Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Juggernaut's defences

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1937
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 10:33 am    Post subject: Juggernaut's defences Reply with quote

Just been playing Juggernaut, from Klingon Attack, and have a few rules questions about the Juggernaut's defences.

1) When do you pay for the energy cost of the rotating shield - is it 1 or more points as required as the shield takes damage, or do you give it as many points as you want in Energy Allocation and that's your lot? Given FC's 'all reserve power' system, I'd assume the former, pay-as-you-go system, which was what we used.

2) The shield rotates towards any volley of 40 points of damage. a)i. Does it rotate before the damage hits the armor [and therefore absorb some or all the damage] or does it snap there after the damage has hit the armor? a)2. or does does it absorb damage from its old position and then snap there c) If more than one volley of 40 points arrive simultaneously from different directions, which one does it rotate to face? The biggest, or defender's choice?

3) Is the rotating shield subject to burnthrough, and if so, does the burnthrough avoid the armor layer as normal burnthrough does?

4) If the shield snaps to a new direction because of a 40+ - point damage volley, it 'stays there for the rest of the impulse' which means it can't be moved to another direction in the Other Functions phase. But because the shield can be moved only in the 'other functions' phase in the Impulse Procedure, this means that it cannot be moved back to cover the engines [or whatever] until after the direct fire phase of the next impulse. That's therefore more than one impulse it has to stay there. Am I correct in this interpretation?

5) We assume there is no burnthrough on the electrostatic armor as it's armor, not a shield. Is that right?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3463
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1) The rules say nothing about energy allocation. It is "pay as you go".

2-a) Before damage hits. The volley will hit the rotating shield.

2-b) Only the new position. The old position will take it on the armor.

2-c) Heh. I don't think the scenario author considered the possibility that it would suffer two 40+ point volleys. In this case, I will go with defender's choice.

3) It doesn't say. I am going to say no burn through. (Which is the easy out that doesn't require additional rulings.)

4) You caught on. Wink Yes, the shield may only change during the Other Functions Phase, so by being locked for the rest of the impulse, it is prevented from moving until the Other Functions Phase of the following impulse. This does indeed allow for a "free" shot during the Direct Fire Phase that preceeds that Other Functions Phase.

5) No burn through.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1937
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool. Thanks Mike.

In view of the 'locked' shield position, it leads me to another Juggernaut question - there is no mention of the Juggernaut being allowed more than one HET bonus. We assumed last night that the Juggernaut is therefore subject to normal 50% breakdown rolls after its first, unlike some other 'machine' monsters. Are we correct?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3463
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is my interpretation as well.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sneaky Scot
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 377
Location: Thornbury, Gloucestershire

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Further question on the rotationg shield; does the shield damage have to be repaired via the normal rules, or does the Juggernaught receive a fresh, shiny and complete energy shield every turn?
_________________
Nothing is quite as persuasive as a disruptor pistol on slow burn and a rotisserie......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1937
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a fresh shield, at least if you play it according to the original CL#1 scenario.
_________________


Last edited by Kang on Thu Jul 10, 2008 1:15 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
pinecone
Fleet Captain


Joined: 03 May 2008
Posts: 1865
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

but what did it mean when it said "each point of power in the sheild stops ten damage"?
_________________
Doomed to live in secret since discovering that the Air Force Tapes were a fantasy... Embarassed

"Your knowledge of my existence must be punished" Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3463
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pinecone wrote:
but what did it mean when it said "each point of power in the sheild stops ten damage"?


Pretty much exactly what it says.

So, if you apply a single point of power to the rotating shield, it will stop 10 points of damage that turn. The other boxes on the shield are ignored and will not stop damage. If you apply 2 points of power, then it will stop 20 points of damage that turn. And so on until 10 points of power which will fully power the rotating shield and allow you to use all 100 boxes that turn.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sneaky Scot
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 377
Location: Thornbury, Gloucestershire

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kang,

That's what I thought, but then I had another thought (wow - 2 in the same day Very Happy ) that I might be allowing a bit of SFB-creep into my interpretation.
_________________
Nothing is quite as persuasive as a disruptor pistol on slow burn and a rotisserie......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3463
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oops, missed this one ...

Sneaky Scot wrote:
Does the shield damage have to be repaired via the normal rules, or does the Juggernaught receive a fresh, shiny and complete energy shield every turn?


Kang is absolutely correct. It is a fresh, shiny new shield each turn (as long as it is powered).
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pinecone
Fleet Captain


Joined: 03 May 2008
Posts: 1865
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ohh, now I get it.
_________________
Doomed to live in secret since discovering that the Air Force Tapes were a fantasy... Embarassed

"Your knowledge of my existence must be punished" Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DNordeen
Commander


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 519

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 11:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A fresh shield every turn is nasty! Well at least it requires power.
_________________
Speed is life; Patience is victory

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
junior
Captain


Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 803

PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup.

The "full strength shield every turn" feature of the Juggernaut is why there's so much emphasis on getting the shield to rotate away. If it weren't for that, then it wouldn't be too difficult to just blow the shield down over a couple of turns (the Fed Cruiser alone can do 64 points of damage just with Photons) and then hammer away at the engines without the Juggernaut being able to do a thing about it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1937
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The rule that specifies that all damage coming in from the #4 direction hits the engines is a real killer for the Juggernaut, and a real bonus for the Galactic players [for want of a better term]. One good hit through that rear arc and you don't have the power to get away and repair [even though the Juggernaut has an excellent repair capability], especially once they have smelled blood! So the Galactic players have essentially one real challenge [aside from avioding being hit by those phaser-4's] - co-ordinate their efforts sufficiently to hit him just that once with the shield turned away. For the Juggernaut player, it's even worth using your HET to get that rear arc turned away. In my game I failed to do that and got clobbered good and proper.

But that's really for a Tactics thread......
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group