Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Additional Boarding Party and Self-Destruction Questions

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JimDauphinais
Commander


Joined: 22 Nov 2009
Posts: 756
Location: Chesterfield, MO

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 7:06 pm    Post subject: Additional Boarding Party and Self-Destruction Questions Reply with quote

This might have been missed where it was posted as a followup to my earlier Marine Combat Phase and Self-Destruction sequence question (or it may simply be waiting in the queue until the ongoing targeting your own drones question is fully resolved).

Assumptions:

A defending ship has started its turn with 16 attacking marines and 2 defending marines.

During one of the Other Function Phases of that turn, the defending ship evacuates its crew (5E7) so that the ship can be subject to Self-Destruction (3E3) at the end of that turn.


Questions:

Does the evacuation of the crew also evacuate all defending marines such that the ship will have no defending marines during the Marine Combat Phase (1E3c) of that turn?

If the ship is captured by the attacking marines during the Marine Combat Phase (1E3c) of that turn, will it prevent the subsequent Self-Destruction (3E3) of that ship at the end of the turn?
_________________
Jim Dauphinais, Chesterfield, MO

St. Louis Area Fed Comm Group: http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/STL_Federation_Commander/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1950
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 8:41 pm    Post subject: Re: Additional Boarding Party and Self-Destruction Questions Reply with quote

JimDauphinais wrote:
Does the evacuation of the crew also evacuate all defending marines such that the ship will have no defending marines during the Marine Combat Phase (1E3c) of that turn?

I asked that same question a couple of weeks ago - defending Marines are evacuated along with the rest of the crew, and are available as working Marines when they get to their rescuing ship/
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
JimDauphinais
Commander


Joined: 22 Nov 2009
Posts: 756
Location: Chesterfield, MO

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kang wrote:
JimDauphinais wrote:
Does the evacuation of the crew also evacuate all defending marines such that the ship will have no defending marines during the Marine Combat Phase (1E3c) of that turn?

I asked that same question a couple of weeks ago - defending Marines are evacuated along with the rest of the crew, and are available as working Marines when they get to their rescuing ship/



Yes, I see it here:

http://www.starfleetgames.com/federation/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?p=52614#52614

Great. That now only leaves this one to be answered:

Quote:
If the ship is captured by the attacking marines during the Marine Combat Phase (1E3c) of that turn, will it prevent the subsequent Self-Destruction (3E3) of that ship at the end of the turn?

_________________
Jim Dauphinais, Chesterfield, MO

St. Louis Area Fed Comm Group: http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/STL_Federation_Commander/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3479
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 3:27 am    Post subject: Re: Additional Boarding Party and Self-Destruction Questions Reply with quote

JimDauphinais wrote:
If the ship is captured by the attacking marines during the Marine Combat Phase (1E3c) of that turn, will it prevent the subsequent Self-Destruction (3E3) of that ship at the end of the turn?

Let's go with, "Yes."

If you have captured the ship then you control it (within the limits given in the rules). Stopping the self-destruct in such case seems completely reasonable.

Fail to capture, however, and the marines on that ship are destroyed with the ship.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JimDauphinais
Commander


Joined: 22 Nov 2009
Posts: 756
Location: Chesterfield, MO

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 5:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks.
_________________
Jim Dauphinais, Chesterfield, MO

St. Louis Area Fed Comm Group: http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/STL_Federation_Commander/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1950
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:09 am    Post subject: Re: Additional Boarding Party and Self-Destruction Questions Reply with quote

mjwest wrote:
JimDauphinais wrote:
If the ship is captured by the attacking marines during the Marine Combat Phase (1E3c) of that turn, will it prevent the subsequent Self-Destruction (3E3) of that ship at the end of the turn?

Let's go with, "Yes."

If you have captured the ship then you control it (within the limits given in the rules). Stopping the self-destruct in such case seems completely reasonable.

Fail to capture, however, and the marines on that ship are destroyed with the ship.

Sorry, but I have to protest this one Smile There is no mention in the FC rules regarding preventing self-destruction, as far as I can see. Evacuating a ship means you can self-destruct at the end of the turn. No exceptions to this are listed. This looks like an SFB-ism.....
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
storeylf
Fleet Captain


Joined: 24 Jul 2008
Posts: 1845

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is in the rules.

You do self destruct at the end of a turn. Nothing says you can self destruct someone elses ship, and if the ship was captured prior to the end of the turn then it is someone elses ship at the point you would have other wise self destructed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mojo_billbo
Commander


Joined: 07 Mar 2010
Posts: 428
Location: Danville, PA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, that's very clear, so I won't be able to evac and destroy the ship, since your marines will be able to stop the self destruction.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1950
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

storeylf wrote:
It is in the rules.

You do self destruct at the end of a turn. Nothing says you can self destruct someone elses ship, and if the ship was captured prior to the end of the turn then it is someone elses ship at the point you would have other wise self destructed.

Since you put it that way...... I surrender. But I'm not going to self-destruct Wink
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3479
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lee pretty much explained my logic.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group