Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Drone Impact Question

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DNordeen
Commander


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 2:34 am    Post subject: Drone Impact Question Reply with quote

Need a clarification.

With drones, I've always played that if the target enters the drone's hex, then the drone impacts the target. However, it was pointed out to me that the rules make no mention of the target entering the drone's hex. 4F5a only mentions that the drone impacts if the drone enters the target's hex.

We ended up going with the drone isn't going to miss a target that flies into it, but is that correct?
_________________
Speed is life; Patience is victory

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Bolo_MK_XL
Commander


Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 778
Location: North Carolina

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 3:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would reference 4F2c ---
If launched in the same hex, and the ship doesn't move on Sub-pulse one, the drone impacts (even though it doesn't move) --
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ncrcalamine
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 228

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 3:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This also applies to suicide shuttles and plasma

Nicole
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bolo_MK_XL
Commander


Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 778
Location: North Carolina

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 3:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Though as you describe it, the only time it would happen is on Sub-impulse 1, if a speed 24 ship accelerated. Why it would move into that hex (larger swarm following etc).

The case as you describe wouldn't happen with a plasma, as it is always moving.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3436
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 4:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, a drone cannot "move through" its target. Whenever a ship moves into a drone's hex, the drone will impact.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DNordeen
Commander


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 4:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thx. Good to know I had it right Smile
_________________
Speed is life; Patience is victory

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group