View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
HappyDaze Lieutenant JG
Joined: 21 Apr 2010 Posts: 79 Location: Orlando, FL
|
Posted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 1:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Kang wrote: |
Well, there kind of is - the rule where if a tractor holding a seeking weapon is disabled, the weapon 'impacts' again next impulse and has to run the entire gamut of defenses again. Please bear this in mind when making the ruling!
|
Really? I thought that if the tractor went down, the held drone (impacted, not one held at Range 1) hit immediately. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
storeylf Fleet Captain
Joined: 24 Jul 2008 Posts: 1887
|
Posted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 1:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
HappyDaze wrote: | Kang wrote: |
Well, there kind of is - the rule where if a tractor holding a seeking weapon is disabled, the weapon 'impacts' again next impulse and has to run the entire gamut of defenses again. Please bear this in mind when making the ruling!
|
Really? I thought that if the tractor went down, the held drone (impacted, not one held at Range 1) hit immediately. |
I haven't got my rule book on me, but I'm sure you are correct, it hits and does damage with no chance to stop it. I think the re-impact bit only kicks in if you don't power a tractor at start of turn, in which case the drone impacts on impulse 1 again. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Savedfromwhat Commander

Joined: 23 Aug 2007 Posts: 657
|
Posted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I think it also re-impacts on a hit and run raid. It is only damage to the tractor that causes it to hit. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Kang Fleet Captain

Joined: 23 Sep 2007 Posts: 1976 Location: Devon, UK
|
Posted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Savedfromwhat wrote: | I think it also re-impacts on a hit and run raid. It is only damage to the tractor that causes it to hit. |
That's the one. Hit&run, and not powering the tractor. Both have the same effect of re-impacting and giving the defences a second bite of the drone.
There's been a Command Note about it, I think..... _________________
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
terryoc Captain

Joined: 07 Oct 2006 Posts: 1384
|
Posted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
No, it doesn't re-impact, it just hits if there's hit & run or not powered. It doesn't actually do damage until the next Defensive Fire Phase IIRC, but if the tractor breaks that's it. _________________ "Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
storeylf Fleet Captain
Joined: 24 Jul 2008 Posts: 1887
|
Posted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
terryoc wrote: | No, it doesn't re-impact, it just hits if there's hit & run or not powered. It doesn't actually do damage until the next Defensive Fire Phase IIRC, but if the tractor breaks that's it. |
Mm are you sure, I could have sworn on the power down at least that it doesn't just hit, you get another bite of the cherry and can even retractor it? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
terryoc Captain

Joined: 07 Oct 2006 Posts: 1384
|
Posted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 3:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
No, I'm wrong, the operative rule is (5D4c), which allows a second bite at the cherry in the case of Marine raids and unpowered tractors. _________________ "Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Kang Fleet Captain

Joined: 23 Sep 2007 Posts: 1976 Location: Devon, UK
|
Posted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 3:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
And to complete the picture, it's when a tractor is disabled by direct fire that the weapon is released to impact immediately. _________________
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
DirkSJ Lieutenant Commander
Joined: 08 Jun 2010 Posts: 239
|
Posted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 4:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
In SFB if someone has a drone tractored at range 1 and is displaced the tractor breaks and the drone reacquires target? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mjwest Commodore

Joined: 08 Oct 2006 Posts: 4095 Location: Dallas, Texas
|
Posted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 4:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
DirkSJ wrote: | In SFB if someone has a drone tractored at range 1 and is displaced the tractor breaks and the drone reacquires target? |
I believe that, in SFB, the tractor is broken, and the drone continues to seek the now displaced target. Which, I might point out, is how it works in Federation Commander if a ship is displaced while holding a non-impacted drone in a tractor.
Impacted drones (and seeking shuttles) are their own things, unique to the game mechanics of Federation Commander. And the ruling I gave is the most consistent result I can come up with. _________________
Federation Commander Answer Guy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Kang Fleet Captain

Joined: 23 Sep 2007 Posts: 1976 Location: Devon, UK
|
Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 8:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mjwest wrote: | Well, don't forget that only seeking weapons held in a tractor will lose tracking. |
So does that mean, then, that impacted drones not held in a tractor are not removed from play, but cause damage as normal? I'm kinda assuming it does mean that.... _________________
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gar1138 Lieutenant Commander

Joined: 10 Jul 2007 Posts: 345 Location: Eugene, OR
|
Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 8:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Kang wrote: | So does that mean, then, that impacted drones not held in a tractor are not removed from play, but cause damage as normal? I'm kinda assuming it does mean that.... |
Impacted drones not held in tractor beams are gone by the time Displacement Devices fire. They have already exploded and caused their damage. It is resolved at the end of the Defensive Fire step, then Displacement Devices fire in the Offensive Fire step. Unless I misunderstand something?
Garrett |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mjwest Commodore

Joined: 08 Oct 2006 Posts: 4095 Location: Dallas, Texas
|
Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 8:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Garret got it in one. You are correct. _________________
Federation Commander Answer Guy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Kang Fleet Captain

Joined: 23 Sep 2007 Posts: 1976 Location: Devon, UK
|
Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 9:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Of course, duh, my bad. What with not having played for a while on one hand and a teenage daughter having a tantrum on the other, kinda didn't think of that.
Thanks guys! _________________
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|