Archive through July 30, 2006

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: SFB Galactic Conquest: Campaign Q&A: Archive through July 30, 2006
By Jean E. Sexton (Jsexton) on Thursday, June 30, 2005 - 04:33 pm: Edit

John suggested posting posting some orders I sent him wondering about their legality and his answers.

Here they are. Only the locations have been changed to protect the innocent...

Order: If it is necessary (more than 10 ships in blockade), use I47A to engage the defenders

My Rationale: I think it is legal—BI is not altered, but stays the same. Not based on battle stats, but on a physical count. Correct?

A: this is good

***

Orders: If every ship on our sensors in A1 and A2 join the attack, try to get the ESS scouts out using BI-Evasion, DI=1%.

My Rationale: I think it is legal—Defenders, not attackers. Not based on battle information, but on numbers.

A: This is illegal only if u try and have the others units in the SQ have a differ BI, otherwise its fine.

***

Orders: Disengage if all system defenses are destroyed and the enemy has greater AF or DF than we currently have regardless of DI percentage.

My Rationale: I think it is legal—Defenders, not attackers. Info is based on what is happening during the battle.

A: This is good, but u probable wont have many ships left as they tend to be the first things shot at--grin.

***

As I find more questions to ask John about legal/illegal orders, I'll post them.

By William Gary Glattli II (Wglattli) on Tuesday, September 06, 2005 - 07:09 pm: Edit

The new rulebook (Version 3, being used for the Andro Campaign, U3) establishes, for the first time, rules for using MegaFTR frames. I am curious to know whether or not we will be using these rules (the U3 rules) for U1 and U2.

So, John and Mike, will we be using the MegaFTR rules found in the SFB rulebook for U1 and U2? Or will we be using the rules found in the U3 rulebook for all three universes?

Thanks.

Gary Glattli

By John D Berg (Kerg) on Thursday, September 08, 2005 - 08:42 pm: Edit

unless otherwise specified, use the U3 rules for U1.

By William Gary Glattli II (Wglattli) on Thursday, September 08, 2005 - 10:55 pm: Edit

So, use the version 3 rulebook rules for MegaFTRs in U1. That makes fighters useless as fleet assets then. Time to switch to PFs as the Paravian attrition unit of choice.

Well Mike, what about U2?

Gary

By Howard Bampton (Bampton) on Thursday, September 08, 2005 - 11:31 pm: Edit

Actually, even after one throws out the "oddballs" that get fighters bolted on for free (Hydrans, Romulan SuperHawks, BBs), fighters work quite nicely- you just need to add CEFO/CEFO-II/CEFO-III to the mix. A fighter/PF mix (instead of one or the other) also allows maximum "free slot" attirition unit production at Sector bases, Starbases, etc.

By William Gary Glattli II (Wglattli) on Friday, September 09, 2005 - 12:31 am: Edit

You know, something has just occurred to me about the MegaFTR rule...

(C20.100) Mega Fighters- Any FTR (except heavy FTRs or bombers) in the SFB universe capable of being converted to mega version may do so as long as the increased EPV is paid. The FTRS AF goes up 15% and its DF goes down 15%.

In the above rule (straight from the v3 rulebook), it mentions paying the increased EPV, but does not specify what the increased amount is. The SFB rule states that the BPV is increased by 50%... but surely this cannot be what John was referring to. If we increase the BPV of the fighters by 50%, then that means that the fighters will also gain a 50% increase in firepower.

So, John, what is the increase in BPV for a MegaFTR supposed to be?

Gary

By William Gary Glattli II (Wglattli) on Friday, September 09, 2005 - 08:38 pm: Edit

[THUMP!]

Sorry... I had to pick my jaw up off the floor.

Okay, I take everything back concerning the usefulness of fighters. With the above ruling, fighters now can seemingly compete with PFs as fleet assets.

Gary

P.S. Mike, go ahead and use the new v3 rule. It is actually a little better than the SFB rule by itself...

By Mike Incavo (Kavo) on Friday, September 09, 2005 - 09:31 pm: Edit

ok

By William Gary Glattli II (Wglattli) on Monday, September 19, 2005 - 08:07 am: Edit

Kerg and Kavo

A question has come up recently concerning ships being transferred between two races.

Now, in the past, this was a simple enough operation wherein one player simply gave ships to another and the ships received were exactly like the ones (class for class) which were sent. Of course, the ships being received had to be re-crewed, but otherwise, that was it.

Recently, however, a certain player has indicated that this is being handled differently now. As a matter of fact, he has said that the ships are now being treated as if they were gained from a conquered race and that the respective Surrender rules are being applied to them before the transfer (B20.40 and B20.41).

To test this, I have decided to perform a test...

* * * * *

The Federation and the Gorns are neutral to each other. The Federation wants the Gorns to join the alliance that they are creating, but the Gorns ask for a list of concessions from the Feds. Part of these concessions is the turning over of a SQ of Fed ships near the Gorn border to the Confederation.

The SQ consists of: DN, 3xCA, CAD, Tug(P-R), 2xDD, SC

(Note that this SQ has a command ship, a tug pod other than a cargo pod, and two variant hulls [CAD and SC] in it.)

A literal reading of B20.40 and B20.41 would indicate that the DN and the Repair Pod would be scuttled, the CAD would revert to a CA, and the SC would revert to a DD. Meaning the Gorns would receive:

4xCA, Tug, 3xDD

* * * * *

Is this the way that transferred ships are being handled now? If not, then exactly how are they being handled? And does this apply to all three universes (U1, U2, and U3)?

Thank you for your attention.

Gary Glattli

By John D Berg (Kerg) on Tuesday, September 27, 2005 - 09:32 pm: Edit

Well in U3 its is clear, certain special tech just cant be transfered so any ship that has such special tech would revert to a base hull of no specail tech.

In U2 and U1 it a bit more fuzzy, usually up to the GMs most ships transfers happen w/o penalty, BUT..sometimes tech is NOT allowed in the trade and they revert to normal hull, sometimes the lack of special parts makes it subject to shock. In U1 and U2 it basically is the GMS call.

In U1 I usually dont care if its nothing special being sent...just a bunch of hulls, if it a attempt at some pervesion of the spitirt of the game then I intervene.

By Mike Incavo (Kavo) on Tuesday, September 27, 2005 - 10:53 pm: Edit

Ditto

By Ted Gehring (Tedgehring) on Wednesday, January 11, 2006 - 04:00 pm: Edit

Did the rulebook get taken off-line or is it buried somewhere?

By Howard Bampton (Bampton) on Wednesday, January 11, 2006 - 07:21 pm: Edit

Tis burried somewhere. Send me email (see my profile) if you can't find it and I'll send you a copy.

By John D Berg (Kerg) on Wednesday, January 11, 2006 - 08:13 pm: Edit

Ted it depends on which universe as U1/2 and U3 use different rules.

I have copies of both if u need another.

By Ted Gehring (Tedgehring) on Thursday, January 12, 2006 - 11:25 am: Edit

Thanks, but we are OK. I was trying to tell Tom Besser where to look for the rules on-line for U3 but I saw in the e-mail you sent him that you sent him the rules, so we are good.

By Tom Besser (Trbesser) on Thursday, January 12, 2006 - 04:30 pm: Edit

Thanks for the rules. How much time do I have to study up and get my bearings before the next turn is due in U3?

By Alexander Pitman (Dassadec) on Thursday, January 12, 2006 - 06:50 pm: Edit

It is probably at least a month before the U3 turn is due. You'll have a few weeks to write your orders after everyone has recieved their Turn status sheets.

By ROBERT l cALLAWAY (Callaway) on Saturday, April 08, 2006 - 05:29 pm: Edit

Salvage tugs:
Suggestion when a battle thake place within three hex of a SB/settled planet as per SFB CL
a salvage tug has a %roll to locate useable salvage from the battle say 10% for example.
thus in the battle of F56 the number of lost tasker ships is 12 1SC2, 2SC3, 9SC4 the tug rolls 10% 3 times locating the SC2, 2SC4
Damage to the SC2 is a %roll min 50% 67%
Damage to the SC4s=FFV=50% FFE=54% (useing the deltion SB in F55 as the search start)
thus given the damage the Deltion can salvage the
BB for 67% of it cost
and the FFV 50% of cost
FFE=54 %
time to recover is SC2 3turn SC3 2turn SC4 1 turn
after returning to the salvage tugs homebase
all repair work requires a sb

By Daniel Knudtson Thompson (Brezgonne) on Friday, July 28, 2006 - 09:01 pm: Edit

Whatever happened to the free downloadable rulebook?

By J. Joseph Felten (Jfelten) on Saturday, July 29, 2006 - 06:37 pm: Edit

I thought it was here somewhere but don't see it either. I sent a copy to your profile's email address. We are pretty much using the Andro campaign rules for all 3 universes now. Just disregard the Andro campaign specific rules such as those about UnNavigable space etc.

By Jean E. Sexton (Jsexton) on Sunday, July 30, 2006 - 11:19 pm: Edit

When the BBS was cleaned up, the Rulebook and those archives went away.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation