| View previous topic :: View next topic | 
	
	
		| Author | Message | 
	
		| defurusu Lieutenant JG
 
  
 Joined: 20 Nov 2006
 Posts: 85
 Location: London, UK
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 5:56 pm    Post subject: Plasma: Racks == Launchers? |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| Apologies if this is answered elsewhere, but a quick search brought me no joy... 
 Is a Plasma-D "Rack" considered to be a Plasma Torpedo Launcher for the purposes of the rule which allows a fully armed torpedo to be fired from a destroyed launcher on the turn of its destruction?
 
 Thanks in advance
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| MikePowers Lieutenant SG
 
  
 Joined: 13 Oct 2006
 Posts: 176
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 6:42 pm    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| I would say no.  It works like a drone rack, loaded with "ammunition"; if the rack is disabled then all the D-torps go away. |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| TJolley Lieutenant Commander
 
  
 Joined: 25 Oct 2006
 Posts: 284
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 7:00 pm    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| My understanding is that is is a 'torpedo launcher' for purposes of taking damage (ie they are hit on TORPEDO hits) , but are treated as Drone racks as far as launching/firing drones (ie, you cannot launch out of a disabled launcher) |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Scoutdad Commodore
 
  
 Joined: 09 Oct 2006
 Posts: 4751
 Location: Middle Tennessee
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 8:35 pm    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| While Mike West or SVC will be the final arbitor of this, I am in concurrence with Mike and Todd. The Plasma D's are similar to drone racks and can not be "launched" after being disabled. _________________
 Commander, Battlegroup Murfreesboro
 Department Head, ACTASF
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| defurusu Lieutenant JG
 
  
 Joined: 20 Nov 2006
 Posts: 85
 Location: London, UK
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:24 am    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| Thanks guys, that's pretty much what I thought. 
 Following up, while staying on the theme of Plasma-D-to-Drone similarities:
 
 Do D-torpedoes require the launching unit to control them, or are they self-guiding like their larger brethren?
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| mjwest Commodore
 
  
 Joined: 08 Oct 2006
 Posts: 4100
 Location: Dallas, Texas
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sun Jun 08, 2008 3:11 am    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| Plasma-D racks do not benefit from (4J3d). 
 All Plasma torpedos, including Pl-D, are self-guiding.
 _________________
 
   Federation Commander Answer Guy
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		|  |