F&E Basic Set - Section 200 Reports – Movement

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E WARBOOK: Warbook Update – Basic Set: F&E Basic Set - Section 200 Reports – Movement
  Subtopic Posts   Updated

By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Saturday, June 05, 2021 - 07:39 pm: Edit

(201.0) Vudar ships use a special form of masked operational movement along the galactic barrier; (see 547.3).

(203.73) Seltorian reserves may only move to engage, enable other forces to engage, or open a supply path for friendly forces to better engage the Tholians; see (546.224).

From Minor Empires

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, June 06, 2021 - 05:55 am: Edit

(208.0) add Prime Teams (CO)‡ (522.2). Add Prime Teams (522.0) to the movement list for regular deployment under (522.2). Thomas Mathews 5 Jun 2021

(208.0) add Prime Teams: E&S Missions (PO)‡ (534.1). Add Prime Teams (522.0) to the movement list for Espionage & Sabatoge Mission deployment under (534.1). Thomas Mathews 5 Jun 2021

(208.0) add: ISC Pascification Stations (ISC War)‡ (544.2). Adds ISC Pacification Emplacement to the list. Thomas Mathews 5 Jun 2021

(208.0) add: Vudar Ships(ME)‡ (547.3). Adds Vudar galactic barrier movement rule under (547.3) to the list. Thomas Mathews 5 Jun 2021

By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Sunday, June 06, 2021 - 06:58 pm: Edit

(204.24) add reference to Op Base‡ Op Bases are treated in all respects as a mobile base for purposes of strategic movement. Thus only one tug could move the Op Base. Thomas Mathews 26 May 2011

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Tuesday, June 08, 2021 - 12:59 pm: Edit

(200) One ship of a reserve fleet was left behind to resolve pinning while moving to a qualified objective hex. Does this ship count as "reserves sent to the hex" for purposes of withdrawal before combat? Ruling: The target hex for the reserve fleet is elsewhere. The ship(s) left behind are no longer reserve units since it (they) did not reach the designated reserve hex. The Reserve Movement rules state that if a reserve fleet cannot reach its objective, it cannot be used as a reserve force. The pinning ship(s) left behind in a non-objective hex are no longer a reserve, and as such, they are eligible for withdrawal before combat.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Tuesday, June 08, 2021 - 03:30 pm: Edit

(203.5) This rule requires leaving ships behind equal to the enemy, so a single non-fast ship can pin a single fast ship because the fast ship cannot leave half of itself behind in the hex.
(203.742) does indeed state that no more than one half of the Reserve Fleet may be left behind, fractions rounded down. A review by the staff, however, could not agree on the answer to the question "half of what?" However, Steve Cole has come to realize that sophisticated F&E players are capable of dealing with simple fractions. Therefore, the "round down" phrase is removed from the rule. You have to leave 5.5 to get through the hex (if you have carriers/tenders that work out), and in this case, you can leave 5.5 (since it is half of 11, the fighters are half of a pin point, and that rounding thing that confused everybody went away), so you’re good to go.
(204.22) The moving units can never enter a hex containing enemy units or which is adjacent to a hex containing enemy units (not merely ships) except as provided below.
(204.221) The Outer Reaction Zone of units with a two-hex Reaction Zone does not block Strategic Movement.
(204.222) Units can leave (i.e., begin their strategic movement in) a hex adjacent to enemy units by Strategic Movement if they meet all other conditions.
(204.223) Units using Strategic Movement can enter a hex containing a Strategic Movement Node even if enemy units are adjacent to that node, so long as: a- The hex which the moving units entered the node hex from is a hex legal for Strategic Movement and b- The number of friendly ships in the node hex exceeds the total number of enemy ships in all adjacent hexes.
(204.38) An extra starbase built (upgraded from a smaller base) in addition to the starting starbases before a starbase is lost can be considered a replacement for a starbase lost after the time the new starbase is built.
(205.141) This rule states that crippled units may not use reaction movement. Players asked if a crippled carrier could react its fighters. This was not an obvious or simple question. To be sure, it could, but what are a few fighters going to do when they get there? Rule (501.9) allows fighters from disparate carriers to be combined for pinning purposes, but there are no rules allowing fragmentary squadrons from different carriers to be combined for other purposes. That being the case, they cannot be combined. Therefore, the ruling is that only a crippled carrier with six fighter factors could send them as a reaction force in this way. There is no special exception for CVEGs, which can combine fragmentary squadrons from the two crippled carriers for purpose of combat and pinning, but not reaction.
(207.292) A ship carrying EPs can make only one "translation" into, out of, or between off-map areas per turn, so a Federation tug could not enter the Kzinti off-map area, deliver EPs, and then return to the Federation off-map area on the same turn.

By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Monday, June 14, 2021 - 01:42 pm: Edit

(205.7) Add a note that the attrition units (both Fighters and PFs) can with their carrier combined only react a maximum of two hexes.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Tuesday, June 15, 2021 - 12:05 am: Edit

Thanks to Ryan, Turtle, and Mike for getting the old Q&A files steadily translated into stuff I need to fix for the warbook. This will not just help get these four books updated, but will help us get the others updated when their turns arrive.

By Paul Howard (Raven) on Tuesday, August 03, 2021 - 03:28 pm: Edit

Copied here as it's a 200 Rule number (203.73) - was in the 300 Section.

(302.32) Reserve Sequencing: Players have asked if the assignment of objectives to Reserve Fleets is simultaneous or sequential. The question comes up when a Hydran force attacks the Lyran base at 0413. Two Klingon reserve fleets at 1013 want to intervene. The Hydran BATS at 0714 does not block the reserve force, but once that reserve reaches 0413 it would be out of supply because of 0714. The second reserve could then move to 0714 to open the supply path (203.731). Rule (203.732) shows that assignment is not simultaneous and that this is legal.

I did appeal the ruling back in 2005 - but I can't find it was ever confirmed or denied.

However, it does not seem logical that a player can deliberately put one of their own reserve forces 'out of supply' and then to use another reserve force to re-open supply to it - in effect they are choosing to put a force 'out of supply' and then can get a benefit from it, which the opposing player is unable to react to or do anything about?

If the rule said within 203.731 -
"Forces out of supply prior to any reserve movement can have a reserve force go to a hex with enemy forces blocking supply, to re-open a supply in to. This exception....."


Several players back in 2005 did agree that allowing the reserve player to move 'out of supply' and then attacking enemy bases to re-open supply was illogical, very cheesy and/or not good for the game.

Can a simple correction please therefore be made?


Add a Message


This is a private posting area. A valid username and password combination is required to post messages to this discussion.
Username:  
Password:

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation