Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Cloaked Ship - Baseline Speed 16 Restriction
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AMyChen
Ensign


Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:20 am    Post subject: Cloaked Ship - Baseline Speed 16 Restriction Reply with quote

Hi all,

A Cloaked ship can not have a BASELINE speed over 16 without voiding it's cloak. Is it allowed to accelerate to 16+1 without voiding the cloak?

Similar question for freighters. Are they allowed to accelerate to 16+1?

Thank you!!!

Amy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3478
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[EDIT: Fixing the answers below because I was an idiot that day ...]

The cloaked ship can indeed accelerate. The restriction is only on baseline speed. HOWEVER, if you ever move in three sub-pulses, you WILL void your cloak! So, if you ever move 16+1 under cloak, you had better decelerate at least once.

Freighters are just prevented from choosing base speed of 24. They can freely accelerate if they have the power to do so.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy


Last edited by mjwest on Sat Jun 27, 2009 4:25 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
AMyChen
Ensign


Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the near instantaneous response!!!

Amy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TJolley
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 25 Oct 2006
Posts: 284

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can accelerate, but you must not move more than twice in an impulse. In other words, you must cancel at least one of your movement points

5P3d: claak can be "voided" by certain incidents, leaving the ship under all of the penaties of being cloaked, but eliminating the benfits! Things which can cause a cloak to be voided are: Collision with an ESG field..........., or moving more than two hexes in any one impulse........

Emphasis added
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3478
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right. Sorry for being unclear.

Thanks Todd.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mike
Captain


Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 1531
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One of the things I appreciate about this forum is the quick responses we get on rules questions. Nice going!
_________________
Mike

=====
"Sometimes our best is not enough. We must do what is required." -- Winston Churchill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
AMyChen
Ensign


Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

"or moving more than two hexes in any one impulse........ "

Thank you TJolley. I thought that was the case but depite rereading the cloaking rules several times I kept missing that part. Embarassed

Now it is all clear.

Amy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TJolley
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 25 Oct 2006
Posts: 284

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 3:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why would you want to go 16+1 you may ask? To force your opponant to move first if they have also plotted speed 16. This can be crucial to your survival if you have a pesky foe who is sitting on your ship at range 0.

Of course with you burning all that energy for the cloak, plus the accelleration, the the cost to decell so as not to void the cloak.you're not going to have much power to do anything..but this can be the necessary to force an opponant to commit to a movement so you can move out from under him or bring a new shield to bear if they are "Cloak Sniping" at you at range 0 pumping phaser after phaser into the same shield.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Monster
Ensign


Joined: 03 Apr 2008
Posts: 10
Location: San Diego, CA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mjwest wrote:
Freighters are slightly different. They don't have any restriction on their baseline speed other than available power.


Though the freighter ship cards say "Base Speed 24 not possible for this ship". We assumed in our last game that 16+1 is possible, power permitting, but not 24.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
junior
Captain


Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 803

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds good to me.

The rules make it clear that a baseline speed of X is not the same as speed (x-8)+1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killerjoe1968
Ensign


Joined: 13 Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 4:29 am    Post subject: void cloaking Reply with quote

Do you roll for void cloaking if you move more than two hexes in any one impulse or is it automatic?

same question for ESG field, entering a dust cloud or asteroid hex and using Evasive Maneuvers?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
terryoc
Captain


Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 1379

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

IIRC you roll if you perform a high energy turn.

Everything else, voiding is automatic.
_________________
"Captain" Terry O'Carroll, fourteen papers published including six best of issue
"Man, Terry, you are like a loophole seeking missle!" - Mike West
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3478
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Monster wrote:
mjwest wrote:
Freighters are slightly different. They don't have any restriction on their baseline speed other than available power.


Though the freighter ship cards say "Base Speed 24 not possible for this ship". We assumed in our last game that 16+1 is possible, power permitting, but not 24.


Man, I got two wrong (or close enough) in one post. I musta been slipping that day.

Anyway, yes. If a ship has a non-permitted base speed, it means just that: you may not choose that base speed. Acceleration and deceleration may be used freely. (Well, except for sublight ships, but that is a different story.)

As for killer's questions, Terry is exactly correct. All that voiding is automatic the moment the situation occurs.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1950
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mjwest wrote:
All that voiding is automatic the moment the situation occurs.

...so make sure you're ready with a tractor beam when it happens to your opponent.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mike
Captain


Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 1531
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You automatically void even if you do a HET...right?
_________________
Mike

=====
"Sometimes our best is not enough. We must do what is required." -- Winston Churchill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group