March 2010

F&E Q&A [Continued]

Question: Under rule (308.2), during a pursuit situation (307.0), do both sides allocate remaining damage in such a way as to minimize the number of plus or minus points or is there no limit?

Answer: While there is no specific limit, there is a practical one. You must resolve your damage until the remainder is less than the smallest remaining defense factor divided by 2. If you had a crippled F5 in your battle force as your smallest defense factor you need to have no more than one minus point left at the end of the battle. If you have an un-crippled F5 in your battle force as your smallest defense factor you need to have no more than two minus points left at the end of the battle. The only way to have a lot of minus points is if the force has nothing but large ships remaining.

Question: The phasing player moves a fleet into a hex with my starbase. He offers an approach battle, which I decline (since I want the starbase's firepower in my battle strength). The phasing player (the attacker) then retreats. Under the rules, can I then retreat? (I think the base is likely to get surrounded and overwhelmed and want to at least save the ships.)

Answer: You should refer to the Sequence of Play, specifically to Phase 5, Step 7, which covers retreat. The defender still has the option to retreat in both Steps 5-7A1 and 5-7A3, or he can pursue per rule (302.23).

Question: Regarding Armed Priority Transports and Prime Transports, rules (539.123) and (539.223) state that up to three APTs and/or PRTs can be added to a battle force. Do they have to be added if they are in the hex?

Answer: No, nothing requires them to be added.

Question: Fighters from Hex A use Reaction Movement into Hex B as independent fighter squadrons. A battle in Hex A is fought first, destroying their base. What happens to the fighters?

Answer: As per rule (205.76) they fight the first round of the battle in Hex B as independent squadrons, and then they are homeless and must find a home or they are lost. They can be taken in by any base or ship (or other unit) in Hex B which has space to hold them.

Question: In a capital assault, Step 3 (511.53) and Step 6 (511.56) refer to ships being divided between static and mobile forces. What about independent fighter squadrons?

Answer: These were added to the game long after rule (511.5) was written. They are treated as individual six-point ships.

Question: We're a little confused on raid procedures. When a raider enters a raid target hex with lots of enemy ships, the enemy's battle force is limited to one that can participate in ESSC, right?

Answer: Right. Rule (314.21) provides for one ship or equivalent to react to a raid.

Question: I am conducting a commando raid on a planet. My opponent wants to "react" a troopship into the planet hex and then have the troop ship drop its G-factor (Marine unit) on the planet to defend against the raid. Can he do that?

Answer: Tell him: "Nice try." There is no rule allowing any of this. The G-factor would have to be deployed on the planet on a previous turn. See (320.42) which only allows the existing fixed defenses to be used. The references he is pointing to (521.xx) are for ground attacks, not raids.