Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Stingers and Drones/Plasmas

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
paulgenna
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 21 Nov 2011
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 3:39 pm    Post subject: Stingers and Drones/Plasmas Reply with quote

The rules state a Stinger cannot crash into a ship and do damage but can a Stinger being chased by either a drone or Plasma suicide into an enemy ship and have the drone/plasma impact the the ship and do the damage which otherwise would have been done to the Stinger?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bolo_MK_XL
Commander


Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 785
Location: North Carolina

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It would have to crash into a Shuttlebay.
Though the way FC defense phase is written, I believe the ship would have chance to tractor it (ie suicide shuttle).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
storeylf
Fleet Captain


Joined: 24 Jul 2008
Posts: 1843

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no such thing as ramming/colliding in FedCom, 2A3g. This applies to all units, as noted even seekers do not actually ram, they merely explode as they get close enough to the enemy.

As stingers are not seekers they cannot even explode as they get close enough. The only method of suiciding is self destruct, which is at a different point in the sequence

Seems a fairly clear no, you cannot do what you are suggesting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3479
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is also no "crash landing" in an enemy ship's shuttle bay. (2D5c) specifically states that shuttles (including fighters) can only land on friendly ships.

A fighter cannot ram, crash into, or crash land onto an enemy ship. Fighters cannot be used as suicide shuttles, nor do they have a "suicide" option. Basically, the only way a fighter may harm an enemy ship is by firing its weapons at that ship.

Note that if a fighter lands on a friendly ship, any seeking weapons targeted on it will adopt the ship as the target. But that is only for friendly ships, not enemy ships, as there is no way to land on an enemy ship*.

So, no, the idea doesn't work.

[*]If the fighter were to outright surrender to the enemy ship and land as a captive, it could do so. But, there could be no double-cross. Once the fighter lands, it is unequivocally and irrevocably captured by the enemy.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bolo_MK_XL
Commander


Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 785
Location: North Carolina

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
[*]If the fighter were to outright surrender to the enemy ship and land as a captive, it could do so. But, there could be no double-cross. Once the fighter lands, it is unequivocally and irrevocably captured by the enemy.


Not like crashing one would allow you to get it back either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paulgenna
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 21 Nov 2011
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 9:13 pm    Post subject: Stinger Reply with quote

I did not think it was possible but wanted to make sure. It is good to know that the stinger landing will transfer the target to the ship once the stinger lands. I wondered if the drone would switch or self-destruct since it lost its target.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group