: This mission cannot release the one interned ship needed to keep the Orion province neutral. No ships can be interned in the WYN cluster as they will simply confiscate the ship and add it to their navy.

(540.244) Alternative (Optional): Rather than being able to negotiate for 'any' interned ships, players could agree diplomatic teams are restricted to only negotiate for their own empire's ships or for those of their allies. With this option failure rolls would indicate that the ships instead are retained by the Permanent Neutral / Future Belligerent and immediately scrapped for salvage. These funds would be available for use by the Future Belligerent as diplomatic income. (Rationale: Introduction of F&E expansions such as ISC War, Minor Empires, and Civil Wars have allowed more of these entities to enter the war and need economy.)

==========================

NOTES: This rule was discussed during playtest of the Winds of Fire scenario as strategy for a specific situation. In this discussion it was identified this rule needed subrules and to add a clarification regarding the release point of the ships where the rule was previously silent. Additionally it came up that with the introduction of Minor Empires and other Future Belligerents there should be an option to allow the these neutral territories to gain some sorely needed additional income so the player option of (540.244) was proposed as a new add-on to this rule. ADB could decide to leave this option out of SO. New rules are in RED.

==========================

EXISTING RULE INCLUDED FOR REFERENCE:

(540.24) RELEASE: A diplomatic team in a neutral empire’s territory could attempt to negotiate the release of one interned ship each turn. Roll a die during the Economic Phase of the player owning the team. A die roll of “1” or “2” indicates the ship is released, while a “6” indicates that the ship is instead given to an enemy of the original owner. A die roll of 3-5 indicates that negotiations are dragging on and the team can (but doesn’t have to) roll again on the next turn. This mission cannot release the one interned ship needed to keep the Orions neutral. If used to release an enemy ship, add one to the die roll. No ships can be interned in the WYN cluster as they will simply confiscate the ship and add it to their navy.

===========

FEDS CONCURS.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Wednesday, August 03, 2022 - 03:10 pm: Edit

The proposed 244 rule was rejected as unnecessary, complicated, and subject to weird things happening.

The 242 rule was done with the current procedure of releasing the ship where it was held, which may be a hex or more away from where the proposed rule would have put it.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Thursday, July 28, 2022 - 01:22 pm: Edit

(451.31) FEDS RECOMMENDS adding Text:

(451.317) Planetary recovery actions are initiated in PHASE 2A: REPAIR ACTIONS and are concluded in PHASE 1A: CONDUCT PLANETARY/SYSTEM CHECKS; see SoP (105.0).

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Friday, July 29, 2022 - 02:00 am: Edit

Slight wording change to the above suggested rule:

Original suggestion:
(540.242) Release Point: If successful, the released ship is placed at the border edge (at any neutral zone border hex between them and the neutral empire) of the recipient's choosing. The first hex of movement for this released ship must be into the recipient's territory.

Updated suggestion:
(540.242) Release Point: If successful, the released ship is placed at any neutral zone border hex (shared with the neutral power) of the recipient's choosing. The first hex of movement for this released ship must be into the recipient's own territory.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Note: I re-read this and figured I could refine the sentence to not only be slightly shorter but keep/improve the clarity.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Wednesday, August 03, 2022 - 12:24 am: Edit

540.242: I do not concur. The ship is where it is. Move it from where it was interned. (Thinking about the idea that the interning power might slowly move the ship to their capital.)

540.244: I do not concur that this is needed or a good idea. If you want to try again with a lot better explanation of which this is needed not just "something we could add" then you can try again, but I'm already against the whole idea of negotiating for allies.

By Gary Carney (Nerroth) on Wednesday, August 03, 2022 - 10:47 am: Edit

(540.244): According to (625.515) in ISC War, the Inter-Stellar Concordium began running their economy at a "wartime" level in Spring Y181, in order to pay for the massive increase in ships and support units needed to carry out the Pacification campaign. With this in mind, if the ISC (while still neutral during the General War) scraps any interned Coalition or Alliance ships for salvage during this "wartime" buildup, are they permitted to retain this supplemental income by the onset of the Driving Winds scenario?

According to the rationale given in this optional rule, the onus appears to be on neutral powers which "enter the war" - by which I assume is meant to be the General War itself. But since the ISC are demonstrated as having used the final years of that war to build up in preparation for launching their own subsequent effort to act as self-declared Octant-wide peacekeepers, I wonder if a partial exception might be considered for this particular situation.

FEDS fails to understand what problem is trying to be fixed with this rule.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Wednesday, August 03, 2022 - 01:50 pm: Edit

Since I rejected 540.244 Gary's comment doesn't matter.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Friday, August 05, 2022 - 04:51 am: Edit

(453.22) FEDS recommends rephrasing the last line to read:

An OPB cannot use operational, retreat, and retrograde movement (either self-movement or tug assisted) and strategic movement on the same player-turn.


