Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Repairing Destroyed Plasma
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3437
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are really two questions: what can be inferred from the rules and what was intended?

Obviously I believe it is fairly obvious what can be inferred. But to find the intention, I had to ask Steve. Based on that conversation, the intention is to not allow the carry-over.

So, no, you can't carry the torpedo over the turn break if the box has been disabled.

I'll post the full ruling once it is confirmed by Steve.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Scoutdad
Commodore


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 4454
Location: Middle Tennessee

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This was the way we've always played... just based on experience with SFB. It was fairly certain what the intention was... but the wording of the rules was a bit vague. I'm glad Steve was able to clarify the issue.
_________________


Scoutdad's minis photos here!


Last edited by Scoutdad on Sat Oct 11, 2008 11:49 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
Davec_24
Commander


Joined: 16 Jul 2008
Posts: 596
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the clarification with this one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1929
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, thanks Mike.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3437
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 2:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is the full ruling:

Q: If a plasma ship has it's plasma launcher destroyed, couldn't it just fix it in the repair phase and thereby suffer no adverse impact of having had it destroyed?

A: No. Rule (4J3d) says that if the box holding a fully armed plasma torpedo is disabled, it may still be launched before the end of the turn. Despite having wording that an unfired torpedo will last until the beginning of the next turn, this is not the case. If the plasma torpedo is not fired before the end of the turn, the torpedo is automatically discharged during the (1E3b) Weapons Records phase. So, even if the box is repaired that turn, the torpedo is still lost.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Davec_24
Commander


Joined: 16 Jul 2008
Posts: 596
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for that mike, that seems clearer now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Page 4 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group