Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Tractor triangle?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
HowieTallGuy
Ensign


Joined: 08 Jun 2008
Posts: 19
Location: Sammamish, WA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:14 pm    Post subject: Tractor triangle? Reply with quote

What happens when ship one tractors ship two and then ship three tractors ship two? Does the first tractor remain in effect? What way do the ships move? Question
_________________
Howie's Starfleet Miniatures:
http://home.comcast.net/~h.hilliker/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
junior
Captain


Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 803

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Two ships can't both have tractor beams on the same target at the same time. In the event that this situation starts to arise, you have a tractor auction between the two ships. The ship that spends more energy on its tractor beam is the ship that gets to keep the tractor beam in place.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scoutdad
Commodore


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 4467
Location: Middle Tennessee

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and all three ships expend whatever power was spent on the auction... even the ship that fails to get a tractor lock.
_________________


Scoutdad's minis photos here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
djdood
Fleet Captain


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 2928
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[To clarify] actually, the chain was this:

Ship 1 (speed 24) tractored Ship 2 (speed 16) which had no power remaining to contest the tractor.
Ship 3 (speed 16) then tractored Ship 1. An auction was initiated, which Ship 3 won.

It was understood that if Ship 3 had tried to tractor Ship 2, it wouldn't work as Ship 2 was already being tractored by Ship 1. Instead, the attempt was at the ship already tractoring (not being tractored).

I was Ship 1. Howie was Ship 2. Another member (Jerrod) was Ship 3.

Our quandary was what happens to movement. The initial tractoring ship was the fastest and would be the controlling ship for movement, but what happens when he himself is tractored and loses?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
junior
Captain


Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 803

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can't generate a tractor beam if you're being tractored. The tractor beam that ship 1 is applying to ship 2 counts as negative tractor energy to counteract the tractor beam from ship 3. If ship 3 successfully applies the tractor beam to ship 1, then ship 1 loses its beam to ship 2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
willhc
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 46
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting...if the original tractor counted as negative tractor to the new attempt things might have changed (not that anything was really affected anyways).

Of course, killing the tractor on the ship leads to some interesting tactics with drones.
_________________
D7 off the asteroid, through the Ion storm, nothing but net.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
junior
Captain


Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 803

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 1:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

willhc wrote:
Of course, killing the tractor on the ship leads to some interesting tactics with drones.


Potentially, yes.

Which is why you need to be REALLY careful about letting yourself get tractored.

This is also the same thing that prompted the debate (on the other forum) over what happens if Team A fires a drone at Team B that is then tractored by Team C who attempts to drag it into the same hex as the targetted ship.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3463
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 3:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, let me take this one at a time.

If two ships try to tractor the same object, a tractor auction ensues. You can use this to break an existing tractor link. So, for example, Ship A tractors Object C in Impulse 2. Ship B then attempts to tractor the same Object C in Impulse 5. Ships A and B then engage in a tractor auction to see who ends up with the active link to Object C. This is straight out (5D5b).

If a ship has a tractor link to another ship (not object, but specifically ship), and it is tractored, then the two tractoring ships conduct an auction to see which tractor will remain. A ship cannot both be tractored by a ship and have its own tractor to another ship. For example, Ship A has tractored Ship B. If Ship C tractors Ship A, then Ships A and C engage in a tractor auction to see whose tractor remains. Note that if Ship A tractored Object B, and Ship C tractors Ship A, then both tractors remain in effect. This is covered by rule (5D5c) introduced in the Briefing #1 rules update.

Tractor daisy-chains are not allowed in Federation Commander. A given ship can only be tractored by one other ship OR tractor one other ship.

One last item: Defensive tractors are not affected by any of the above. An impacted drone may not be tractored by any ship other than its target. Therefore, it is not possible to force a tractor auction over an impacted drone. Also, if a ship holding an impacted drone in a tractor is itself tractored, the defensive tractor is not affected.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3463
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 4:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

junior wrote:
This is also the same thing that prompted the debate (on the other forum) over what happens if Team A fires a drone at Team B that is then tractored by Team C who attempts to drag it into the same hex as the targetted ship.


The result of this discussion was that a tractored drone cannot impact anything while it is tractored. So, if a tractored drone is moved into the same hex as its target (by accident by an ally or at all by a hostile third party), the drone cannot impacted until the tractor is released.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
djdood
Fleet Captain


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 2928
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Mike.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group