Subtopic | Posts | Updated | ||
![]() | 433.43 Romulan Modular Ships | 13 | 06/02 09:24pm |
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Saturday, June 05, 2021 - 07:46 pm: Edit |
(422.6) Repair Ships and Pods: LDR, Seltorian, and Vudar forces can use mobile repair units; see their respective OOBs for specific dates and restrictions.
(431.31) The Seltorians cannot overbuild M-Hulls and M-Booms until the have an access to a medium or major shipyard. L-Hulls and L-Booms cannot be overbuilt.
FRom Minor Empires
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Saturday, June 05, 2021 - 08:06 pm: Edit |
(422.6) Repair Ships: the ISC has three.
(431.31) The ISC can overbuild CAs.
(433.15) The ISC can perform a second major conversion.
From ISC War
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Sunday, June 06, 2021 - 12:32 am: Edit |
Nick G. Blank (Nickgb) on Sunday, May 14, 2006 - 10:38 am: Edit
Rules (430.7) and (652.3) could use a clarification that income reduced by economic exhaustion is planetary/provincial/colonial EPs only, other sources of money like salvage, transfers from allies, WYN trade revenue, commercial convoys, etc... is not reduced by economic exhaustion status.
This used to be very clear as planets and provinces were the only sources of income, but the game has added many more sources that are received during the turn that exhaustion does not apply to.
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Sunday, June 06, 2021 - 12:59 am: Edit |
(422.5). Recommend adding to rule clarification about Homeless/Adopted ships. Something like, Unlike bases, FRDs and PRDs they cannot repair allied ships (including homeless/adopted allied ships).
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Sunday, June 06, 2021 - 01:11 am: Edit |
(412.1) Add Stellar Fortress.
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Sunday, June 06, 2021 - 01:21 am: Edit |
Robert Padilla (Zargan) on Monday, August 05, 2002
(413.441) If a Partial Supply Grid is, at some point, reconnected with the main Supply Grid, it can but is not required to send its remaining supplies to the capital in the Economic Phase.
Supplies should be changed to EPs.
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Sunday, June 06, 2021 - 06:49 pm: Edit |
(433.411) refers to (302.212) which as been changed to rules regarding bases in the same location, rather than multi system as (433.411) is referring to. Perhaps a clarification is necessary in (302.212)? Adam Hickey July 15 2010
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Sunday, June 06, 2021 - 07:14 pm: Edit |
(431.745) Free Fighter Factors can only be used for production within the main supply grid that contains the primary shipyard for that empire. Stewart W Frazier (Frazikar2) on Sunday, April 21, 2013 - 11:21 pm:
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Tuesday, June 08, 2021 - 12:57 pm: Edit |
(000): Can Partial Grids use Deficit Spending (430.6)? After all, they may have their own Treasury (413.4), although they’d certainly be limited by (430.62). How about Advanced Deficit Spending (447.0)? Ruling: Deficit Spending of any type is only allowed in the Main Supply Grid. This represents the central government location where they can obtain credit. Can you see a bank loaning money to a cutoff area and expecting that area to pay them back in a combat situation?
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Tuesday, June 08, 2021 - 01:22 pm: Edit |
(433.41) covers upgrading a mobile base to a battle station and upgrading a battle station to a starbase. The problem is, nothing in the rule says how long this takes. Various statements in the rule clearly show it takes some time (as things can happen during that time, such as destroying the tug). We apologize for sloppy writing. Each upgrade step takes one complete game turn, but you can start the next upgrade at the point you finish the previous one, so a mobile base placed on Turn #1 could be a starbase on Turn #4.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Tuesday, June 08, 2021 - 03:36 pm: Edit |
(410.5) The host of eligible homeless ships can choose each turn which eligible homeless ships are supported for that given turn (410.511) and can change these selections every turn per (410.562). A homeless support line set up for a carrier can supply a non-carrier but any "carrier resources" for that turn are lost. A homeless support line for a non-carrier can be used for a carrier but no replacement fighters can be provided and the fighters would be treated as being out of supply.
(411.4) Trade with the WYN Cluster is a complicated matter. A ship that ends the turn in the Cluster is given enough supplies by the WYN to leave the Cluster, but once it has left, it is subject to the normal supply rules. Therefore, the ship must be able to obtain supplies in the hex it enters when leaving the Cluster or it is out of supply and treated as such.
(411.7) Expeditionary Bases: Federation players have taken to sending a tug to build a base in the Kzinti capital and want to know just what the supply status is if there is no direct path. A base, once it is in place, provides its own supplies for itself (410.4) by virtue of the fact that it is a base and has a catering detachment on board. However, ships are another matter. Ships stacked with bases are in supply (410.4) but not when the base is in allied territory (410.54) since the allies object to the base looting supplies from surrounding territory. (A base in your own territory simply charges the supplies to the government while a base in enemy territory just takes what it needs as spoils of war.) You would have to declare the base and all of the ships as expeditionary units to keep them in supply. You cannot just declare the base to be expeditionary and then have it supply the "cut off" ships without paying the expeditionary cost. The base cannot be upgraded unless it is also in expeditionary status or in direct supply from the main Federation grid.
