Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Pulsar question

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1949
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 9:53 pm    Post subject: Pulsar question Reply with quote

I like the new terrain rules in Communique #40, and especially the Pulsar rules because I have been awaiting them for a scenario I am designing.

Anyway, I have a question about Pulsar operations.

We see in Rule (6E2d) that the distortion caused by the Pulsar gives a +1 shift for weapons whose line of sight passes within 10 hexes of the Pulsar object.

Is that +1 shift subject to the previously published maximum of +3 in Rule (4A4)? I would assume it is; after all, the asteroid shift does not increase it beyond +3 in the example given [although the same could be said for the stealth bonus and EM in that example].
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3473
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I specifically referred to (4A4) to show that this modifier was treated just like any other potential modifier. So, yes, it is subject to the same +3 limit.

The only time the +3 limit won't apply is if the rule providing the modifier specifically exempts it from the limit. And, considering I didn't even exempt nebulas from the limit, I don't expect to see an example of that any time soon. Smile
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1949
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool. Thanks Mike.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1379

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Comments on the Pulsar rules: there should be a note that pulsar damage is halved in Fleet scale.

Also, since pulsar damage is resolved in the DF phase, who gets to decide when the pulsar damage is resolved if there are other volleys hitting the same ship in that impulse? My intuition is to treat it the same as enemy fire, i.e. the player can choose when to resolve the pulsar damage.
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1949
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

terryoc wrote:
My intuition is to treat it the same as enemy fire, i.e. the player can choose when to resolve the pulsar damage.

But he can't, though; the 'shooting' player gets to choose the order in which he fires his weapons.

But you're right, we do need to know if 'natural phenomenon' damage hits before or after weapon fire. I'd say before; that's what happens with asteroids [ok, it's in the movement phase, but hey] and whatever is adopted for Pulsars will probably need to be adopted for other 'direct-fire' damage-causing terrain too, to keep things simple.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3473
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eh, I don't see why the attacker can't decide whether he fired before or after the pulsar burst. So, while the attacker can't decide when, exactly, the burst happens, he can decide whether *his* attack is before or after the pulsar.

And, yes, the damage should be half for fleet scale. (Crap! Missed that!)
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group