August 2007 |
Ask Admiral Growler Continued ANSWER: While the wording of (G7.273) assumes that the tractoring ship is attempting to shove the tractored ship off the map, it is equally impossible for the tractored ship to force the tractoring ship off the map. This action would also break the tractor, since a tractor cannot be used to force a ship off of the map. Follow-up question: How does the range adjustment of fading in (or out) of cloak affect an opponent's ability to tractor the cloaking ship? For example, a Romulan ship is at range two to an opponent. It announces fadeout. The opponent wishes to tractor it. Normally, the fadeout would bump the range to range three immediately. Is this the case for tractoring as well? Does the same apply for fade-in? Can the opponent anchor the Romulan the impulse he begins fade-in at the TRUE RANGE of one? Ted Fay asks: Question regarding ECM drone movement. DN A (speed 31) tractors Cruiser B (speed 0). ECM drone D is targeted on Cruiser B and is in the same hex as Cruiser B. Thus, Drone D has a speed of 0. As a result of the tractor, Cruiser B has a pseudo speed of 19. What speed does ECM drone D have on the next impulse assuming that at its pseudo speed DN A does not move on the next impulse? Rule (FD9.111) says the drone assumes the "speed" of the target unit. Is this actual speed or pseudo speed? If actual speed, then the drone is still 0. As a result, the drone will be flip-flopping between speed 0 and speed 20 as it tries to catch up to the "speed 0" cruiser on the following impulses. If it is the pseudo speed, then the drone has a speed of 19.
|