(411.71) Ships could be designated as an Expeditionary fleet without a valid supply path, although there is no benefit to doing so. You would have to pay the cost but the ships still wouldn’t be in supply until a supply path was connected.
(412.23) This rule should say "retreats" rather than "forced to retreat." Retreat can never be forced and the wording of the rule refers to being compelled to do so by the tactical situation. A tug which loses this status adopts Mission M (regular warship) but cannot be assigned another mission during the current turn.
(413.41) Partial Grid Replacements: Replacement fighters are free (501.5), unless the carrier is supplied from a partial grid. A partial grid pays one EP for a dozen replacement fighters (413.41). Some players have argued that since a ship stacked on a planet is "in supply" it should get free replacement fighters. That is simply not the case and is not supported by rules. The planet pumps its EPs into the partial grid and the partial grid pays for the replacement fighters.
(413.41) The partial grid pays the cost of supplying ships during the Economic Phase. It cannot do this at any other point of the Sequence of Play.
(413.44) If a partial grid is divided into two partial grids by some event, divide the EPs in the partial grid in proportion to the number of bases and planets in each half.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Tuesday, June 08, 2021 - 03:37 pm: Edit |
(431.1) Shipyard: The capital hex is the shipyard hex. (It is curious that this common term was never defined.) For the Romulans this is 4613; for the Gorns this is 4402.
(431.5) Starbases can produce PFs and an FF at the same time.
(431.8) Substitutions: Lyrans can freely substitute the catamaran version of a scheduled trimaran, e.g., CA for DN, CL for BC, DD for CW, FF for DW. Why they would want to is not clear.
(433.22) The conversion of a captured ship to your technology counts against the capacity of the base.
(433.42) Upgrades (adding PDUs/PGBs) to a planet with at least one existing PDU/PGB are effective immediately. If the enemy comes to fight there they face all your PDUs/PGBs. Under rule (433.421) if a tug or in the case of a capital system (no tug reguired) a PDU being installed on a planet with zero (0) PDUs/PGBs is redevas-tated, then the PDU/PGB being installed is lost and the recovery clock for devastation is restarted. This is not a rule change, but rather shows that there is a difference between upgrading the number of PDUs/PGBs on a planet and placing the first PDU/PGB on a planet.
(436.0) While battleships have a few "hybrid" fighters that don’t count against the "three squadron limit", they do not pay a "conversion cost" and so the flat 36-point cost for them is used to calculate salvage. A fighterless battleship costs the same 36 points as a battleship without fighters, but does not pay for fighters.
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Saturday, June 12, 2021 - 05:49 pm: Edit |
(436.24) Change rule for clarification to the following:
See (436.33). If the ship is used in combat, it cannot be worked on during the next production step and does not lose two points for being stored.
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, June 13, 2021 - 07:06 am: Edit |
Q: May an FRD (using operational movement, either under its own power or towed) enter a hex containing a devastated neutral or enemy planet? The hex is otherwise empty and there are no defending units of any kind at the planet.
A: Let's refer to the rulebook.
(421.22) LIMITATIONS: FRDs cannot enter a hex containing enemy units.
(508.162) This residual defense factor is not a "unit" in any sense. It has no attack factor and cannot cause damage. It does not block pursuit or retreat.
By these rules, an FRD may enter a hex containing a devastated neutral or enemy planet that is otherwise empty of enemy or neutral units as a devastated planet is not a unit.
Add answer to (421.22) Limitations.
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Monday, June 14, 2021 - 09:54 am: Edit |
Q: The rules make no mention of needing to be in supply to be declared a supply point. There are numerous situations where one would want to declare a tug that is out of supply at the start of a turn as a supply point that would become a valid supply point as soon as a few ships were moved during operational movement and opened up a supply path to the tug in question. Does a tug need to be in supply at the start of a turn to be declared a supply point?
A: Based upon (412.21), (411.1), (411.2), (410.1), and (411.31) a tug is allowed to assume Mission D at the start of a turn. Then at various times throughout both player turns, the supply tug may find itself out of supply and back in supply depending of the various player actions through the full turn cycle. If the supply tug itself does not have a valid supply route open after a given supply check is made, then it may not perform its supply mission until a valid supply route is reestablished (after a given supply check is made) to the supply tug. All other supply rules apply normally.
Recommend adding the following:
(412.21) add to end of Mission D. There is no need for the tug to be in supply at the moment of declaration. Reason: The tug can be in supply later in the turn through the various actions and supply checks that occur throughout the sequence of play (105.0). Thomas Mathews 14 Jun 2021
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Tuesday, June 15, 2021 - 06:25 pm: Edit |
Copied from Stratcon CO Update Project to correct product.
Quote:(443.32) This rule also covers the CVH and NHV which had not been added to the game at the time this rule was written.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Thursday, June 17, 2021 - 02:43 pm: Edit |
(433.4) A base must be undamaged to start the upgrade process. A base could be crippled or damaged by SIDS during the upgrade process and this would cancel the upgrade. (The funds paid for the upgrade are still there, "attached" to that base, and the upgrade can resume once the base is repaired. # FEDS If a base takes SIDS during an upgrade, then the upgrade is completed normally and the SIDS points will remain with the upgraded base.
