Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Tractors and drones or suicide shuttles
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ncrcalamine
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 228

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 7:55 am    Post subject: Tractors and drones or suicide shuttles Reply with quote

You are in the same hex as your enemy and you are tractored.
Your enemy launches a drone at you, when does it hit?
Does it hit in sub pulse 1 even though neither your ship or the drones has moved? if you are moving at speed 16 even after the tractor, do you have a chance to move and change your facing or slip out of the hex.

Same questions for a suicide shuttle.


Thank you


Nicole
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike
Captain


Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 1548
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Drones and suicide shuttles always move last in the sub-pulses in which they move.

A drone moving at speed 24 would move in sub-pulses 2, 3, and 4. If your ship is moving at speed 16, it would move before the drone would move in sub-pulse 2. This would give you an opportunity to change facing if you have fulfilled your turn mode.
_________________
Mike

=====
"Sometimes our best is not enough. We must do what is required." -- Winston Churchill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3489
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Based on (4F2c), if a seeking weapon is launched at a target in the same hex, and if the target does not leave the hex on the first sub-pulse, the seeking weapon will hit on the first sub-pulse.

So, a ship held in a tractor is guaranteed to be hit by a seeking weapon launched in the same hex, regardless of the speed of the seeking weapon.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bolenbr
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 01 Jul 2011
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

but the tractored ship does get defensive fire and is also able to use his own tractor beam to hold the drone. Correct?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3489
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, yes, of course!

I was merely talking up to the point of impact.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JonPerry
Lieutenant SG


Joined: 12 Jul 2010
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
So, a ship held in a tractor is guaranteed to be hit by a seeking weapon launched in the same hex, regardless of the speed of the seeking weapon.
Assuming the tractoring ship isn't moving.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3489
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JonPerry wrote:
Quote:
So, a ship held in a tractor is guaranteed to be hit by a seeking weapon launched in the same hex, regardless of the speed of the seeking weapon.
Assuming the tractoring ship isn't moving.

Actually, it doesn't matter when the tractor is involved.

The only way to get out of the hex on the first sub-pulse is to be moving 24+1. If a ship is tractored, it loses at least one level of baseline speed. That means it will have a maximum baseline speed of 16. Ergo, it cannot go fast enough to get out of the hex.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
storeylf
Fleet Captain


Joined: 24 Jul 2008
Posts: 1878

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Even if it is moving, it can't be moving at 24+ whilst tractoring something, so it will be hit.
[edit - which MWest just covered in a cross post]

I'm not sure about the ability to tractor seekers whilst being tractored yourself. 5D5c allows another ship to kill your exiting tractor beams by tractoring you, presumably that means you would have to outbid any existing tractor before you can tractor a drone. There are no chains of tractored units in this game.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3489
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

storeylf wrote:
I'm not sure about the ability to tractor seekers whilst being tractored yourself. 5D5c allows another ship to kill your exiting tractor beams by tractoring you, presumably that means you would have to outbid any existing tractor before you can tractor a drone. There are no chains of tractored units in this game.

There are no chains of tractored ships in this game.

Basically, you can only tractor or be tractored by one other ship. Tractoring little stuff (drones, shuttles, pucks, etc.) is not under that restriction. So, if you have tractored a drone (whether defensively or offensively), another ship tractoring you will not break that link.

Think of it this way: If the tractor will affect your movement, you may only have one such tractor at a time. If the tractor will not affect your movement, you may have more than one such tractor at a time.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bolenbr
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 01 Jul 2011
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

but there is nothing any other ship can do to stop you from being hit. Lets say you have a CA being tractored in the same hex as your ship and you have an escort two hexes away. Your escort ship could not fire at the drone since it impacts you before the next firing phase. That is correct isn't it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3489
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bolenbr wrote:
but there is nothing any other ship can do to stop you from being hit. Lets say you have a CA being tractored in the same hex as your ship and you have an escort two hexes away. Your escort ship could not fire at the drone since it impacts you before the next firing phase. That is correct isn't it

Yes, that is correct. Your ship is gonna get hit and will need to shoot down the drone with its own weapons in the Defensive Fire phase. That's what happens with limited fire opportunities and point-blank launches.

[This assumes you did not mean the 'escort' was a (3F) Aegis Escort. If so, the answer is different, as an aegis escort can fire in support of another ship in the other ship's defensive fire phase.]
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bolenbr
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 01 Jul 2011
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I barely recall Aegis Escorts from SFB. Are they also in fed com? if so what expansion.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3489
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bolenbr wrote:
I barely recall Aegis Escorts from SFB. Are they also in fed com? if so what expansion.

Hydran Attack and the Reference Rulebook. Some ships are present in Booster 92.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
storeylf
Fleet Captain


Joined: 24 Jul 2008
Posts: 1878

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mjwest wrote:

There are no chains of tractored ships in this game....


Mm, maybe 5D5c needs clarifying - it is quite specific in its wording;

If ship A tractors ship B which has already tractored unit C ..

That certainly reads that if the second ship is tractoring any unit (and not merely ships) then the tractor breaks unless B increases his tractor power. Plus 5D5 is about tractoring 'objects' like drones, and not just ships which come under 5D6 (so the rules really do seem to be saying you can't tractor anything whilst you are tractored).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3489
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fair enough. Let me check again tonight. I might have screwed that up.

Regardless, you may always use tractors defensively regardless of other tractor activity, as long as you have available, unused tractors.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group