437-440, 445 Economics

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E WARBOOK: Next Update: Fighter Operations: 437-440, 445 Economics
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Sunday, June 06, 2021 - 06:46 pm: Edit

(446.33) add reference to FDU (436.14) Thomas Mathews 14 Feb 2010

By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Sunday, June 06, 2021 - 06:47 pm: Edit

(439.16) contradicts (310.52). (310.52) is correct. Adam Hickey July 15 2010

(433.19) contradicts (433.11). (433.19) is correct. Adam Hickey July 15 2010

(440.4) rule has been brought into Basic F&E under rule (433.24). Adam Hickey July 15 2010

(440.5) rule is no longer necessary as empires now have a simple carrier limit rather than allowed substitutions. Information on limits is now on SITs. Adam Hickey July 15 2010

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Tuesday, June 08, 2021 - 03:38 pm: Edit

(439.13) Ships which were in supply at the beginning of the turn, but cannot trace a supply path at the instant of combat, are treated as "in supply" for the purpose of combat. However, such units have no supply path for the "dedicated staff officers" to recover the "destroyed" hulls for salvage, so, no salvage money.
(439.16) The reference to (314.35) should be to (314.25).
(439.16) This rule includes this statement: "Ships destroyed after single-combat [(310.0) or (504.4)] count as salvage for the winning ship if it would otherwise qualify (in supply, not adopted or expedition, etc.)." This is a fairly old rule. Since ESSC (323.0) replaced (310.0), the reference in this rule to (310.0) should be interpreted as applying to (323.0).

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Wednesday, February 17, 2016 - 07:56 am: Edit

(440.4) Reference to (424.31) should read (424.31)‡ . Depot Level Repair is in Planetary Operations and should have the ‡ symbol. This is so minor as to be of questionable value but included for consistency. Thomas Mathews 17 Feb 2016

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, July 02, 2016 - 08:00 pm: Edit

(445.14) exception (445.13) should read: exception (445.13). The period is missing at the end of the rule. Thomas Mathews 2 Jul 2016

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Monday, June 14, 2021 - 07:47 am: Edit

Q: The rules say: "The four-turn requirement for long-term capture is counted from Economic Phase to Economic Phase." Is the Economic Phase always the capturing player's phase? For example, if the Klingons captured a Federation province on Coalition Turn #10 and kept it captured without interruption, would Long-Term Capture occur on the Klingon Turn #14 Economic Phase? If Klingons capture a Federation province on Alliance Turn #10 would the Long-Term Capture also occur on the Klingon Turn #10 Economic Phase?
A: The long-term capture process begins at the very start the very next Economic Phase of the upcoming player turn. If player A is the phasing player and captures province Q, then at the start of player B's Economic Phase the long-term capture process clock begins for province Q. However, if player A is phasing but player B somehow captures province P from player A, then at the start of players B's Economic Phase the long-term capture process clock begins for province P.

Recommend the following change:

(438.11) long-term capture is counted from Economic Phase to Economic Phase should read: long-term capture is counted from the original owner's next economic phase to the next original owner's economic phase. Change is based on Q&A above. Thomas Mathews 14 Jun 2021

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Thursday, July 08, 2021 - 09:50 am: Edit

Block Forty

Q: At what point is a province considered "owned" for the purposes of (430.21) economics?
A: The first check for ownership is at the end of the current Combat Phase. If there are enemy units in the province at the end of the Combat Phase and no friendly units, the province is considered captured (430.22). Once captured, if the occupier continues the occupation, the occupier will receive one EP in each subsequent Economic Phase. If at any time before his Economic Phase the occupier does not satisfy the requirements of (430.22), then no income is generated by the province for the occupier.
Long-term capture (438.0) is counted from Economic Phase to Economic Phase with any disruption during the process, including a successful raid, resetting the clock.
Annexation (448.2) is also counted from Economic Phase to Economic Phase after long-term capture takes effect. Raids do not affect this process unless the raid eliminates the garrison of the province.

