Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Orion engine doubling question

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
eblack
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 29 May 2007
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 1:01 am    Post subject: Orion engine doubling question Reply with quote

I have the Reference Rulebook (5th edition) and under 5L3 for engine doubling there appears to be a confliction. In the first paragraph it decribes how Orion ships lose two warp engine boxes to reflect the amount of damage done and indicates that a given ship must double all of its warp engines or none of them.

In the third paragraph it gives a number of ships (DN, BCH, etc) which lose one box per engine and have the option to double one at a time.

It seems to me that the first paragraph is a general statement which applies unless overridden by the rules below. But I want to be certain.


Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wedge_hammersteel
Commander


Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Posts: 579
Location: Lafayette, LA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check out communique 42: (5L3) There is a contradiction in this rule about how many engines you can double at one time. The original rule was all of them, but Orion Attack changed that to allow any ship to double one engine at a time.

With the rule update/clarification, I understand it to be a player is allowed to double one engine at a time thus losing only one box in the doubled engine.

Some orion ships have 3 engines so you can double 1, 2, or 3 engines and lose 1, 2, or 3 boxes respectively.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1379

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some ships double both but only lose 1 engine box, IIRC. the LR loses only one box if it doubles both engines. At fleet scale, it marks the "warp det" box, and if the warp det box is marked already, it takes one box of engine damage and clears teh warp det box.
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Mike
Captain


Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 1556
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And with the LR, once it has waited the one Turn before repairing the one engine box that is lost due to doubling, it can, from that point on in a game, keep repairing one engine box and double the remaining 9 every Turn (assuming it doesn't need to repair anything else).

All this is Squadron Scale.
_________________
Mike

=====
"Sometimes our best is not enough. We must do what is required." -- Winston Churchill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
OGOPTIMUS
Captain


Joined: 10 Nov 2006
Posts: 981

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 12:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to wrap my head around this one.

The LR (near) continuous doubling works by "rotating" which box is lost each turn and repairing the one that was lost the last turn? So...

On turn 1; Warp Power = 10. Double All. Kill box 1. Warp Power = 9.
On turn 2; Warp power = 9. Double All. Repair box 1 and kill box 2. Warp Power = 9.
On turn 3; Warp Power = 9. Double All. Repair box 2 and kill box 3. Warp Power = 9.
On turn 4; Warp Power = 9. Double All. Repair box 3 and kill box 4. Warp Power = 9.

Lather, rinse, repeat...

Is this how I should see it?

This should also work for the SLV and DBR too, right?

There's no restriction on repairing boxes from engines that have been doubled?

And of course, there's the small fact of losing your stealth coating benefit for any turn that you double your engines. Just food for thought.
_________________
O.G. OPTIMUS


NEW Page | OLD Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mike
Captain


Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 1556
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 2:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's the way I see it.
_________________
Mike

=====
"Sometimes our best is not enough. We must do what is required." -- Winston Churchill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bolo_MK_XL
Commander


Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 790
Location: North Carolina

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 3:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Personally see it as a nice miniature supernova as it goes boom -- whaaaaaaaaaa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1960
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Remember also that the engine doubling loses you the stealth bonus for the turn. So yes you can get unlimited extra power [the Slaver can do this as well as the LR] but the enemy can hit you more easily too. Worth thinking about.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3492
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not that big of a deal. You will probably be getting real damage (remember even just a leak point will start messing up this schedule) before too long, anyway.

Don't forget that the bigger ships can do the exact same thing as long as they are doubling a single engine. (Well, this doesn't work for the fleet scale versions of the CR, BR, and BC/CA; only the squadron scale.)
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group