Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Tholain Web Question

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jmt
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 394
Location: Plano, TX

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 3:11 am    Post subject: Tholain Web Question Reply with quote

We played the Seltorian assault on the Tholian star base scenario tonight and a question came up regarding the exact location of a web in a hex. Specifically (1) does a web occupy the entire hex, such that if a line of fire just enters the hex and leaves by an adjacent hexside, the line of fire is blocked for non-Tholian phasers and other weapons? and (2) does the web block the hexside itself such that fire along a web hexside is blocked?
_________________
jmt

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3489
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A web is considered to fill the entire hex. If the "line of sight" enters the hex, then the fire is blocked. If the line of fire follows along a hex edge, the fire is not blocked.

So, let's pull out a map panel and use teh big hex side. Hex 44 is a single web hex. A firing ship is in hex 35, presumably facing direction B. Our ship can fire into hexes 34, 43, 42, 52, 51, and (if it existed) 60. It cannot fire into hexes 54, 53, 62, 61, and 71.

Does that help?
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jmt
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 394
Location: Plano, TX

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, thanks.
_________________
jmt

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Mike
Captain


Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 1548
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2008 3:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So that would be just like the rule for whether planets block the line of fire. If the line of fire is along the hexside of a planet, the LoF is not blocked. If the LoF passes through any part of the planet hex, though, the LoF would be blocked (for a standard size planet).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3489
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2008 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, that is correct.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group