(438.11) Add to end of rule: (438.0) Long Term Capture is counted from phasing player's economics in (105.0) 1A3. Reason: The SOP (105.0-M20v1) dated 9 Mar 2020 states when to check and update the number of turns required for long term capture.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Friday, July 09, 2021 - 08:18 am: Edit

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Monday, June 14, 2021 - 07:47 am: Edit

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Thursday, July 08, 2021 - 09:50 am: Edit

Of the 2 posts listed above, use the second change only. The second one has a more correct reference. Thomas Mathews 9 July 2021

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Friday, July 09, 2021 - 02:28 pm: Edit

Block 43

Q: Are area control ships considered CVAs for build limit purposes?
A: No. Area control ships count against heavy fighter carrier and scout limits only.

(440.6) ACS: add at end of rule: These ships do not count against the CVA build limit. Reason: ACS ships count against the scout, and heavy fighter carrier limits. Thomas Mathews 9 July 2021

(440.6) DCS: add at end of rule: These ships do not count against the SCS build limit. Reason: ACS ships count against the PFT limits. Thomas Mathews 9 July 2021

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Friday, July 16, 2021 - 01:21 pm: Edit

Block Forty Seven
QUESTION: The Klingons capture a Kzinti planet, which then rebels. What happens?
ANSWER: The rebellion has no effect on annexation (448.28) which is based on when the province was occupied. For the Klingons to get income, it must both suppress the rebellion and must also wait for the second turn of the occupation. The two requirements (second turn and no rebellion) must both be satisfied. Even with a rebellion, however, the planet is part of the Klingon supply grid from the start of the next player-turn. If the Klingons had a PDU on the planet, that PDU would affect the rebellion die roll but if a rebellion happens, it would have no effect on the PDU (nor would the PDU have any effect on the ongoing rebellion). Now, if the PDU had an independent ground combat unit (IGCE) that unit could try to suppress the rebellion just like a Marine attack (537.133).

(438.2) Add at end of rule: A successful rebellion (537.15) does not disrupt the clock on the required time for long term capture. Reason: Rebellions do not disrupt the clock on LTC in the manner of a ship or base. Thomas Mathews 16 July 2021

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, July 31, 2021 - 06:20 am: Edit

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Friday, July 30, 2021 - 04:02 pm: Edit

EXCUSE ME BUT THIS ISN'T HELPING
===============
STAFF; IS ACTION NEEDED HERE?
Q: When do I calculate and spend salvage money? Does it change my limit for Advanced Deficit Spending?
A: Salvage can be calculated after every combat round, which gives you money to spend, but it does not allow you to borrow more or recalculate the limit. If you borrowed the full 20% already and spent it, then you have no money left for drone bombardment. Say then you get ten EPs of salvage; that gives you ten points for drone bombardment or field repairs, or whatever, but you cannot borrow 20% of your salvage since salvage proceeds are not part of the calculation of borrowing limits.

FEDS: Concurs.

SVC: Concurs with what? Is action needed or not? If so, what text should be added and where?

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Tuesday, July 27, 2021 - 08:46 am: Edit

I believe the above Q&A has already been addressed in (439.23) from Fighter Operations.

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Quote:

(439.23) DEFICIT SPENDING: Salvage proceeds are not included in the calculation of allowed deficit spending [(430.6) and (447.0)].
------------------------------------------------------------------------


However, a further refinement to (439.23) may be required.

WHAT WOULD THAT REFINEMENT BE?

(439.23) add at end of rule: However, salvage may be spent during the rest of the current turn for those things allowed by the rules, e.g. Drone Bombardment. Reason: The proceeds from salvage are like cash in hand. Thomas Mathews 31 July 2021


Add a Message


This is a private posting area. A valid username and password combination is required to post messages to this discussion.
Username:  
Password:

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation