Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Asteroid Damage

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Spacecowboy87
Lieutenant SG


Joined: 03 Jan 2012
Posts: 181
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 12:02 am    Post subject: Asteroid Damage Reply with quote

A few questions about asteroids:
1) When exactly is damage from asteroids applied?
2) Can shields be reinforced against asteroid damage?
3) If the answer to question 2 is yes, does each hex of movement in a given impulse count as a separate "volley?" Or is all damage cumulative within the impulse and applied at the end of movement as one volley?
_________________
My three-pronged strategy:
1. Subterfuge.
2. Terfuge.
3. Superterfuge.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scoutdad
Commodore


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 4454
Location: Middle Tennessee

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 12:13 am    Post subject: Re: Asteroid Damage Reply with quote

Spacecowboy87 wrote:
A few questions about asteroids:
1) When exactly is damage from asteroids applied?

During movement. Move into hex, roll for damage, apply... then proceed with the sub-pulse.
Quote:
2) Can shields be reinforced against asteroid damage?

Yes
Quote:
3) If the answer to question 2 is yes, does each hex of movement in a given impulse count as a separate "volley?" Or is all damage cumulative within the impulse and applied at the end of movement as one volley?

Each hex of movement is a separate volley and can be reinforced against as long as power remains.

We [meaning, Battlegroup Murfreesboro] make extensive use of these factoids during play as we often run Combat Rally or Maze of Asteroids as multi player scenarios at conventions and at Casa de'Tomas game days.

One thing to remember that tripped us up at first (until SVC clarified it for us... That's what happens when you have "the Man" sitting at your dining room table drinking a Diet DP while you play... incorrectly! Embarassed ]
Forward hemisphere movement into an asteroid damages the #1 shield and aft hemisphere movement damages the #4 shield.
We were slipping into the asteroid hexes on the #2 and #6 shield to retain a full strength forward shield, but SVC pointed out rule 6B2d... specifically:
6B2d wrote:
...these are scored on the #1 shield if the ship is moving forward and on the #4 shield if the ship is moving in reverse; sideslips have
no effect on selecting which shield is damaged.


That's what we get for bringing SFB to the FEd Comm table.
_________________


Scoutdad's minis photos here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3437
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The answers are all correct.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Spacecowboy87
Lieutenant SG


Joined: 03 Jan 2012
Posts: 181
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 5:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Much obliged Wink
_________________
My three-pronged strategy:
1. Subterfuge.
2. Terfuge.
3. Superterfuge.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BrentO
Ensign


Joined: 03 Jan 2013
Posts: 21
Location: Kansas City

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If an Andro uses its Displacement Device on a ship and the ship is displaced into an asteroid hex, will it take damage? From reading the Dis Dev rule, the ship does not take damage when being placed in the hex and the asteroid rule states damage is only taken when entering the hex, not exiting it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3437
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 6:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BrentO wrote:
If an Andro uses its Displacement Device on a ship and the ship is displaced into an asteroid hex, will it take damage? From reading the Dis Dev rule, the ship does not take damage when being placed in the hex and the asteroid rule states damage is only taken when entering the hex, not exiting it.


Being displaced into an asteroid hex does not count as "entering the hex" for purposes of taking asteroid damage. So, a ship displaced into an asteroid hex does not take damage due to that action.

Also, as you point out, a ship does not take damage from exiting an asteroid hex. So, if a ship is displaced into an asteroid hex and, on their first move, is able to exit that asteroid hex and enter an open hex, then the displaced ship will take no asteroid damage at all. If, however, the ship must move (due to facing, speed, or tactics) from the asteroid hex into which it was displaced to another asteroid hex, it will take asteroid damage (or make a roll to determine if it does) when it moves into the new asteroid hex.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BrentO
Ensign


Joined: 03 Jan 2013
Posts: 21
Location: Kansas City

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gotcha, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group