By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Thursday, June 17, 2021 - 03:53 pm: Edit |
(433.19) Change in the last sentence "less than five" to "five or less".
By John M. Williams (Jay) on Thursday, June 17, 2021 - 04:23 pm: Edit |
Question about the wording of the above note for rule 433.42.
The comment refers to rule 433.421, which is a method to add a PDU to a planet that already has them. However, the comment itself refers to a situation in which the planet does not have any PDUs. Is this a mismatch?
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Saturday, June 19, 2021 - 11:38 am: Edit |
(433.31) the Federation cannot build NAC, NVS, or NPF ships before the date in the Ship Information Tables should read: the Federation cannot build NAC, NVS, CVH, NHV, or NPF ships before the date in the Ship Information Tables. Reason: This rule also covers the CVH and NHV which had not been added to the game at the time the original rule was written. Thomas Mathews 15 Jun 2021
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Saturday, June 19, 2021 - 11:32 am: Edit |
From the lost files...
(433.4) A base must be undamaged to start the upgrade process. A base could be crippled or damaged by SIDS during the upgrade process and this would cancel the upgrade. (The funds paid for the upgrade are still there, "attached" to that base, and the upgrade can resume once the base is repaired.
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Wednesday, June 23, 2021 - 09:48 am: Edit |
MEMO FOR RECORD (431.23) PFs: Once PF production is authorized by (502.61), an unlimited number of PFs may be built at the capital. Each starbase can build six per turn; each battle station or PDU can build two per turn. See (502.2). Other bases can also produce PFs; see base stations‡ (444.0), sector bases‡ (452.0), stellar fortresses‡ (as yet unpublished), and X-versions‡ of bases (523.4).
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Friday, January 02, 2015 - 05:35 pm: Edit
REF: PF Production at Bases
This issue came up during scenario development (as this issue does not come up often but it still needs to be addressed).
Quote:
While the Capital SY, SBs, BTSs, and PDUs can build PFs as defined above, it appears that we have not defined production at other bases within their own ruleset even though they are referenced.
FEDS recommends ADB define PF production rates under (423.23) for the following bases:
Steller Fortress Bases‡ (SFB): 8 PFs
Starbases (SB): 6 PFs
Sector Bases‡ (STB): 4 PFs
Battlestations (BTS): 2 PFs
Base Stations‡ (BS): 1 PF
PDUs: 2 PFs (each)
Note: Legal X-versions of bases produce 50% more than their non-X versions (BSXs‡ can product 2PFs).
FEDS further recommend that the following units CANNOT build PFs:
Mobile Bases (MB), Operational Bases‡ (OPB), Planetary Ground Bases‡ (PGB), and Colonies‡ (but any assigned PDUs under (446.32) could).
Crippled bases cannot produce any PFs.
Please note that this is only a recommendation for ADB consideration and NOT an official FEDS ruling.
FEDS SENDS
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Wednesday, June 23, 2021 - 10:30 am: Edit |
Approved
By Paul Howard (Raven) on Friday, July 23, 2021 - 02:30 pm: Edit |
"
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Thursday, June 17, 2021 - 02:43 pm: Edit
(433.4) A base must be undamaged to start the upgrade process. A base could be crippled or damaged by SIDS during the upgrade process and this would cancel the upgrade. (The funds paid for the upgrade are still there, "attached" to that base, and the upgrade can resume once the base is repaired. # FEDS If a base takes SIDS during an upgrade, then the upgrade is completed normally and the SIDS points will remain with the upgraded base. "
Sorry - must be being thick - current rule doesn't mention about not being damaged to start the upgrade process (which may explain it being a 'lost rule'...)...
...but current rule confirms a based crippled during the upgrade process is upgraded, but is crippled.
The possible new rule seems to contradict itself
'A base could be crippled or damaged by SIDS during the upgrade process and this would cancel the upgrade' and '# FEDS If a base takes SIDS during an upgrade, then the upgrade is completed normally and the SIDS points will remain with the upgraded base. '
i.e. does a SID 'defer' (until repaired) the upgrade and once repaired, is the base upgraded automatically and immediately or is a tug required to complete the upgrade and is there a delay?
(Game effect, unless pinned out of the hex, could you just keep attacking the hex/base and do 1 SID a turn and defer the upgrade indefinitely?)
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Wednesday, July 28, 2021 - 07:26 am: Edit |
(430.22) not a disrupted captured province should read: not a disrupted or captured province. Reason a province can be disrupted or captured by a player, but not both at the same time. Thomas Mathews 28 July 2021
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Tuesday, July 26, 2022 - 07:24 pm: Edit |
Actually, a long-term captured province can be disrupted by an active enemy ship ...
By Warren Mathews (Turtle) on Thursday, December 28, 2023 - 07:36 am: Edit |
(433.44) add at end of rule: See Conversion During Repair (425.2) for an exception. Reason: Conversion During Repair results in a change in cost of a given unit converted during the repair phase. Thomas Mathews 28 Dec 2023
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |