Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

2 volleys from one ship?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pinecone
Fleet Captain


Joined: 03 May 2008
Posts: 1865
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 1:31 am    Post subject: 2 volleys from one ship? Reply with quote

Example: I have a Fed CA with overloaded photons. I want to fire my phasers at their energy, plus the overloads which can't use directed targeting. Am I allowed to do that?
_________________
Doomed to live in secret since discovering that the Air Force Tapes were a fantasy... Embarassed

"Your knowledge of my existence must be punished" Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1371

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No. Any volley which contains overloads is prohibited from using directed targeting.
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
pinecone
Fleet Captain


Joined: 03 May 2008
Posts: 1865
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 1:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I mean, can I fire two different volleys?
_________________
Doomed to live in secret since discovering that the Air Force Tapes were a fantasy... Embarassed

"Your knowledge of my existence must be punished" Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wolverin61
Commander


Joined: 16 Nov 2008
Posts: 496
Location: Mississippi

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 1:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check out this thread.
_________________
"His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pinecone
Fleet Captain


Joined: 03 May 2008
Posts: 1865
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 1:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That will help, thanks!

One other question, can you purposely split the volleys for no apparent reason?
_________________
Doomed to live in secret since discovering that the Air Force Tapes were a fantasy... Embarassed

"Your knowledge of my existence must be punished" Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike
Captain


Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 1526
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 2:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The way I read the referenced threads, you can't fire different volleys from the same ship against the same target in the same Impulse (one volley using directed targeting and the other not using it) if all the weapons being used could possibly use directed targeting (this would include photons).
_________________
Mike

=====
"Sometimes our best is not enough. We must do what is required." -- Winston Churchill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3437
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 3:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Correct.

If you (a single ship) are firing overloads and phasers (or overloads and normal loads) in the same impulse at the same target, they are done in a single volley that cannot use directed targetting.

The only time you (a single ship) get to use two different volleys at the same target in the same impulse is if your fire includes ESGs or hellbores, which are restricted from using directed targetting.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pinecone
Fleet Captain


Joined: 03 May 2008
Posts: 1865
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, not the answer I was hoping for, but thanks for clearing that up. Smile
_________________
Doomed to live in secret since discovering that the Air Force Tapes were a fantasy... Embarassed

"Your knowledge of my existence must be punished" Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1371

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As an addition to Mike West's post, shield crackers are also always a separate volley, because they only affect shields.
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group