| View previous topic :: View next topic | 
	
	
		| Author | Message | 
	
		| SylvrDragon Lieutenant Commander
 
  
 Joined: 23 Feb 2008
 Posts: 203
 Location: Euless, Texas
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 3:44 am    Post subject: Burn Through |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| You only get 1 point of burn through, as long as you score at least 10 points of damage, no matter how many points of damage you deal in a volley. Meaning you hit someone for 10 damage, then you'd put 9 on the shields and 1 inter. Or say you deal 20 damage, in which case you'd deal 19 to the shields and 1 internal. Am I correct in my understanding? _________________
 "...You're going to burn in a very special level of hell. A level they reserve for child molesters and people who talk at the theater." — Shepherd Book
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| sock Ensign
 
  
 Joined: 10 Mar 2008
 Posts: 20
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 3:49 am    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| I'm 99% sure that it is one point of burn through for each 10 damage, 
 meaning
 10-19 damage       1 pt burn through
 20-29                   2 pts burn through
 
 etc
 etc
 _________________
 Velocity = Victory
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| OGOPTIMUS Captain
 
  
 Joined: 10 Nov 2006
 Posts: 979
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 6:12 am    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| SylvrDragon has it correct.  You only score one internal point of damage for the whole volley if it's doesn't penetrate the shields.  Rule 3C8. _________________
 O.G. OPTIMUS
 
 
   Newest Page | Newer Page | OLD Page
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Scoutdad Commodore
 
  
 Joined: 09 Oct 2006
 Posts: 4751
 Location: Middle Tennessee
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 3:23 pm    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| Note that is an example, SVC clarified this issue: You have a 10 box shield and the incoming fire does 10 points. How is this resolved?
 
 In this case, 9 shield boxes are disabled and 1 point of burn-through is scored - leaving 1 active shield box!
 _________________
 Commander, Battlegroup Murfreesboro
 Department Head, ACTASF
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| SylvrDragon Lieutenant Commander
 
  
 Joined: 23 Feb 2008
 Posts: 203
 Location: Euless, Texas
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 5:44 pm    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				|  	  | OGOPTIMUS wrote: |  	  | SylvrDragon has it correct.  You only score one internal point of damage for the whole volley if it's doesn't penetrate the shields.  Rule 3C8. | 
 
 See, that's what I thought when I read the rules, but some of my friends contradicted me.
 _________________
 "...You're going to burn in a very special level of hell. A level they reserve for child molesters and people who talk at the theater." — Shepherd Book
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| OGOPTIMUS Captain
 
  
 Joined: 10 Nov 2006
 Posts: 979
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 5:59 pm    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| I thought there were more examples around somewhere, but I can't recall right now.  If you look at the text of the rule 3C8 it says "score the remaining nine (ore more) damage points on the shield".  So if you hit shield #1 of a B10 with 68 points of damage, you only get one internal hit, AND it's front shield is still up (with one point left)! _________________
 O.G. OPTIMUS
 
 
   Newest Page | Newer Page | OLD Page
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Repok Ensign
 
  
 Joined: 13 Mar 2008
 Posts: 24
 Location: Columbus, GA
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:25 am    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| Thanks for the question. 
 I never realized this until now. Most of the volleys against cruisers either did 11-19 pts or blew right through the shield, so we were all of the opinion it was 1 per 10.  It just never came up really.
 
 This brings up the question...are seeking weapons off of the same ship a different volley (like SFB) or same?  I don't have the rules handy.
 _________________
 "Confucius Say: Just because one end for eating, not mean other end for talking."
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Scoutdad Commodore
 
  
 Joined: 09 Oct 2006
 Posts: 4751
 Location: Middle Tennessee
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:52 am    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				|  	  | Repok wrote: |  	  | This brings up the question...are seeking weapons off of the same ship a different volley (like SFB) or same?  I don't have the rules handy.
 | 
 
 Rule (3A4) Volley Definition:
 A Volley consists of all thedamage resulting from either:
 (1) all of the Seeking Weapons which strike a single shield during a single Impulse, or
 (2) all of the Direct Fire Weapons fired by a single ship (or single other unit) during a single Impulse (all of which must by the rules, strike a single shield).
 
