Archive through June 01, 2012

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: SFB Tournament Zone: Tournament Rules Q&A: Archive through June 01, 2012
By David Zimdars (Zimdarsdavid) on Monday, May 07, 2012 - 07:27 pm: Edit

Yep, I wasn't familiar with G7.333 either. I've seen people caught by not knowing that.

By Josh Driscol (Gfb) on Tuesday, May 08, 2012 - 02:00 am: Edit

Question on recovering a voided weasel.

Say on turn 3.01 a voided WW is recovered by tractor. Is the first opportunity to begin charging the shuttle as WW again 4.02 with reserve power?

If the ship were Hydran and it used 2 deck crew actions on the weasel after recovering could it be started with reserve power on 3.17?

In T2000 it says that Deck Crews can repair Fighters but not admins, can they even be used to service admins in a tournament game.

Obviously deck crews repair of fighters and reloading fighter weapons rules are used, but the rules in J1.865-J1.869 use deck crew actions for servicing admin shuttles also.

Without deck crew how do the other empires tournament ships get there admins serviced?

Thanks

By Josh Driscol (Gfb) on Tuesday, May 08, 2012 - 02:17 am: Edit

I think I found the answer to part of the above post.

"(J4.814) All ships not formally assigned a number of deck crews by Annex #7G are assumed to have two deck crews."

So could any of the tournament ships double up both deck crew actions on a single recovered weasel or suicide shuttle to service it in 16 impulses?

(J1.869) Says only SP are limited to only 1 deck crew working on them at a time, that WW and SS can be serviced in 16 so I assume the answer to the above question is yes.

By Andy Vancil (Andy) on Wednesday, May 09, 2012 - 01:17 am: Edit

Josh Driscol asked on May 08, 2012:

Say on turn 3.01 a voided WW is recovered by tractor. Is the first opportunity to begin charging the shuttle as WW again 4.02 with reserve power?

ANSWER: You have to service the shuttle (one deck crew action) before you can begin preparing for another mission. It has been previously ruled (CL#32) that you cannot apply power to start arming it until it has been serviced, even though it is going to be used for the same mission. However, if both your informal deck crews are available, you could put them both to work on the shuttle (starting on 3.02), and have it ready to start charging (with reserve power) on 3.18. You could then launch the Wild Weasel as early as 4.18.


Follow-up Question: If the ship were Hydran and it used 2 deck crew actions on the weasel after recovering could it be started with reserve power on 3.17?

ANSWER: As noted above, anyone could do this, but since you can't start servicing the shuttle on the impulse it lands (J4.8172), you would have to wait until 3.18.


Follow-up Question: In T2000 it says that Deck Crews can repair Fighters but not admins, can they even be used to service admins in a tournament game? Obviously deck crews repair of fighters and reloading fighter weapons rules are used, but the rules in (J1.865) - (J1.869) use deck crew actions for servicing admin shuttles also. Without deck crew how do the other empires' tournament ships get their admins serviced?

ANSWER: The restriction is on repairing, not servicing. Deck crews (formal or informal) can service shuttles, including unloading a scatterpack, reactivating the weapons on an inert or aborted suicide shuttle, etc.

By Mike Kenyon (Mikek) on Saturday, May 12, 2012 - 04:36 pm: Edit

Okay, doesn't seeem to be the right spot for it, but there's neither an after-action report forum nor a product development forum for T-2012, so I'm posting this here.

Rule (SG89.45) is blank. An early rule (SG89.432) refers to this rule. It appears as though the intended content was merged in with the later rule (SG89.46), but that is not necessarily true, just apparently so.

By Josh Driscol (Gfb) on Saturday, May 12, 2012 - 11:15 pm: Edit

I noticed that also, that there is no after action topic for T2012, as for development of it I didnt even know it was coming.

By Mike Kenyon (Mikek) on Wednesday, May 16, 2012 - 12:48 pm: Edit

Okay, did I miss something. On the website, the tourney base and freighter are in the general sanctioned area, rather than the unsantioned area.

Did I miss them getting sanctioned and if so, why aren't they in T-2012?

By Matthew Potter (Neonpico) on Wednesday, May 16, 2012 - 01:17 pm: Edit

A tourney Freighter??!? That had better be one heck of a well armed freighter.

By Mike Kenyon (Mikek) on Wednesday, May 16, 2012 - 02:34 pm: Edit

13-14 P2s. It was interesting to be sure.

By William T Wilson (Sheap) on Wednesday, May 16, 2012 - 11:48 pm: Edit

There is a sanctioned freighter, it is called the Wyn Aux :)

The base and the goofball freighter are not sanctioned.

By Mike Kenyon (Mikek) on Thursday, May 17, 2012 - 01:37 pm: Edit

I would figure not, but they are CLEARLY in the Sanctioned section of ships on the tournament download section.

In fact it goes ...


LDR Tournament War Cruiser LeaderSeltorian Tournament Cruiser
Star Fleet Battles Tournament Base
Star Fleet Battles Tournament Freighter

The following ships are NOT SANCTIONED for tournament play. These ships are still in playtest.

