Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Transporters - Tractors

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mike
Captain


Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 1565
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 2:41 am    Post subject: Transporters - Tractors Reply with quote

Can anyone think of any particular case where it would make a difference whether transporter activity or tractor activity occurred first during the Other Functions Phase of an Impulse?
_________________
Mike

=====
"Sometimes our best is not enough. We must do what is required." -- Winston Churchill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wolverin61
Commander


Joined: 16 Nov 2008
Posts: 497
Location: Mississippi

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 2:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Off the top of my head, I can't.
_________________
"His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pmiller13
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 12 May 2009
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 3:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I can think of a case. If someone conducts hit and run raids and gets the targets last tractor beam than they can not fight a tractor attempt (or is that in SFB only). There for it matters which comes first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3498
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmiller13 wrote:
Yes I can think of a case. If someone conducts hit and run raids and gets the targets last tractor beam than they can not fight a tractor attempt (or is that in SFB only). There for it matters which comes first.

Not the case. You do not need a tractor box to use negative tractor (5D6a). So, you can always fight a tractor attempt.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pmiller13
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 12 May 2009
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 5:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oops, my bad thought that was the case. Have to make sure doing that right in the future. Than as to the question asked I can not think of a reason as to which comes first tractor or transporter...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Sgt_G
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 287
Location: Offutt AFB, Nebraska

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 6:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What about a hit-&-run on a tractor holding a drone??
_________________
Garth L. Getgen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1380

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, if a ship has grabbed me in a tractor for a Gorn Anchor, a successful H&R raid on the specific tractor being used to tractor me will break the tractor. So it could make a difference.
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1967
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sgt_G wrote:
What about a hit-&-run on a tractor holding a drone??

That's what I was thinking too, Garth.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mike
Captain


Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 1565
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The reason I posed this question was because I was making out a little chart of all the possible activities that occur during a Turn and noticed that the sequence of play cards that came in Orion Attack have the transporter-tractor sequence reversed from what it is in the rules.
_________________
Mike

=====
"Sometimes our best is not enough. We must do what is required." -- Winston Churchill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group