Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Rules question: attacking a BATS

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Federation & Empire
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jmt
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 394
Location: Plano, TX

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2010 11:19 pm    Post subject: Rules question: attacking a BATS Reply with quote

If I am attacking an undefended BATS (i.e. no fleet defending it), do we have to resolve the 4 SIDS steps before the BATS is crippled?

If so, is this done by scoring 18 points of damage on the BATS per SIDS step?

We just played Turn 1 of <i>The Wind</I> and the Kzinti left a BATS to its own devices. We ran the combat where the Lyrans had to work through the SIDS levels, but we couldn't find it explicitly in the rules.

Thanks
jmt
_________________
jmt

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Sgt_G
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 285
Location: Offutt AFB, Nebraska

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No. If you have enough power to smack it down with one blow, you may do so. See rule (308.81).
_________________
Garth L. Getgen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmt
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 394
Location: Plano, TX

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

While SIDS is an option, as specified in (308.81), if the attacker doesn't choose to use SIDS, does the damage resolution revert to (302.6)?

According to (302.615), if the attacker doesn't choose SIDS, the defender would take voluntary SIDS steps for 4 points. Is that correct?
_________________
jmt

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Sweeper
Lieutenant SG


Joined: 26 Dec 2006
Posts: 183
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I recall the standard damage allocation rules correctly, the remaining amount of damage done must be equal or higher to the smallest defense factor in the fleet to count. If the the BATS is the only one there and uncrippled, 4 points isn't going to cut it as you need at least 6 points to cripple. If the the BATS 'is' crippled, then 4 points would definitely do the trick to destroy it. Yeah, rule 302.61 covers that.

I think the Voluntary SIDS rule only comes into play where SIDS can be used, ie the BATS has freindly ships in the battleforce providing cover for it. No ships covering the BATS, no SIDS.
_________________
I'm wise enough to know that I don't know half as much as I think I know, you know?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1379

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Forgive my ignorance: If the attacker did not score enough damage to cripple the BATS in one battle round (assuming SIDS are not used), what happens to the damage? Is it carried forward into the next battle round until there's enough to cripple something?
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jmt
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 394
Location: Plano, TX

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sweeper wrote:
I think the Voluntary SIDS rule only comes into play where SIDS can be used, ie the BATS has friendly ships in the battleforce providing cover for it. No ships covering the BATS, no SIDS.


This makes sense, but I couldn't find it in the rules when it said where SIDS was to be used.
_________________
jmt

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Scoutdad
Commodore


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 4467
Location: Middle Tennessee

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

terryoc wrote:
Forgive my ignorance: If the attacker did not score enough damage to cripple the BATS in one battle round (assuming SIDS are not used), what happens to the damage? Is it carried forward into the next battle round until there's enough to cripple something?


Yes Terry. If there are damage points remaining after the fighters aredestoryed, but not enough to cripple the base - then they are carried into the next combat round as +points and are added to that rounds damage... and so on until the total damage potential will cripple the BATS.
_________________


Scoutdad's minis photos here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
jmt
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 394
Location: Plano, TX

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LRAH* but I think if there are insufficient points to damage the station w/o resorting to minus points, the defender has to take voluntary SIDS to take the damage points.

*LRAH: Left Rules At Home
_________________
jmt

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Sweeper
Lieutenant SG


Joined: 26 Dec 2006
Posts: 183
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@jmt- Being an Advanced Rule (308.8 ), It's decided upon before the game starts. Having used it recently, I would not be be opposed to it's use in future games. I just looked through my rulebook (F&E 2000) and I didn't see any spot in saying it was 'required' for use at anytime during the game, (someone please check me on that?).

That being said, it's usally 'implied' that all agreed upon rules set up beforehand remain in full effect for the duration game for better or worse. Fairplay and and all that good stuff. Individual groups will have their own veiws on how to play the game.

@Scoutdad: I missed the part of the carryover damage, what rule is that? The 4PW scenario I'm playing in is going to have a lot base busting and it, (as I'm sure you know well Smile ), so it'll be important. Thanks in advance.
_________________
I'm wise enough to know that I don't know half as much as I think I know, you know?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Federation & Empire All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group