Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Hello
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Warden
Ensign

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 12:02 am    Post subject: Hello Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm new to FC, and I want to buy the new FC Reference manual, the one with all the rules. I was going to get Klingon Border.

Would you recommend getting both? I want the latest rules, but they don't come with any of the materials needed to play.

Thanks all
Mike
Fleet Captain

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 1:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As long as you have one of the game sets, I would *highly* recommend the reference manual.

=====
Sandpaper gets the job done, but makes for a lot of friction.
marcus_aurelius
Lieutenant Commander

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 4:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To play with just Klingon Border you don't need the Reference Rulebook.

Once you start adding Romulan Border, Distant Kingdoms, etc. with new weapons systems, that is when the Reference Rulebook becomes very, very useful. You only have to flip through one rulebook rather than multiple expansion-specific books.
Warden
Ensign

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 7:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks all

I think I'll get the best of both worlds

===================

Another question, I've played Full Thrust and enjoyed it, but found it a bit lacking in the rules crunch and options departmrent. How does FC compare?
Warden
Ensign

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

(Almost 8 years to the day when I first wrote this post!)