 So, by extension... all of the seeking weapons (from all ships) that strike a single shield in a single impulse are a volley.
 _________________
 Commander, Battlegroup Murfreesboro
 Department Head, ACTASF
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| mjwest Commodore
 
  
 Joined: 08 Oct 2006
 Posts: 4100
 Location: Dallas, Texas
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 3:04 am    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| FWIW, Scoutdad is correct on the original issue, and this issue. _________________
 
   Federation Commander Answer Guy
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| junior Captain
 
  
 Joined: 08 May 2007
 Posts: 803
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 6:24 pm    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				|  	  | Scoutdad wrote: |  	  | (2) all of the Direct Fire Weapons fired by a single ship (or single other unit) during a single Impulse (all of which must by the rules, strike a single shield).
 
 | 
 
 That bit in the second paranthesis isn't entirely correct.  Both the Hellbore and the Plasmatic Pulsar Device strike more than one shield.  In both cases, the damage against each individual shield is counted as a distinct volley.  Yes, this does mean that if a Hellbore is fired at a Federation CA, the CA can put up to four points of shield reinforcement into EACH of its shields (provided it has the free power).
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| jmt Lieutenant Commander
 
  
 Joined: 08 Oct 2006
 Posts: 394
 Location: Plano, TX
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 6:30 pm    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				|  	  | junior wrote: |  	  |  	  | Scoutdad wrote: |  	  | (2) all of the Direct Fire Weapons fired by a single ship (or single other unit) during a single Impulse (all of which must by the rules, strike a single shield).
 
 | 
 
 That bit in the second paranthesis isn't entirely correct.  Both the Hellbore and the Plasmatic Pulsar Device strike more than one shield.  In both cases, the damage against each individual shield is counted as a distinct volley.  Yes, this does mean that if a Hellbore is fired at a Federation CA, the CA can put up to four points of shield reinforcement into EACH of its shields (provided it has the free power).
 | 
 
 There's also the exception for weapons fired at the same time as a web cracker/shield breaker
 _________________
 jmt
 
 
  |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Scoutdad Commodore
 
  
 Joined: 09 Oct 2006
 Posts: 4751
 Location: Middle Tennessee
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 8:00 pm    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| Touche'! 
 Hellbores, PPD, and Web Breaker are indeed exceptions to thisrule, but as they were either 1) published after the version 4 rulebook was released, or 2) have not yet been "officially" printed - can I be forgiven for overlooking them?
   
 That particular statement probably does need to be addressed in the version 5 rulebook. Oh Mike, can you add a note to have the latter portion of rule (3A4) checked against possible exceptions when version 5 is released?
 
 Thanks,
 _________________
 Commander, Battlegroup Murfreesboro
 Department Head, ACTASF
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| junior Captain
 
  
 Joined: 08 May 2007
 Posts: 803
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 8:43 pm    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| No worries.  The Hellbore and Plasmatic Pulsar Device are both rather easy to overlook.  But they do need to be mentioned simply because of the unique way in which they handle volleys (the FedCom version of The Mizia Effect, if you can get enough shields down). |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Scoutdad Commodore
 
  
 Joined: 09 Oct 2006
 Posts: 4751
 Location: Middle Tennessee
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 8:59 pm    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| PPD's and web-breakers / shield crackers I should have caught. Hellbores OTOH, I try very hard to ignore as it was developed by and is the primary weapon of those "insert favorite invective here"  _________________
 Commander, Battlegroup Murfreesboro
 Department Head, ACTASF
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Vladimyr Ensign
 
 
 Joined: 29 Nov 2006
 Posts: 20
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Thu May 22, 2008 7:58 pm    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| I've noticed that if you have a 10 point shield and also have armor remaining, then if you take 11 or 12 damage, don't reinforce, as the burn through ignores armor. If you let those minor points penetrate the shield, it damages the armor instead. 
 Is this correct?
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		|  |