Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Andro and rounding

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
storeylf
Fleet Captain


Joined: 24 Jul 2008
Posts: 1875

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:08 pm    Post subject: Andro and rounding Reply with quote

For smaller andro ships, especially at fleet scale, it is possible to have small fractions of power in batteries, e.g 5 power - 1 decel = 4.25 left.

If during a power dump you catch power but are left with a tiny fraction is that still resolved as a point of damage. At the extreme there could be just 1/8 of power left. Does any fraction round up to a damage point or only where it would be half or greater?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Steve Cole
Site Admin


Joined: 11 Oct 2006
Posts: 3067

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[Edited by mod with permission]

If a fractional point of power remains to be taken as internals, then apply a full point of power, leaving a fractional amount of room in the batteries.

So, if going through the whole procedure results in 5 1/4 energy points that need to be taken as internals, apply 6 points of damage, but the batteries will have 3/4 empty "space".

This just seemed fairer than rounding.
_________________
The Guy Who Designed Fed Commander
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
storeylf
Fleet Captain


Joined: 24 Jul 2008
Posts: 1875

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To clarify that:

Effectively you can only catch whole points of energy when catching power in batteries from either panel dump or cascade damage.

e.g. If I have 6 batteries holding 10.25 power currently and drop a panel bank, and 20 energy is left (after the other panel caught any) to either be caught in batteries or be taken as damage, I will catch 19 in battery and take 1 damage, rather than catch 19.75 and leave the .25 to be dealt with as a rounding problem.

Or in the above case if a satelite ship was in the hangar then the battery catches 19 and the sat ship catches 1. That is subtely different than your wording which only kicks in if damage would result, in this case no damage would result, but the rounding issue is still dealt with cleanly (no fractions in a sat ships panel).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3489
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the wording that will be used:
Quote:
(3G5c5) It is theoretically possible that a fractional energy point could be released in this way. As there are no fractional damage points, release one full point of energy and score one point of internal damage.


In the second case, the energy point hitting the satellite ship is basically internal damage, it would still apply. Only batteries can handle fractional power.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1955
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 6:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

But what happens if there is no room in the batteries?

Also remember that you can't do a voluntary power dump if this would result in internal damage. So, this problem would only happen in the case of a damaged panel, right?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1379

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Panels can't contain partial points of power.

So, for example, your batteries are full except for half a point of power. A panel involuntarily dumps 1 point of power. That point of power doesn't fit, so it is one point of internal damage with your batteries still having half a point of empty capacity.
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1955
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

'ping' Primeval light dawns in the brain Embarassed Ah, got it. Thanks, Terry Smile
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
storeylf
Fleet Captain


Joined: 24 Jul 2008
Posts: 1875

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mjwest wrote:

In the second case, the energy point hitting the satellite ship is basically internal damage, it would still apply. Only batteries can handle fractional power.


I'll have to check tonight, just be clear, but from memory my understanding was that if a panel releases energy, voluntary or not, it goes (ignoring EMods)

1. catch by other panel
2. catch by battery
3. catch by sat ship panels
4. internal damage to ship.

You can't voluntarily dump if you would take damage (thanks Kang I'd forgotten that in my previous post, although that was in fact the point of the original post as it may become relevant in my email game shortly). I took step 4 as being the damage step. Are you saying you can't dump if you woud hit step 3 as that is also considered internal damage?


Last edited by storeylf on Thu Feb 03, 2011 2:15 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1379

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, power transferred to panels of satellite ships in the hangar as a result of a dump is not internal damage, whether voluntary or not.

If an Andromedan ship does take internal damage, and a "shuttle" hit is scored, it is scored on panels of sat ships in the hangar, if any (and if the panels of all sat ships in the hangar are full, then a sat ship would take internal damage). That's where the confusion is coming from.
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3489
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Terry is correct. I was trying to make an equivalency that was a bad idea, because it runs smack into a different rule. Yes, you can dump if the power goes to a satellite ship.

Regardless, only the batteries can handle fractional power.

In response to Kang, if there is no room in the batteries, then there are no fractional power points. Only batteries can handle fractional power, but on the other hand, batteries are also the only thing that will cause fractional power. So, if you have full batteries, the problem is moot.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1955
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, that all makes sense now. Thank you all, gentlemen Smile
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group