Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Basic rule argument

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ericphillips
Commander


Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA, Sol, Gould Belt, Orion Arm, Milky Way Galaxy, Local Group, Universe Beta

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 9:44 pm    Post subject: Basic rule argument Reply with quote

I just tried to play a game with another guy, and immediately found a disagreement.

On the Federation CA, which is correct:

*Phasers #3 and 5 fire LF and RF respectively and phasers #4 and 6 fire into the L and R arcs respectively.

=OR=

*Phasers 3 & 4 can fire LF+L and phasers 5 & 6 can fire RF+R

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1371

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the boxes are paired or grouped, all the weapons can fire into all the arcs listed next to the group of boxes. So the second interpretation is correct:
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ericphillips
Commander


Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA, Sol, Gould Belt, Orion Arm, Milky Way Galaxy, Local Group, Universe Beta

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

terryoc wrote:
If the boxes are paired or grouped, all the weapons can fire into all the arcs listed next to the group of boxes. So the second interpretation is correct:


I knew I wasn't crazy! Well, I am crazy, but not wrong.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3437
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I gotta say that is the most inventive reading of the ship cards I have ever seen!

Terry is absolutely correct.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1929
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 7:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well it's interesting, because that was how we first interpreted the ship cards in (Designer's Edition) Star Fleet Battles when we first played it back in 1981. Each phaser fired into the arc next to its box, not the whole bank [group] firing into all the arcs given.

The puzzling one was what to do with the centre one of the three phaser-2's in the bow of the D7. We said that one could fire into all the arcs, then suddenly we realised that all the phasers in that bank could fire into all the arcs.

But we certainly didn't realise it straight away.....

So I can see where Eric's confusion came from - he was not alone! Smile
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ericphillips
Commander


Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA, Sol, Gould Belt, Orion Arm, Milky Way Galaxy, Local Group, Universe Beta

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to save face, I was doing it right. It was just playing this guy at the local FLGS I had never met before. He was really adamant I was wrong. He had that kind of passion that made me think, "If he is this crazy over a simple rule, he's either got an anger problem, or everyone I've played with has got it wrong." We didn't even play' he decided to play WOW miniatures instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Bolo_MK_XL
Commander


Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 778
Location: North Carolina

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Reminds me of a game (opponent wasn't a newbie either) under Cdrs rules, he had a Wild Weasel out, it took several drones, he took the 4 or 5 collateral damage ---

He was adament that the 4 or 5 damage wouldn't destroy the shuttle --- he totally forgot the drones did the damage that destroyed the shuttle, thus creating the collateral ---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1929
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ericphillips wrote:
"If he is this crazy over a simple rule, he's either got an anger problem, or everyone I've played with has got it wrong."

Then I'd say it was the anger problem..... Wink
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Requete
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 15 Jul 2008
Posts: 75
Location: Leander, TX

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ericphillips wrote:
Just to save face, I was doing it right. It was just playing this guy at the local FLGS I had never met before. He was really adamant I was wrong. He had that kind of passion that made me think, "If he is this crazy over a simple rule, he's either got an anger problem, or everyone I've played with has got it wrong." We didn't even play' he decided to play WOW miniatures instead.


You would have really saved face if you'd given him a Star Fleet double clavicle chop.
_________________
"In Klingon Empire, drone launches you!"

----

Pray the Chaplet of Divine Mercy:
http://www.catholicity.com/prayer/divinemercy.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike
Captain


Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 1526
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or better yet, the "McCoy Double Waist Neck Chop" combo...

(City on the Edge of Forever)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pinecone
Fleet Captain


Joined: 03 May 2008
Posts: 1865
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 1:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I never made that mistake. But I was playing fleet scale...
_________________
Doomed to live in secret since discovering that the Air Force Tapes were a fantasy... Embarassed

"Your knowledge of my existence must be punished" Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1929
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mike wrote:
... the "McCoy Double Waist Neck Chop" combo...

(City on the Edge of Forever)

McCoy's reinterpretation of 'Do No Harm'. Well, he didn't kill anyone!

Yes, I know he was all drugged up Wink
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Wolverin61
Commander


Joined: 16 Nov 2008
Posts: 496
Location: Mississippi

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2009 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

McCoy's money shot: "He's dead, Jim!" Wink
_________________
"His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group