Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

web hexes

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
edwinfeds
Ensign


Joined: 05 Jan 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 3:49 am    Post subject: web hexes Reply with quote

Playing the Andromedans while attacking a starbase can the Andromedan Mother ships in one ring of Web transport it's satellite ships that are in the next ring of webs around a base back to the Mother ship during Transporter phase of a turn? Believe rule says as long as firing is allowed and not blocked by a web hex as long as there is a line of site for firing than transporters can be used. The Tholian players says I cannot do this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3463
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rule (5M1g-1) provides the basis for transporter interactions. So, a mothership trapped in one web hex could retrieve a satellite ship stuck in another web hex if one of the following conditions are true:
- They are in adjacent hexes.
- There are only open space hexes between the two.
In that second case, it is assumed (and required) that those open space hexes form a straight unbroken line. In other words, there must be a "line of sight" through only open hexes.

So, assuming that I have read your setup correctly, yes, you can retrieve the satellite ship via transporter.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
paulgenna
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 21 Nov 2011
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 6:07 pm    Post subject: Web Reply with quote

So a WC throwing a new web between the mother ship and the satellite ship would break any line of sight?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3463
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, a solidified web between a mothership and a satellite ship would prevent it from being recovered as long as the web strand is between the two.

But, that is pretty easy to circumvent. First, the web strand doesn't immediately solidify. That gives the mothership a brief opportunity to recover the satellite ship prior to the web strand solidifying.

Also, if the satellite ship simply rams the solidified web, then the mothership (assuming it is completely outside the web strand) can then recover the satellite ship at that point. (Or, of course, the mothership could ram the web and end up doing the same thing. Either way, if one is in the web and the other isn't, the recovery works just fine.

So, the answer is technically yes, but it is pretty easy to work around the situation.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group