Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Question on multi-ship volleys

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JonPerry
Lieutenant SG


Joined: 12 Jul 2010
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 2:08 pm    Post subject: Question on multi-ship volleys Reply with quote

Firing in the Offensive Fire Phase is simultaneous.

But how simultaneous is it?

Two Feds line up on a Klink's intact #2 shield.
Fed #1 hits with 2 overloaded photons, which will bring the shield down.
Fed #2 is firing only phasers, aiming for weapon systems. He does not roll well enough to break through the Klink shield on his own.

How is this resolved?

Second situation - same as before, but this time each Fed is inflicting enough damage for each of them to drop the Klink shield independantly. Now, as the shield was intact at the start of the Offensive Fire Phase, is the Klink allowed to burn batteries for specific shield reinforcement against each incoming volley (assuming enough power, etc)?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3495
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fire is simultaneous in that all any weapon that has been declared to fire can still fire even if disabled in this phase.

When multiple ships are firing, all fire is first declared. So everyone knows who is firing what and at whom. Then, the players decide who will resolve their fire first (assuming both sides have fired). (It doesn't matter who goes first.) In the case below, let's assume the Fed goes first. Since the Fed is firing, he gets to determine which of his ships will fire first. Since he is rational and conniving, obviously he will have ship #1 fire first, bringing down the Klingon ship's shield (and probably doing a handful of damage). Once all of that damage is resolved, ship #2 gets to roll to see what it does. Since it is firing through a down shield, it is all internals at this point. This is all from (1E2d). In summary, the firing player determines the order his ships' fire will be resolved.

In the second situation, each ship's fire is a separate volley. As such, the Klingon is theoretically able to reinforce against both volleys. However, if the first volley disables all the Klingon's batteries, or if the shield is completely dropped by the first ship's fire, then he cannot reinforce against the second ship, as one of the conditions of reinforcement (either un-disabled batteries or at least one active shield box) is not present.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JonPerry
Lieutenant SG


Joined: 12 Jul 2010
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, Mike.

I had looked in the section on volleys and the section on how to take damage and the section on shield reinforcement and didn't see the answers there.

Didn't check 1Ed2. Have to do that when I get home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group