Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Drone on Drone and ADDs

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sebastian380
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:33 am    Post subject: Drone on Drone and ADDs Reply with quote

Hello All,
A drone question this morning.
Drone A is targeted on drone B. Drone A enters the same hex as drone B and so they impact. At what point are the two drones removed from the board? And, does the owner of drone B have any opportunity to defend his drone against A? Can he, for instance, launch an ADD or fire a phaser at drone A?
Back to top
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3489
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Drone B can only be protected during the normal sequence of play. A ship can only fire on Drone A during the Offensive Fire phase. It can't be defended during the Defensive fire phase. An ADD could be used offensively (with the newer rules for ADDs), but not defensively.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bolo_MK_XL
Commander


Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 787
Location: North Carolina

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First would depend on whether drone B reached the hex of it's target --
If A arrived at the same time, or B is held in tractor then both impact the target.

Otherwise, (4F5c) Drone impact on another drone will destroy that drone. Both would immediately be removed from the board as no actions can be taken that impulse.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sebastian380
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you.
Back to top
ncrcalamine
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 228

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mike,
Just asking
Could an aegis defend the hit drone in def fire


Nicole
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3489
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No. When the two drones occupy the same hex, they are both immediately destroyed. They don't last until Defensive Fire; they are removed in that sub-pulse.

The reason for this is because if you don't do that, you can get really weird situations. For example:
Drone A is targeted on Drone B. Drone A hits Drone B in sub-pulse 2. However, since we have to wait until Defensive Fire to see if Drone B can be saved, it has to move for two more sub-pulses. It now hits *its* target in sub-pulse 4. This means that Drone B's impact is conditional. It's just ugly and gross, and the rules already say the drones are immediately removed from play on that sub-pulse. Let's just go with that.

Note that applies to suicide shuttles, too.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group