Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

A question about Multihit

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> A Call to Arms Star Fleet
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Steve Johnson
Ensign


Joined: 16 Aug 2013
Posts: 7
Location: Athens, GA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2013 12:34 pm    Post subject: A question about Multihit Reply with quote

Here is a question that came up in our first ACTA: SF game on Satuirday. When firing a weapon that has Multihit, when it penetrates the shields on a roll of 6, does it still do the Multihit score of damage to the hull or the Multihit score number of Criticals, or just one of either? We ruled it did the Multihit score for damage, but only one critical.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
storeylf
Fleet Captain


Joined: 24 Jul 2008
Posts: 1832

PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2013 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If a photon, multi hit 4, penetrates a shield then you have done 4 hits. Each hit is resolved normally.

Therefore you roll 4 times to see whether you hit bulkhead, damage, or crit.

e.g.

Fire photon: - roll a 6 and penetrate shields.

Roll 4 times (as it is multi hit 4) = 1, 3, 5, 6.
So you score 1 bulkhead (1) = nothing.
2 damage (3 and 5).
1 devastating crit (6) = roll for the crit as standard, though being devastating it will be 2 levels of whatever crit you roll for.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Steve Johnson
Ensign


Joined: 16 Aug 2013
Posts: 7
Location: Athens, GA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2013 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the clarification.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Scoutdad
Commodore


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 4456
Location: Middle Tennessee

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 3:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, what Lee said.

If a photon strikes the shield, then its 4 hits to the shield
.
If the photons Attack Die roll was a 6, then the hit has penetrated the shield and you need to make 4 separate rolls on the Attack Table to determine the effects of the 4 individual hits. Just as Lee's example demonstrates.
_________________


Scoutdad's minis photos here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
Bill Stec
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 25 Jan 2012
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which is why an overloaded Photon rolling a "6" can be sooo awful. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> A Call to Arms Star Fleet All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group