Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

PPD vs. PA Panel question

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1947
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2011 7:09 am    Post subject: PPD vs. PA Panel question Reply with quote

If a PPD strikes an Andromedan ship on the boundary between its PA panels, do we use the Alternate damage line on the PPD firing table?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1379

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2011 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Edit: wrong answer because I didn't read the question.

Yes, boundary between panels works same as boundary between shields.
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West


Last edited by terryoc on Mon May 16, 2011 11:32 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1947
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2011 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Terry, thanks for that but that was what I meant - if it's on a PA panel boundary (as opposed to shields) - do you mean that it's different for PA panels?

If the PPD-firing ship is at 6 hexes' range, directly on the Andro's 9 o'clock, is the damage per pulse 4+1 for one PA panel and 1 for the other, or is it 3 each? One way uses the rule for special targets, which include Andromedans, and one does not but uses the 'split shield boundary' rule.

So which one do we use?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3471
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2011 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Let's do a concrete example.

Andromedan ship is in hex 0505 heading A. ISC ship is in hex 0905 heading E.

The ISC ship fires a PPD which hits for all four pulses. That means it will do 12 points to the forward PA bank and do 12 points to the rear PA bank. (This is the perfect border boundary shot that forces the use of the alternative damage line. Even though (4M3e) might imply otherwise, the perfect border boundary takes precedence.)

Andromedan ship is in hex 0505 heading A. ISC ship in hex 0904 heading E.

The ISC ship fires a PPD which hits for all four pulses. That means it will do 20 points to the forward PA bank and do 4 points to the rear PA bank. (The forward bank covers the "shield facing" of the main damage and one splash; the rear bank covers the other splash.)

Andromedan ship is in hex 0505 heading B. ISC ship is in hex 0904 heading E.

The ISC fires a PPD which hits for all four pulses. That means it will do 20 points of damage to the forward PA bank and do 4 points to the rear PA bank. (Even though the forward bank covers the "shield facing" of all three damage elements one splash element always wraps around.)

Andromedan ship is in hex 0505 heading B. ISC ship is in hex 0905 heading E.

The ISC fires a PPD which hits for all four pulses. That means it will do 20 points of damage to the forward PA bank and do 4 points to the rear PA bank. (This is another perfect border boundary shot, but since both sides of this border are on the same PA bank, damage is applied normally, with the one splash element wrapping around.)

EDIT: Updated to reflect my missing of (4M3e).
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy


Last edited by mjwest on Mon May 16, 2011 3:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
storeylf
Fleet Captain


Joined: 24 Jul 2008
Posts: 1842

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2011 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MWest - Your examples do not mesh with the way the rule is written. According to the rule an andro will always take the main + 1 splash to the facing panel and 1 splash to the far side panel.

There may be an issue when it is down a boundary like Kang asked (possible conflict between boundary rule and 2 shield target rule), but the non-boundary case is clearly written as main + splash to one panel and 1 splash to the other.

Terry is quoting the rule for targets with 2 shields - which never take all PPD damage to just 1 shield, as a couple of your examples have.


Last edited by storeylf on Mon May 16, 2011 3:52 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3471
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2011 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup, I missed (4M3e). Notice, however, if you still hit the PA banks perfectly on the border, there is no 'facing bank', so the (4M3d) alternative line would come into effect.

I modified my prior message to fix that screwup.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1947
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2011 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which answers the question nicely - because, as Lee said, that was what my question was intended to resolve: the apparent tension between those two rules.

Thank you all, gentlemen, for your input Smile
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group