Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Suicide shuttles launched in hex of ship

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ncrcalamine
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 228

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:20 pm    Post subject: Suicide shuttles launched in hex of ship Reply with quote

Suicide shuttles launched in the hex of a ship moving speed 24. The speed 24 ship cannot accelerate. Do the suicide shuttles hit.

Thanks
Nicole
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
storeylf
Fleet Captain


Joined: 24 Jul 2008
Posts: 1880

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MWest covered same hex launch here. I doubt shuttles are any different, so the ship moves 3 hexes before the shuttle does, so the shuttle never hits.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m1a1dat
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 17 Dec 2008
Posts: 95
Location: 91320

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe that is incorrect elf. If a seeking weapon and it's target end any sub impulse in the same hex together then the seeking weapon hits. So if the target can not accelerate out of the hex on sub 1 then the seeking weapon (regardless of what type) hits; and would hit the same shield that the launching ship would have just fired at on the launching impulse.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
storeylf
Fleet Captain


Joined: 24 Jul 2008
Posts: 1880

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MM, I was thinking it had to be a subpulse the seeker moved. But yes, re-reading that post maybe it is any sub pulse?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3492
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

m1a1dat is correct. It is any sub-pulse, even if the seeking weapon doesn't move.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy


Last edited by mjwest on Tue Dec 11, 2012 9:47 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bolo_MK_XL
Commander


Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 791
Location: North Carolina

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 3:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can assume, anything that isn't stopped, is continually moving. It's moving across the hex, till it reaches the next hex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ncrcalamine
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 228

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm confused
is mm m1a1dat or someone else?
nicole
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3492
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ncrcalamine wrote:
i'm confused
is mm m1a1dat or someone else?

I certainly thought so. Smile

I have updated my message to be clear.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
m1a1dat
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 17 Dec 2008
Posts: 95
Location: 91320

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So another question: my ship A has tractored drones and/or SS (during the tractor step of a previous impulse) that are targeted on my ship B. Then through various methods my ship B ends up in the same hex as the tractored drones; do those drones then impact my ship B?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ncrcalamine
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 228

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rule 4F2c Same Hex

is very unclear.

It should be replaced with something like:

If you are in the same hex as a just launched seeking weapon targeted on you, you must be going speed 24+1 and move out of the hex in subpulse 1, otherwise the seeking weapon will impact at the end of subpulse 1.

thanks

Nicole
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3492
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

m1a1dat wrote:
So another question: my ship A has tractored drones and/or SS (during the tractor step of a previous impulse) that are targeted on my ship B. Then through various methods my ship B ends up in the same hex as the tractored drones; do those drones then impact my ship B?

Tractored drones cannot hit their targets. To hit a target, the drone must be released from tractor.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group