Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Vudar IPG?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DNordeen
Commander


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:00 am    Post subject: Vudar IPG? Reply with quote

OK...I have a rule contradiction and another rule that's seems confusing and I need clarification

1) 5R2a states you can only put energy into IPG capacitor at EA and end of turn. It also states that power cannot be added during the turn. However, 5R3b states "may include energy sent to the capacitor at time of discharge"

These two rules directly contradict each other. I'm going with 5R2a, but is that the right one?

2) 5R3 says when used in Ionic Wave Mode, the IPG can be used once (and only once) per turn. 5R1b says IPGs can use both modes in a turn, just not same impulse. I believe 5R3 is stating you can only use Ionic Wave Mode once per turn and not that you can only use the IPG once per turn. Is that correct? For future maybe rewording to "An IPG can be used in Ionic Wave Mode once per turn" would alleviate the confusion.
_________________
Speed is life; Patience is victory

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3436
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are correct on both points.

1) (5R2a) was updated to the "only put in power during EA and end of turn", but we obviously forgot to make sure (5R3b) reflected that. Don't know how we missed that as the decision on what to do took a while.

2) While admittedly not done in the clearest manner, (5R1b) does go out of its way to state that each mode has its own usage rate. So, yes, (5R3) may only be used once per turn, but (5R4) can be used once per impulse.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DNordeen
Commander


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 2:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thx
_________________
Speed is life; Patience is victory

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group