RATIONALE: Consistency. The recommendations uses the same procedures for tug assignment as used for FRDs. Otherwise, we will need to create a new tug mission with differing assignment procedures and limitations. Currently, the flexible tug rules permits assignment of tugs during various phases for a given FRD (mission F). As a result, an FRD could move one hex via self-movement on its own during operational movement and then be assigned an available, co-hex tug during retreat phase (an FRD cannot retreat without a tug assigned to help it do so).
ADDITIONAL EXPLANATION: SO and OPBs were introduced in 2006 while the flexible assignment rules introduced in F&E2KX.


Current wording for reference:

Quote:

(453.22) MOVED BY TUG: Tugs (not LTTs) can be assigned to move; this mission assignment is similar to assigning a tug to move an FRD (mission F). When carried by a tug or moved in strategic movement, an operational base is always “set up” when in combat. An OPB cannot use self-movement, and/or strategic movement, and/or movement by a tug on the same player-turn.


By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Friday, August 05, 2022 - 04:01 pm: Edit

I can see what you are trying to accomplish (using tugs for retreat or retrograde), but you accidentally changed a key rule in a way that cannot be changed.

Your wording would allow self and tug movement during the same operational phase, a key no-no.

The best I can offer is that an FRD that used self or tug movement in operations can use tugs in retreat/retrograde. THUS:

(453.22) MOVED BY TUG: Tugs (not LTTs) can be assigned to move; this mission assignment is similar to assigning a tug to move an FRD (mission F). When carried by a tug or moved in strategic movement, an operational base is always “set up” when in combat. An OPB cannot use self-movement, and/or strategic movement, and/or operational movement by a tug on the same player-turn. It could use a tug during retreat or retrograde movement even if it moved by itself in operational movement.

I could (if I wanted to be more precise but more verbose) replace

An OPB cannot use self-movement, and/or strategic movement, and/or operational movement by a tug on the same player-turn.

with

An OPB cannot use self-movement and tug movement during the same operational movement step. An OPB cannot use self-movement or tug movement during a player turn in which it used strategic movement.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Friday, August 05, 2022 - 04:05 pm: Edit

Here is the final text.

(453.22) MOVED BY TUG: Tugs (not LTTs) can be assigned to move an OPB; this mission assignment is functionally the same as assigning a tug to move an FRD (mission F). When carried by a tug or moved in strategic movement, an operational base is always “set up” when in combat. An OPB cannot use self-movement and tug-assisted movement during the same operational movement step. An OPB cannot use strategic movement during a player turn in which it used self-movement or tug-assisted movement. It could use tug-assistance during retreat or retrograde movement even if it moved by itself in operational movement.

FEDS: Looks good - thanks.

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Thursday, August 11, 2022 - 09:43 am: Edit

Not sure if this made it in.

(451.32) COMBAT SUPPORT
In mission #2 (451.31 - Combat Support) reference to use on Allied personnel is not specified (neither allowed nor restricted). Define if this Hospital Ship mission can be used on allied personnel (or not) during combat.

Original Rule as stated:
(451.32) COMBAT SUPPORT: A hospital ship can be held in the support echelon of a fleet (vulnerable to directed damage at 3:1 without maulers). They are able to attempt to “heal” dead or wounded G-factors, Admirals, Generals, Diplomatic Teams, or Prime Teams. When such a unit in the same hex as the hospital ship is destroyed-or-killed, roll one die, with 1-3 indicating that the unit cannot be helped and 4-6 meaning that the unit is restored to duty. Each hospital ship may make one such attempt per battle round, and each hospital ship can only support combat at a single planet of a multi-planet system.

Rationale: (possible support for?)
In mission #1 (451.31 - "expedited' Devastation Recovery) Hospital ships are mentioned to work on Allied planets.
"...A hospital ship can be used to help allied planets recover, but a Federation CLH cannot use Emergency Movement (451.22) to reach allied planets."


L BERGEN - 11 AUG 2022

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Thursday, August 11, 2022 - 03:17 pm: Edit

Damage to 675 repaired.

Simone is doing the covers and hopes to have them by this weekend.

I had sent the staff a question about 675.E33 on 20 July, but they never answered. They added something that doesn't sound right. If I don't hear from them I will just delete what they added. OTHER THAN THIS I'M DONE AND READY TO SPIN UP THE PDF.

Lar, that cannot be done on allied units, and the healing of prime teams was deleted entirely. PTs must go to the capital as per their own rules.

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Friday, August 12, 2022 - 01:19 am: Edit

SVC thanks for the clarification about allies.

Since there is no wounded (crippled) side to any other personnel unit listed in 451.32, I will assume the 'or wounded' was also removed.

Congrats on putting wraps on another module for the greatest game in the SFU!

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation