Archive through February 21, 2022

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E WARBOOK: Next Update: Basic Set: Archive through February 21, 2022
By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Sunday, June 06, 2021 - 07:17 pm: Edit

(103.3) Drone bombardment uses ''' identifiers on counters and for written form, '( )' currently shown [2KX] - SWFrazier 150701 [insuring notation carried forward]

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, June 13, 2021 - 07:05 am: Edit

Deleted by author, wrong topic.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Wednesday, June 16, 2021 - 04:24 pm: Edit

(509.1-U) Drone Supply Tug‡: Each tug can carry 24 points of drone bombardment ammunition (LTTs can carry twelve points, while theater transports can carry six points). This allows drone bombardment ships to conduct a bombardment mission without a supply path. The tug can be assigned this mission (537.6) during the Phasing Player Turn at the moment it begins Operational Movement or Strategic Movement, or is placed in a Reserve Fleet, or as part of the Final Activity Phase (10C). The Romulan KRT, SPH, and FE can perform this mission, but as no Romulan ships have drones, they could only do so as part of an allied force. The drones must be paid for at the time that the mission is assigned. TURTLE

(509.1-V) Special Raid Supply Tug‡: A transport can be assigned this mission (320.25) to supply on-map out-of-supply ships while on a special raid‡ at the moment it is assigned to the raid pool‡. The transport moves with the ships. TURTLE

SVC SMELLS AN ANNEX

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Monday, June 14, 2021 - 09:32 am: Edit

SVC, the extenders would be included in the valid supply point under (412.0) quoted below where Tug would include LTT or Theater Transport:

(412.1) Definition
A supply point is a friendly battle station, starbase, mobile base, convoy, tug (serving as a supply point), or planet which is part of the Supply Grid. Other units in expansion products can also serve as supply points, including base stations‡ (444.0), sector bases‡ (452.0), operational bases‡ (453.0), stellar fortresses‡, colonial bases‡ (446.5), logistics task forces‡, X-technology‡ versions of any of the named bases, and ISC pacification stations‡.

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Friday, June 18, 2021 - 10:23 pm: Edit

(305.0) General issue - Confusion surrounding duplicative terms. Use of the terms Convert and/or Conversion in this rule when discussing the removal of previous technology then installation of the capturing empires technology AND again when discussion switching to a variant.

Recommendation: Replace the term used for the transfer over to the capturing players technology to another term (Retrofit as one possible example).

Rationale: Conversions are specific to changing a ship to a variant version. In this rule both things are described using the same terms which can be confusing.

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Friday, June 18, 2021 - 11:08 pm: Edit

RE: (509.1-U) (Drone mission) comment above. SVC brings up a good point.

In the Tac Ops thread I had mentioned that this rule may need to include the Lyrans (for the CLT) with the section for this rule where it says 'the Romulans can perform the mission in an allied force.'

I would change my recommendation from specifics to a more general version. Something along the lines of:
"Non-drone using empires can have their transports perform this mission (for instance the Romulan KRT, SPH, and FE), only doing so as part of an allied force with their drone using ally. The drones must be paid for at the time that the mission is assigned."

Rationale: The specific rule is good but there are scenarios (with different alliances) where it would warrant the more general rule.

By Ryan Opel (Feast) on Monday, July 05, 2021 - 06:08 pm: Edit

(700.0) Can always substitute a CA or CC for DN; CA for CC. Accidently dropped from 2K10

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Friday, July 09, 2021 - 03:10 pm: Edit

(653.12) Needs updating. SVC
(653.13) Needs updating. SVC
(653.14) Needs updating. SVC
(653.15) Needs updating. SVC
(653.16) Needs updating. SVC
(708.0) mention alternative in PO. SVC
(806.0) Needs updating. SVC
(809.D) ACTA. SVC

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, July 11, 2021 - 07:31 pm: Edit

Block Forty Five

Q: Rule (305.24) allows for two warring empires to exchange captured ships in neutral territory. Once the Federation enters the war, the WYN Cluster is the only neutral territory available to the Kzintis and Klingons for such an exchange, so can they do the exchange there?
A: Only if both ships are (each) six combat factors or less. The WYNs will simply steal anything bigger.

(305.24) add at end of rule: If the WYN are used as the exchange point for this option only ships with a defense factor of 6 or less may be exchanged if using WYN Trade (449.0) under (449.22). Reason: The WYN will keep any ship with a defense factor of 7 or higher to bolster their defenses. Thomas Mathews 11 July 2021

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Friday, July 16, 2021 - 11:21 am: Edit

Block Forty Five
Q: Rule (430.24) describes what happens if the enemy occupies one of my provinces then leaves. My question is just what constitutes occupation. If the enemy entered the province on a given turn, destroyed my only units in the province, and then withdrew on the same Player Turn, did he "occupy" the province or was he just passing through to attack units?
A: To "occupy" a province you have to stay in it (at least temporarily) which means leaving ships in it at the end of the combat phase (not retrograding them out).

No action needed. The existing rules are clear enough. The retrograde phase is a separate phase under the sequence of play from the combat phase. See (105.0) Phase 5 and Phase 6.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Friday, July 16, 2021 - 01:07 pm: Edit

Block Forty Seven

QUESTION: Can the B9 be used in raids? Can it mount an SFG? Two SFGs? Does it rate a new entry in the SFG table, or can we just use the B10 entry? How do the Klingons build a B9?
ANSWER: The rule says no battleships as raiders, but this one can be used in raids since it is in fact called a fast RAIDING battleship in the notes on the SIT. The SSD in SFB shows two SFGs, so it would use the B10 entry on the stasis chart. The SIT shows a direct-build cost of 30. It would take the same number of points (40) if built by the die-roll method since the "fast" surcharge equals the cost of items left out. You have to decide before the first die roll if you are building a B9 or a B10.

(436.1) add at end of rule: The actual unit to be constructed must be chosen at the time construction actually begins under (436.21) or (436.26). Reason: Player must chose between B9 or B10 at the start of construction. Thomas Mathews 16 July 2021

Recommend adding new rule: (436.5) Additional Types of Battleships: Tactical Operations provides additional battleship sized units. The construction of these units is governed by the construction rules of (436.2) and the cost of construction governed by (436.21) or (436.26) depending on upon player's choice at the beginning of the game. Reason: Tactical Operations includes battleships, fast battleships, other battleship variants for all existing major empires. Thomas Mathews 16 July 2021

(436.4) counter are in F&E Reinforcements should read: counters are in Tactical Operations. Reason: F&E Reinforcements has been discontinued and Tactical Operations contains these counters are others. Thomas Mathews 16 July 2021

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, July 17, 2021 - 07:23 pm: Edit

Block Forty Eight

Q: If a slow unit is attacked by a raid, can it auto-retrograde at some point after the raid? If so, when?
A: During the normal CEDS retrograde step, assuming it meets all qualifications to do so.

No Action Needed. This Q&A is outdated by the F&E 2010 rule (302.742C) which limits slow units to one hex only. Certain slow units would be able to retrograde if in combat during the owning player's retrograde phase.

By Paul Howard (Raven) on Sunday, July 18, 2021 - 05:39 am: Edit

Sorry if this isn't the right place to ask, but any ruling in immediate term future Q&A rulings might not make it into the Warbook.

1)


By Paul Howard (Raven) on Monday, April 19, 2021 - 07:02 am: Edit


Any chance of a ruling/confirmation from my question first asked in September 2020?

Questions (and supporting information) was : -

413.41 - Can a Partial Supply Grid Supply pay for Allied Ships and Allied Replacement Fighters?

1) Can Allied Forces benefit from 413.41? Yes/No

2) Can Homeless supply (410.5) be used in a Partial Grid? Yes/No (and if Yes, if an existing supply line that has previously been used from the Allied Empire Main Grid - can it be transferred to the Partial Grid - or would it need to be cancelled and repaid for?)

Only related question was first answered in 2008 and reconfirmed in 2012 (CL38)

Pages : -
Federation & Empire: F&E QUESTIONS: F&E Q&A: Archive 2008 and republished Federation & Empire: F&E QUESTIONS: F&E Q&A Archive File: Archive through August 09, 2012


(Whole question/Answer copied)

(413.41) implies that Economic Points can be produced in a Partial Grid (note that this existed before the salvage rules); (430.12) says that "only those planets linked to a Supply Grid and provences that have one or more of their hexes linked to a Supply Grid produce Economic Points"; (413.1) indicates that a Supply Grid must include one or both of the Capital or Off-Map Area; (413.4) says that a Partial Grid contains neither the Capital nor the Off-Map Area.
Q: So, Partial Grids are both permitted and absolutely prohibited from producing EP. Which is correct?
A: Both, a Partial Supply Grid is not a Supply Grid and a Supply Grid is not a Partial Supply Grid. Each has their own definition and are treated separately


I believe the answers are ‘No’ and to aid the court :
Relevant Points
Expeditionary Supply (411.70) can’t be used in a Partial Supply Grid and 413.43, “No Allied Help”.

Thank you

Paul


2)


By Graham Cridland (Grahamcridland) on Sunday, June 27, 2021 - 01:14 pm: Edit


(603.2)

When is the Romulan North Fleet released if the Gorns do not attack on turn 12 but the Romulans do attack on CT13?

603.2 seems to imply that the Romulan North Fleet is only released on a GORN attack.

I found a couple answers in the keyword search saying "Of course it's released if the Romulans attack the Gorns." This makes sense but isn't actually in the rules and I couldn't tell who was saying this (and the language had a lot of "I think..." in it)

I found Peter B. asking the same question directly, but I couldn't find the answer.

[For this question, presume the Romulans attacked the Feds "on schedule" on Turn 10 and a state of war exists between the Romulans and the Federation.]


i.e. - What Supply can be used in Partial Grids - and can the Romulan Northern Fleet be used to attack the Gorns (prior to turn 20), if the Gorn haven't attacked the Romulans.

Thank you

Paul

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Friday, July 23, 2021 - 10:40 am: Edit

Block Sixty Four

Q: Can a Marine Major General be included in a battle that has a mobile base being set up?
A: Yes. A mobile base being set up is a base (510.231) and as such is eligible (321.42) to have a Marine Major General present on either side (because base battles involve Marines storming in). Granted, the only way to destroy the MB is to kill the unit setting it up, but the MMG benefits are still used.

(510.233) Recommend adding new rule: The mobile base is considered to be a valid base for a MMG (321.0)‡ to be used by both the attacker and defender if a battle occurs at the base location during the setup time of the mobile base. Reason: The base is an inactive base during the time of setup, but is still considered to be a base for the purposes of marine attacks and MMG support. Thomas Mathews 23 July 2021

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Friday, July 23, 2021 - 10:44 am: Edit

Deleted by author, duplicate post.

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Wednesday, November 03, 2021 - 12:48 am: Edit

Warbook Recommendation: Formatting suggestion and localization of limits for various locations that may add PDUs.

Existing rule:
(433.424) No more than four battalions can be added to one planet during one turn by all methods combined. Minor planets cannot have more than six battalions, majors cannot have more than ten, and capital planets cannot have more than twenty. PDUs can be built or set up in off-map areas but there is currently no reason to do so.
Colonies‡ (446.0) and Forward Defense Units‡ (536.0) in the expansions can have PDUs and PGBs‡.

Proposed version:
(433.424) LIMITS: No more than four battalions can be added to one planet during one turn by all methods combined.
• Forward Defenses cannot have more than two battalions per "location", see (536.16) for more.
• Colony planets cannot have more than two battalions.
Minor planets cannot have more than six battalions.
Majors cannot have more than ten battalions.
Capital planets cannot have more than twenty battalions.
PDUs can be built or set up in off-map areas but there is currently no reason to do so.
Colonies‡ (446.0) and Forward Defense Units‡ (536.0) in the expansions can have PDUs and PGBs‡.

Rationale: Visual acuity improvements adding formatting and localization of limits defining Colony and FDU centralize rule look up improving ease of play.

- L. Bergen 2 November 2021

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Monday, November 22, 2021 - 05:49 pm: Edit

is (603.15) partially obsolete in that it specifically mentions SPCs when many new types of survey ships are available in Strategic Operations?
A: Any Romulan survey ship can survey these provinces.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Wednesday, February 16, 2022 - 04:26 am: Edit

(436.28) FEDS Recommends adding the following new rule text:

(436.28) CONVERSIONS: Battleships conversions cannot be completed before the Year-in-Service date listed on the SITs or as specified by rule. While some battleships are permitted to be produced via "conversion" from a smaller hulled ships, these conversions still requires the expenditure of no more that 25% of the discounted conversion cost per turn (or a minimum of three points each turn). Conversion of existing battleships to other battleship variants of the same base hull type can be completed in one turn. All battleship conversions must be conducted at a starbase or stellar fortress in the owner's capital shipyard hex.

Rationale: No existing rule for battleship conversions.

CONFIRMED-SVC

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Saturday, February 19, 2022 - 04:03 pm: Edit

(436.1) FEDS Recommends modifying the following rule to read:


436.1) FREQUENCY OF CONSTRUCTION

The Klingon player can begin construction of one B10 battleship in the Fall of Y169 or later. If using optional rules that allow other empires to produce battleships, no empire can begin the first turn of production earlier than four turns prior the Year-in-Service date noted of the SITs. Empires can begin production of a second (and third, and fourth, etc.) battleship no less than four turns after beginning production of the previous ship. This includes the four turns required to convert a battleship from smaller hulled ship. Concurrent production is possible if empires choose to lengthen to production time beyond the minimum four turns of production.


Ref Old Text:


Quote:

(436.1) FREQUENCY OF CONSTRUCTION

The Klingon player can begin construction of one B10 battleship in the Fall of Y169 or later. He can begin construction of a second (and third, and fourth, etc.) battleship two years after beginning construction of the previous ship.


By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Saturday, February 19, 2022 - 10:13 pm: Edit

Approved, G.O.D.

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Saturday, February 19, 2022 - 10:42 pm: Edit

OK, but there is still not mechanics on how the Lyran conversion works outside of (436.26)/436.28).

Under (436.21) I see two options, when converting they need only a total of 32 (or start with a base of 8 on their way to 40), or they start with 2 bonus dice to represent the CA outer hull (3D6 on their first roll). [Since 2D6 has an average of 7, either of method is about equal in strength.]

There may be a third method between those two ...

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Sunday, February 20, 2022 - 03:22 am: Edit

Stewart:

Assigning a flat value adds a bit of certainty to the risky construction of battleships. Normally, players spend 5 EP for a 1d6 die roll where the result can be 1-6. Under your proposal, if the Lyran kickstarts the conversion with an 8EP CA, then the player has a guaranteed result of 7 battleship points. additionally, under the BB rule the Klingon player must give up ANY production of a DN just to pay another 5EPs to get a second BB roll.

==============

Here's the FEDS proposal to ADB (ADD TEXT):

(436.211) Point Accumulation Conversions: If using an optional rule where empires are able to convert smaller hulled ships to battleships, an empire is credited with a portion of the required points needed to complete the battleship. During the production phase, on the first turn of conversion (only), an empire must remove an eligible, uncrippled ship in the converting base hex, roll one die at no cost, and begin the point accumulation process with the following battleship production points awarded:

Convert a CA hull to BB: 1d6+2
Convert a DN hull to BB: 2d6+4

No additional die rolls may be purchased on the first turn of conversion and a major conversion is forfieted on that first turn only (this accounts of the disassembly of the smaller ship used in the conversion). From that point, further battleship construction proceeds normally under rule (436.2).

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Sunday, February 20, 2022 - 10:12 pm: Edit

Chuck, I did asay that there may be third method to use, however, the 8 base didn't really anything change anything as it still required 6 rolls of 6 (36 total) vs 7 roll (42 total) although it would allow for more 5s along the way.

Where I will disagree with you is that CA and the DN both offer the same thing to the BB, the CA outer hull, there is no difference between the two (other than having a DN center to use later on).

The 2d6+4 isn't a bad compromise (6-16) for the initial roll (3d6 is 3-18) but I do what to know what the DN is offering that the CA isn't.

Just checked, the DN has 3 boxes more than the CA and the BB just switches the control and shuttle spots in the outer hull.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Sunday, February 20, 2022 - 10:55 pm: Edit

The DN center section frame including the weapons and warp engine are salvaged and used in the BB conversion. There is no rebate for the center section to be removed and used elsewhere in the future.

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Monday, February 21, 2022 - 12:05 am: Edit

Chuck I believe what Stew is saying is there is no real difference between the outer sections being used here (both having just two passes down the FRD sized table saw) so the Conversion roll should be the same.

It is a good distinction (and will likely need a rule) to say the discarded DN center is sent to the scrap yard after recycling the warp core.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation