Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Damage allocation on mostly damaged ships

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pixelgeek
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 46
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 3:09 pm    Post subject: Damage allocation on mostly damaged ships Reply with quote

Hi folks

Just played a game yesterday, we're both getting back into the game, and had a question about damage allocation at the end of a ship's lifecycle. We had two vessels that had a smal number of internals left and this resulted in us having a lot of skipped damage. Is this normal or were we missing a rule?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1967
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Love that phrase, "...at the end of a ship's lifecycle" Very Happy

Yes, what you are missing is that any skipped damage points are added to the end of the procedure and (if necessary) allocated with new die-rolls on the damage table. Check out Rule (3D3d) for where that's found.

The exception would be when using Directed Targeting, when all skipped damage points are simply lost - Rule (3D4b)
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Steve Cole
Site Admin


Joined: 11 Oct 2006
Posts: 3086

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Golf is famous for the "gimme putt" when the ball is within two inches of the cup. Count the stroke and consider it done without takingthe 0.0001% risk of some act of divine providence interfering.

If the ship has 8 boxes left and gets 28 boxes of damage, just call it done.
_________________
The Guy Who Designed Fed Commander
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1967
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is that, of course. Steve has a point Wink

I was thinking more along the lines of a ship having enough damage left to survive - but if it really is the end of the ship's 'life cycle', then you will save a lot of time by just removing it from the board. Job done.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
pixelgeek
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 46
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kang wrote:
Yes, what you are missing is that any skipped damage points are added to the end of the procedure and (if necessary) allocated with new die-rolls on the damage table. Check out Rule (3D3d) for where that's found.


I wasn't as clear as I should have been. We were doing that but I found that we got to a situation where a) we were repeating the same 6 "skipped" damage all the time and b) since we never got to the end of a row we never got to the Frame damage to destroy the ship.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3496
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Assuming no directed damage, when you are at that state, the skipped damage points are immediately reapplied to the existing roll. So, for example, if you only have six points of damage, any skips are immediately applied to the existing row. Assuming no warp is left, you are guaranteed to hit frame damage before you can reroll.

Let's take the absolute degenerative case. You have a single damage point to apply and there is only frame damage left on the target ship. You roll for the damage roll. You try the first column, but it is a skip. You immediately reapply the point to the current row and try the second column. This is also a skip. Continue down the row until you get to the tenth column and apply a frame damage hit. You do not reroll because of skips until after you reach the tenth column or all damage has been applied.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pixelgeek
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 46
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 2:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah! So we were doing it incorrectly.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Steve Cole
Site Admin


Joined: 11 Oct 2006
Posts: 3086

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Correct, skips do not go to a new roll/row but finish out the one you're on. We've said that several times, but so much is going on it's easy to miss something.
_________________
The Guy Who Designed Fed Commander
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> General Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group