Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Need a clarification on shields.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Star Fleet Battles
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Millenniumfalsehood
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 07 Jan 2010
Posts: 32
Location: Kansas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 6:57 am    Post subject: Need a clarification on shields. Reply with quote

I know, I know, I've played it this way long enough that I should have thought to ask before now.

Anyway, in the rule on damage to shields, it says the following: "Each hit on a shield checks off one box." I have interpreted this to mean "Each damage point from the weapon which hits the shield checks off one box," because I played the FASA game for a long time and this is basically how their system works.

However, I've come to question this, as a possible interpretation is that each "hit" is from a weapon, not a weapon's damage rating. In other words, each time a weapon scores a hit it only destroys one box on the SSD.

Which one is the correct interpretation? Common sense tells me the first one is the correct interpretation, but I want to be absolutely sure. It is, after all, an essential rule.
_________________
"I'm invincible!"

"You're a loony."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djdood
Fleet Captain


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 2922
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

One shield box is marked off, per damage point scored.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Scoutdad
Commodore


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 4460
Location: Middle Tennessee

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Will has stated it correctly. Each damage point scored by a volley disables one shield box, so if you score eight points - you mark off eight boxes. If you score 14 points, you mark off 13 boxes and do one point of burn-through, and so on.
_________________


Scoutdad's minis photos here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3471
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you asking for SFB or FC?

If you are asking for SFB, there is no burn-through. If you are asking for FC, I need to move this thread.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Scoutdad
Commodore


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 4460
Location: Middle Tennessee

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's what I get for opening the forums before daylight and answering a question before getting dressed for work. I didn't even notice that it was in the SFB sub-topic.
_________________


Scoutdad's minis photos here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
Millenniumfalsehood
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 07 Jan 2010
Posts: 32
Location: Kansas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, 'tis a SFB question. Wink Thanks for the clarification. The term 'hit' can be a mite confusing.
_________________
"I'm invincible!"

"You're a loony."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dharras
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 31 Jul 2009
Posts: 47
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mjwest wrote:

If you are asking for SFB, there is no burn-through.


Unless you've got a good insurance policy for your ships and are playing with the optional leaky shields rule.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3471
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dharras wrote:
mjwest wrote:

If you are asking for SFB, there is no burn-through.

Unless you've got a good insurance policy for your ships and are playing with the optional leaky shields rule.

There is no burn-through. And, if using leaky shields, it works different than burn-through.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Star Fleet Battles All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group