Orion Tournament Heavy Cruiser
Hydran Tartar Tournament Cruiser
...

By Josh Driscol (Gfb) on Friday, May 18, 2012 - 10:58 am: Edit

From the product page for T2012: Tournament Wars

". . .including the 18 authorized and 10 experimental tournament ship SSDs."

18 authorized ships it says.

1 Federation
2 Klingon
3-5 Romulan
6 Gorn
7 ISC
8 Kzinti
9 Lyran
10 Hydran
11 LDR
12-13 Tholian
14-15 WYN
16 Orion
17 Seltorian
18 must be Andromedan

By Mike Kenyon (Mikek) on Friday, May 18, 2012 - 11:49 am: Edit

I hear you, and T-2012 would typically be the latest published rules, but the rules have gone a considerable amount of time and the rules do say that updated copies of the SSDs are available on the website, which lists the freighter and base as sanctioned tourney cruisers.

By Peter D Bakija (Bakija) on Friday, May 18, 2012 - 03:59 pm: Edit

Well, yes. But it is clearly an error. The tournament Base and the tournament Freighter are not sanctioned units.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, May 18, 2012 - 04:03 pm: Edit

Confirm, the tournament base and freighter are not, and never have been, sanctioned, no more than the two X/Advanced Technology Tournament cruisers were. We did those ships as "Origins Humor Ships," SSDs to be displayed and chuckled over, and for players to use to amuze themselves outside of normal tournament play. They are not, never have been, and likely never will be sanctioned.

By Mike Kenyon (Mikek) on Friday, May 18, 2012 - 06:28 pm: Edit

I didn't think that they were. The website is, however, in error and wanted to point it out. Moving the links on the other side of the capture would fix it. I was just pointing out the need for the website update at as and when it was convenient.

By Mike Kenyon (Mikek) on Saturday, May 19, 2012 - 12:59 pm: Edit

With the chatter on the Tourney Borak over in the Borak thred, I reread the SSD. It's unclear from the SSD and I can't find a blurb in the actual T-2012 to indicate this.

Does the Borak have the + refit? The only reason it matters is that determines whether or not the P-C can be fired as a P1 or not.

By Andy Vancil (Andy) on Monday, May 21, 2012 - 03:19 am: Edit

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Questions to this point have been uploaded for Captain's Log #45.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

By Carl Herzog (Carlzog) on Friday, June 01, 2012 - 01:07 pm: Edit

Neophyte question:

The Fed tournament CC has 4 shuttlecraft but no drone racks. Does this mean the Feds cannot launch scatter packs?

If they can, how are their drones accounted for?

By David Zimdars (Zimdarsdavid) on Friday, June 01, 2012 - 01:27 pm: Edit

The sanctioned Fed TCC has no drones of any type. It could start the game with 2 special shuttles; which could be 2 18 pt suicides. It could arm more.

By Mike Kenyon (Mikek) on Friday, June 01, 2012 - 01:34 pm: Edit

The Fed has no scatter pack available. Of all the special shuttles, scatter packs are limited the most. Klingon and kzinti get one and that's it of all the drone users. They can have at most one.

For those that get them, they are loaded with 6 IM drones that do not come from the racks. You may use whatever enhancement points your race has to upgrade the speed on them, just like they were in the racks. You may also use the 2xI->IV substitutions that you're race gets on them.

That enables you to have, for example, a scatter-pack of 2xI-M, 2xI-F, IV-F.

For a turn one launch, the scatter pack must always be fully loaded. You may opt to delay the launch of a scatter pack to unload and/or reload the scatter pack, but you cannot prepare a second.

The reason to unload is two-fold. First, deception. A SP of 5 drones is presumed to contain a heavy. Second, you now have a spare drone to load into a rack either after it's repaired from destruction or when it's gone dry.

One particularly nasty trick for the Klingon is to unload their type 2xVI (from the ADD) and a I from the SP in turn one and load the 2xVI into the SP in turn 2. Setting up for a turn 3 launch that contains 6 drones, including a heavy. Given the targetting and difficulty of it's use I haven't found it (personally) useful, but it's a rude surprise for the unwary.

By David Zimdars (Zimdarsdavid) on Friday, June 01, 2012 - 02:43 pm: Edit

The Klingon is not allowed to unload type VI drones from ADD or to load them in the SP. See T2000 P.4 Drones/item 6.

By Carl Herzog (Carlzog) on Friday, June 01, 2012 - 03:20 pm: Edit

Mikek wrote about scatter packs, "Klingon and kzinti get one and that's it of all the drone users. They can have at most one."

Where are these limitations outlined in the rules? I can't find it.

By Josh Driscol (Gfb) on Friday, June 01, 2012 - 03:27 pm: Edit

They are not in the master rulebook, the tournament specific rules are in Module T2012.

But if you looked it would say the Kzinti and Klingon get one and nobody else.

It also has a list of rules used and not used in tournaments.

By Josh Driscol (Gfb) on Friday, June 01, 2012 - 03:37 pm: Edit

I looked and they have it on e23 for $12.00

http://e23.sjgames.com/item.html?id=ADB5622-A

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation