Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Paravian and Carnivon questions

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1378

PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 8:04 am    Post subject: Paravian and Carnivon questions Reply with quote

Phaser damage on Quantum Wave Torpedoes (4JQ): It takes 5 points of damage to remove the splash element and 11 more to reduce the main element to zero (4JQ3f2). Is this damage all-or-nothing, or does it reduce the warhead pro-rata like a regular plasma torpedo? I get the impression that the QWT will remain at full strength until eliminated. Example: a QWT which has travelled for two impulses takes four points of phaser damage and impacts. Its damage is 1-5-1. If it had taken 1 more point of damage, it would be 0-5-0. If it had taken a total of 15 points, it would still be 0-5-0. One more point of damage and it would be destroyed. Is this correct?

Heel nippers (4HN): Which effects are cumulative? Example: A ship is hit by TWO heel nippers on the same impulse, triggering (4HN2c). Both nippers target the left engine. The effects are: it loses TWO boxes from the left engine, loses ONE hex of movement (because this is not cumulative), and turns ONCE (because the two hits to the left engine are not additive by (4HN2d)). Is this interpretation correct?

Death Bolts (4G3): Special Death Bolt Targeting (4G3D): When does the launching player decide the Death Bolt's special targeting? Is it at launch? Can this be changed? Is this public like all other information about seeking weapons?
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3463
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1) Yes, the damage is all-or-nothing. So, a QWT with 4 points of damage is still full strength. A QWT with 15 points of damage still retains its main damage element and has only lost its splash.

2) You look to have it correctly understood. This is what the rule states. The first bullet point of (4HN2c) is cumulative, as there is nothing stating it isn't. The second bullet point is not cumulative as stated. The third bullet point is more fully explained in (4HN2d).

In (4HN2d) it says that the effects are not additive, so the fact that you hit the left engine twice means it can only be forced to turn once. Had you, for example, hit the left engine once and the right engine once, then the effect would have cancelled out, and there would have been no turn.

3) Yeah, this should have been clearer. The special targeting is declared at the time of launch. It can't be changed after launch. It is public like everything else in Federation Commander.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Jiraiya1969
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 17 May 2007
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2014 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wasn't aware there were FC rules for these races.

Where can they be found?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nerroth
Captain


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 1548
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2014 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Provisional rules (and sample Ship Cards) for Module C6's "lost empires" are in Captain's Log #48. There's a discussion thread over here if you have any thoughts on how they are shaping up so far.
_________________
FC Omega Discussion (v3)
FC LMC Discussion
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group