View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
FatSteve Ensign
Joined: 30 Jan 2010 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Sun Dec 12, 2010 6:03 pm Post subject: Damage Allocation Question |
|
|
I know this is not that big a deal in most games, but my group has started using FC to play out the battles in a game of F&E, so the difference between dead and mostly dead becomes important to the strategic aspect of the campaign. We ran into this question yesterday when I was pounding a Lyran FF that foolishly got too close to my battlestation.
Here is the situation: The Lyran FF had been severely beaten. It had only a few systems left when I hit it for 8 more damage to put it out of my misery. The first few points we allocated using the normal DAC. We got several "skips" because so many systems were destroyed, and hit a few others. We ended up with 3 points of damage that the DAC could not "reach" because they kept turning back into "skips." (All the undestroyed system types were at least 6 hits "deep" into the DAC.)
My question is, is there an official way to deal with this? We just allowed the owning player to allocate the remaining hits, but naturally he did so in a way that resulted in the ship not being destroyed. (Meaning, in this campaign, he will be able to repair it and use it against me later.) I thought it seemed more likely the ship would be destroyed, but couldn't find any rule one way or the other.
The only thing close was the rule stating that once all of the other systems on the ship were destroyed, all remaining hits must be scored on the frame. But in our case, there were still undestroyed system boxes.
Has this come up before? Am I missing something?
FatSteve |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
storeylf Fleet Captain
Joined: 24 Jul 2008 Posts: 1887
|
Posted: Sun Dec 12, 2010 6:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The damage allocation requires that you keep going down the track until you reach the end (box 10) or allocate all damage. You don't roll for another track after 3 skips (for 3 damage).
e.g. if I have 3 points of damage to allocate and roll a 6, but the target has no weapons or reactor (so skipping the first 3 boxes), then you should carry on with shuttle - tractor - F Hull.
Doing it like that ensures that you will always allocate at a minimum 1 frame on the 10th box (as that is warp/frame) on each roll on the DAC. You might have to do that 3 times to allocate 3 points. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
FatSteve Ensign
Joined: 30 Jan 2010 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Sun Dec 12, 2010 6:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks! That clears things up. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|