Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Tholian pinwheel

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
paulgenna
Lieutenant SG


Joined: 21 Nov 2011
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2023 4:34 pm    Post subject: Tholian pinwheel Reply with quote

Our Tholian player is asking the following question:

Can a player prepay for the Tholian pinwheel and use it in a subsequent turn? For example, the player chooses to prepay for it and then use it in Turn 3?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 4066
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2023 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No.

To even form a pinwheel in the first place, it requires that three eligible and compatible ships have already arranged themselves in the proper configuration by the start of a turn. (I.e. they must end the prior turn in the proper configuration.) Then, during Energy Allocation three points of energy are spent to create the pinwheel. This power must be paid during Energy Allocation at the start of every turn in which the pinwheel is to be maintained. (Note that this three points of power is for the pinwheel as a whole. It can be paid by any ship in the pinwheel as long as that ship has a functioning web generator.)

There is no way to "save up" for the three points of power. The power must be present and available during Energy Allocation. This power may be either generated (from warp power, impulse power, or reactor power), from batteries, or from any combination of the two.

(Also, the "three points of power" is for squadron scale. In fleet scale it is one and a half points of power.)

Does that answer the question?
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
paulgenna
Lieutenant SG


Joined: 21 Nov 2011
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2023 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, sir.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paulgenna
Lieutenant SG


Joined: 21 Nov 2011
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2023 12:39 am    Post subject: Web anchor spin off Reply with quote

Hi MJ,

What about this question:

I have to convert shuttles to web anchors cost 6 points. Want to know if I can pay the 6 points on turn one and then carry them until needed say turn turn 3 4 etc. says in rules shuttles converted to ancholrs cannot change back to a shuttle thus want to convert to anchor and carry them with me for future turn would save lots of
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 4066
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2023 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, (5M2j-1) specifically states that the shuttle must be launched with the power paid at the "time of launch". So, no, there is no way to pre-pay to convert a shuttle into a web anchor buoy. You must do it when you launch the shuttle to serve as such.

Also, it doesn't look like the conversion is irrevocable. Rule (5M2j-3) says it can be recovered (once the web goes away) and then reused as a web anchor buoy again, or "as a shuttle". While the rule does talk about the situation where the web anchor buoy was used with a web that has atrophied away, the same situation would presumably apply even if no web had ever been used.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
paulgenna
Lieutenant SG


Joined: 21 Nov 2011
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2023 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, MJ. Makes sense as suicide shuttles are paid when launched.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group