September 2008

Ask Admiral Growler (Continued)
TACTICAL INTELLIGENCE

- by Mike Filsinger


Frank Brooks asks: One of the pieces of information gained at Level A is the specific unit that launches or fires a weapon is known. Does this apply to drones launched before the scenario begins under (S4.13)? Or does this only apply to things launched after the scenario begins?
ANSWER: The launch from the "previous turn" was observed and the launcher would be known under level A.

Follow-up question: Does this rule apply to fighters?
ANSWER: This rule applies to "the launching unit", so fighters would be included.

Seth Iniguez asks: If a group of ships are in the same hex, and they are all escorted by ECM drones or ECPs, do you have to reveal which is escorting which? A drone swarm escorted by an ECM drone does not reveal who is lending (FD9.21), so I don't think a ship escort has to reveal either.
ANSWER: Rule (FD9.21) only applies to an ECM drone escorting other drones. It does not override the general fact that both the source and target are known in other cases (D17.194).

Back