SCENARIO QUESTIONS
- by Nick Blank
QUESTION: I am confused by The War That Almost Was in Captain's Log #21. It says that the Federation cannot enter Gorn space, but that Gorn fleets are released when the Federation enters Gorn space. Huh?
ANSWER: The Federation cannot initiate the war by invading the Gorns, but if the Gorns start the war, the Federation can counter-attack into Gorn space, which might release some other Gorn fleets if the Federation goes too far.
QUESTION: The rules allow me to send one ship from an unreleased fleet outside the deployment zone for conversion. My opponent insists that this allows him to set up one ship from any unreleased fleet in another sector.
ANSWER: Not so fast! Rule (600.322) allows any unreleased fleet to send a ship outside the sector to be converted, but only if that fleet has no starbase in its sector. There is, moreover, no rule allowing you to set up a ship outside of its assigned sector; you can only do this during a scenario.
QUESTION: Rule (603.5), covering Gorn Limited War status, allows this under a variety of conditions mostly using the term "attack". Can the Gorns go to Limited War to support the Federation if the Klingons and Romulans did not attack the Federation and the Federation used their option to attack the Klingons and/or Romulans?
ANSWER: The use of the term "attack" is precise. If the Federation started the war, the Gorns will stay out of it (unless and until the Gorns are attacked).
QUESTION: What happens when the Tholians are forced to return to their space on Turn #28? Can they conduct raids on the Klingons and Romulans? Can they move out to attack a Klingon target as long as they are home by the end of the turn?
ANSWER: They withdraw to their home space because the Seltorians show up and attack them. For all practical purposes, you can take the Tholians off the map and just ignore them from that point, as they were only able to fight the Seltorians and the Seltorians had no interest in attacking anyone other than Tholians. When Civil Wars appears, you will have Seltorian counters and the two races can conduct their own private war. The Tholians could raid a Seltorian target, but no other target.
QUESTION: If the Klingons and Romulans decline the privilege of attacking the Federation by Turn #10, what does the Federation do? Does it go to full war or limited war?
ANSWER: It's their choice. They could go to limited war and support the Kzintis, or full war and invade the Klingons on Turn #10 (and the Romulans on Turn #20), or the Federation player could just decide to sit out the war. This may depend on who bought lunch or who is dating whose sister.
QUESTION: Orion left the Federation when the Klingons sent an E4 into the province. Several turns later, I cut the supply path, Orion rejoined the Federation, and the rules say that the interned E4 is now captured by Star Fleet. Can I convert it into a Federation ship? Is this cheaper since it is not damaged? Can I scrap it for more money since it is undamaged?
ANSWER: You captured the ship. You can convert it (which costs 3 EPs) but this is no cheaper for it being undamaged (except that you do not have to also pay the repair cost). The SIT gives only one salvage value for each ship, whether it is damaged or not, so you get no more money for scrapping it. You might donate it to the WYN cluster; they'd love you for it.
QUESTION: Advanced Operations rule (525.241) says that the Lyran JagdPanther is assumed to start in K mode, but rule (673.1L) in Captain's Log #30 says it starts in C mode for the Cloudburst scenario. Does this change the historical scenario?
ANSWER: No, it is simply a special exception for Cloudburst.
QUESTION: Is there a scenario in F&E for the Hydran Liberation (Y135) campaign?
ANSWER: No, there is not, but it sounds fun. Remember, however, that technology evolved over time. Note the various special rules in the Four Powers War scenario. For the even earlier Hydran Liberation, supply lines would be four hexes, and there would be no mobile bases. There might be other things, such as repair ships, that would have to be reviewed on a case-by-case basis.
QUESTION: Gale Force (608.B2) lists a Lyran BATS in 1305, but later scenarios put it in 1307.
ANSWER: The BATS in 1305 was destroyed in Y177 by a famous Federation raid, and then rebuilt in 1307 (a more secure area).
r a cruiser? Or does the third team ride around in an APT?
ANSWER: The D7N carries two teams.
